We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
126
47
28
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
47
28
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of hot watereasy accessbus stoptvgreekmariafridge
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 209 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2017

The rooms are too small....clean but too cramped....
The personal is friendly but the owner is not a nice person. We had a small room on the side with the pool and every evening was very much noise until 00 or 1 o 'clock. At the restaurant of the hotel the prices are very big...
The hotel doesn't have beach, on the beach you have to pay for the chairs.
The food is good...but on the breakfaest the same every day.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2017

We spent a few days here as the first part of a two-centre holiday. We were the only English guests there, but the staff all spoke English and made us very welcome, particularly Sula the receptionist and Maria who looks after the bar and restaurant. The hotel is family-owned, and the owner was present, mostly in the evenings.

Our room was simply furnished but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Rooms have air-conditioning, a fridge and a TV. WiFi is available in all parts of the hotel. The housekeeping service was prompt and efficient.

There is a well-stocked bar and there are generous snacks available for purchase during the day. Both breakfast and dinner are simple tasty buffets. There is a Greek barbecue regularly but we were not here for this. It looked like it would have been fun and certainly the roof terrace where it is held is spacious and a suntrap!

There is a decent-sized pool for the size of hotel with sunbeds and umbrellas, which we had all to ourselves .... the hotel was full, but where were the guests during the daytime? We did not walk the 1 km to the beach, but enjoyed the covered terrace next to the pool. There was also a ping-pong table and a children's playground at the back of the hotel.

This is a simple, pleasant hotel, with easy access to Heraklion - bus stop at the hotel entrance - and a bakery and small supermarket are close by. Car hire at extremely good rates can be arranged through reception.

For those who are happy to relax and enjoy Greek simplicity, this is an ideal hotel. We will be happy to return here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alsacienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

We went to our room and the shower was broken, we told the man ar the reception and he was not happy, also when we arrived he was not in a good mood. So he gave us another room. The second room the refrigerator wouldn't work. So we ask the man at the reception and he didn't know how it works. So he gave us the other room back with the broken shower. He asked me to give the keys back later. So when I came to the reception his voice was angry so I knew he was talkinh about us because when he saw me he apologized. He fixed the shower 30min later but we had to finished it because he had not the right tool. The rooms are unfinished, its like: we will open our hotel even we have some work in the rooms. We will never come back.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Xenia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Our room at hotel Erato was very clean and spacious. two things that I will mention before commencing on my positive feedback was the sound proofing of the bedrooms and the food.
The bedroom door does not seal out noise,hollow cheap door with about a 1 inch gap from the base of the door allows noise to come in(people walking down the hallway etc) plus your always conscious of people walking down the hall and hearing whats going on in your room.
The food ok...
the dinner is buffet style, so you help yourself. the selection is small... fresh salad has no olives which surprised me being in crete, the meat dishes where ok at best. vegetables not fresh, inm convinced the mash potatoes where made from a packet and the desserts where packet made and very artificial.
however we did eat here most nights as it was part of the package. we ate well for lunch so we where not to fussy for dinner. JUST MAKE SURE YOU GO TO THE BBQ NIGHT

Staff.. the staff where lovely, the main hostess, i forgot her name, was a sweetheart.
the grumpy old man, although very grumpy had something likeable about him. he spoke no english. There was a young man serving drinks for the night, he was very nice and attentive.

Traditional BBQ night: one of our highlights in crete was the bbq night on the rooftop. it was truly something fun and special. they have delicious fresh grilled meats, fresh salads and breads. be warned there is no escaping to a single table, we arrived and where sat at a table with some other young couples. odd/uncomfortable at first, but once we sparked conversation the night went well. the bbq on the roof top is designed for everyone to come together have fun, mingle, socialise and DANCE.
yes the dancing had me red faced at times, but it was fun. the dancers where very engaging with the crowd often pulling people up off their chairs to dance.
it was a very enjoyable night and the food only on that night was superb.

they had a pool party night with cocktails and drinks and people chilling in the pool.

Beach is only a 10min walk.

there is a beautiful cafe and bakery just across the road. where you can buy everything for a packed lunch. we bough lovely cretan pies for our hiking day

The hotel is small, which I liked, well run, clean, clean pool. clean bedrooms.
great hotel for the money.

would i stay here again..? Yes, for the money there is great value here, you experience tradition cretan parties and it is well located not far for Heraklion.

Room Tip: food ok, well located, nice staff, good value for money, safe in room,
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickCassidyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We went to the Greek night held by this hotel. It ships in people from other hotels and the price includes a lift there and back, when you book you are told you can go home when you are ready, however this is not the case! The Greek night is held on the rooftop with fantastic views down to the sea and up to the mountains. There is room for about 40 people comfortably however, they crammed around 80 into the space. One person was serving drinks, one person filling up the salads etc and a couple of people barbecuing food. When the food was ready it was a mad rush to serve yourself at a table not much bigger than a normal round dining table, consequently people were barging and elbowing thier way around, not a pleasant way to start a meal. Everyone was so crammed together that regardless of whether you smoked or not, you smoked! The band struck up half way through the meal and by the end of the meal I am not sure if they had sung the same song over and over or if they had changed songs. The dancing was supposed to be the highlight of the night however, the professional dancers did a dance then got the audience up, then another dance then got the staff up (now no one to serve drinks) then another dance and did another hour of audience so that the 2 female dancers could get changed. At this point I asked to pay and get my lift home, I was told I had to wait until the people I came with were ready! All in all a cheap night but far too commercialised and not enough of the usual Greek charm!

Room Tip: Be prepared to fight for your food
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews