We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,017)
Filter reviews
1,017 results
Traveller rating
333
413
172
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
413
172
71
28
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,017 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I arrived in Crete for our first time and were asked to move to this hotel 6 kilometers from the original booking. They promised that we would be upgraded to an "all inclusive" status. In addition they said they would call our tour contact to notify of our new hotel address. This was extremely important because we planned to go to Santorini via ferry, and had a scheduled pick up. Guess what? They forgot. Here is the run down;
Hotel is a 25 minute walk to the bus line, and our receptionist could not tell us how it worked. The food: barely edible. Keep in mind, the food in Crete is amazing, but you need to leave the hotel to find out. Last, the hotel catered a mostly French population, so we felt like 2nd class citizens. Do not rent a car from Perseas next door: we had a nightmare experience.
Avoid this group of hotels.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2014

We were moved to the Golden Star as our hotel for the holiday we paid for was closed for the season
It is not somewhere I would have chosen, in fairness the hotel is lovely and has fantastic amenities BUT it is a French chain and everything is written/spoken in French, I expected to be talking Greek in Crete, not French...we struggled with our pigeon French to decipher the evening food dishes. The entertainment programme is also announced in French which alienated us somewhat and if they showed films on an evening they were in French also.
The Greek staff are very welcoming, especially Marinos and Dimitris who work in the pool bar and are very creative with their cocktails! The menu is limited, as with most all inclusive, they occasionally had traditional Greek dishes but mainly catered for the French guests.
The beach by the hotel is small but beautiful. The little village of Analipsi has some quaint tavernas but we found most of the resort closed so wasn't much for us to do. Wifi access was sporadic, even in the wifi area!
Really consider what time of year you go to Crete.
I wouldn't return to this hotel as it wasn't what we booked/wanted for our holiday to Crete.

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your comments and feedback.

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed in this resort May 2013 and we find the hotel very pleasant.

Hotel is beautifully decorated and we were lucky to get the room overlooking to pool and sea (only few available) as we were celebrating our engagement. The receptionist also organized beautiful bouquet of white roses into our room as ordered in advance by my fiancé.

We found food very nice, the selection of all inclusive alcoholic drinks are pretty much everywhere poor, so no need to comment this, but they made nice cocktails for a fee.

Hotel has only a small pool, which is not heated so it was freezing cold this time of the year (we are sure that well refreshing later summer months), but there are couple of beautiful double sunbeds which are very nice. The hotel is situated next to the beach, so it was a bit windy, but could be again due the late spring/early summer season. The village itself is very cute, not much to do, but we came to relax that we indeed did.

If we would ever visit Crete again, we probably would not stay in the same hotel, because we would like to see something else, but I could easily recommend this hotel to anyone who want to relax.

Room tip: Pool view room
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose8211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your sweet comments and feedback.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star !

Kindest Regards
Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2014

Hotel management was terrible!! We were asked to move to another hotel after 3 days, because they "made a mistake" and there was no more room for us! When they realised we wouldn't go, they tried to bribe us offering a free rent a car! Everything in hotel is in french, so if you don't speek french- your problem.. Location is deserted, outside of the hotel there is no life at all. Very dissapointing experience for a lot of money!!

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stiglazima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Dear Guests,
We would like to apologize for all those reasons for which you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our team is working hard in order to satisfy all of our clients.
I would like to thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at Golden Star Hotel.
Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was one of the funny parts of our travels through Greece.
When we arrived in Crete our taxi driver told us that our travel agency moved our hotel to the Golden Star, a much nicer hotel all inclusive hotel. So we were like great!
We got in late from our ferry, but the front desk people were nice, and the room was also good. There was a fruit basket and wine waiting for us, but we were tired so went to sleep. So the next morning start looking at our room and realizing that a lot of the information packet stuff about the hotel is in French. Well after leaving our room and everyone saying "bonjour" to us instead of "kalimera" and the ladies playing games with people outside were speaking french to everyone, that we were at a french resort, and probably the only americans there.
But that didnt matter. We still had a great time, and everyone was friendly, has a big pool with a slide, seems like a great place to go if you have a family.
the food....eh. wasnt all that great. And its kind of out there on its own, so not really near anything. The town of Analipsi is small, no night life, but has some good restaurants and nice people.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FotiniTripaki, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Golden Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your feedback and your comments.
Looking forward to welcome you again at Golden Star Hotel.

Kindest Regards

Tripaki Fotini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews