We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all inclusive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mareblue Beach Resort
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed for a week at 'Goldfinger' apartment in September. Room basic, not the cleanest. Hotel staff are great. Friendly, polite, helpful, animation team - hard job - hats off to you all xxx.

Bottled water should be part of the All Inclusive package. Shouldn't have to pay for water as the water the hotel provide is not advisable to drink!!

Food at hotel is good, we always found something to eat, the Red Mullet is delicious! Greek salad is the best, goes with everything! Enjoy the wide range of well cooked varied food. Puddings - yum!!

We did a couple of trips - Beauty Spots Of The North & Corfu Sundowner.

Beauty of the North:- 1/2 Day Trip. Collected at 07.50 dropped off 4pm!!
The Thompson rep fails to tell you that it's a 2 hour drive to get to your 1st destination after being collected by coach and collecting lots of other tourists en route to your 1st stop off, Which is far too big for the winding streets. Should be on smaller vehicle - minibus maybe.
Anyway, enjoyed the trip. Beach stop was great, time to sunbathe or do the boat trip. In our opinion not worth the money or the time spent on the coach. The trip took 7 hours and 4 of these hours were spent on the coach!!

Corfu Sundowner:- Defo best one to do.
Costs £120 per couple approx, Guided tour round Corfu town, then free time, boat trip round Corfu, meal at Vidos - very nice - boat trip back to Corfu town for long drive back.
The coach drivers do a great job. They're so laid back.

From the hotel, There's a nice walk to a beach, turn left after coming out of the gates near the pool bar heading towards the lake, probably about 45 mins walk along a dirt track, nice straight track over a metal bridge which you might see motorcyclists go over and car drivers look at in dismay! Lol. Keep going past the nudists!! eyes front!
Find nice spot to relax and walk in the sea. A very relaxing getaway from the hotel.

Overall we had a fantastic short break. Got nice tan too so all good.

Would we go back? Hell! Yes!! Maybe stay at the 'Imperial Hotel' Now that does look impressive, might need to save those pennies!




Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tourholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear Tourholidays,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the valuable readers here on TripAdvisor. It is truly exciting to receive reviews like yours!
Please rest assured that your praises are passed on to all those who contributed to making your stay a more comfortable one.
Also, thanks for your kind words and mentioning that hotel generously offers a good choice of menu throughout the week.
It’s always a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 2,241 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

My girlfriend and I came here for a week away and I must say, we had a fantastic time.

The hotel is immaculate, with well-maintained grounds, public areas and plenty of staff around to assist if needed. Transfer times from Corfu airport are about 90 minutes and, whilst you wouldn't want to be stuck on a coach for much longer than that, it was nicely air-conditioned and, once you're out of Corfu town, winding your way up the mountains to the hotel felt more like a free tour excursion than a transfer. We liked being away from the hustle and bustle of the town and wanted a more secluded location to relax and enjoy some sun, sea, peace and quiet.

The hotel. We were greeted immediately upon arrival by a very friendly man with a beaming smile who guided us to the reception area to check in. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and, by the time we'd checked in and been handed our key, I was pleased to be told our cases would be bought to the room within 5-10 minutes. It was very hot so I was grateful not to have to lug them around!

The restaurant area (which caters for breakfast, lunch and dinner) is, like the rest of the hotel, immaculate. We were always welcomed swiftly and directed to a table where you are then free to head over to the food areas to select whatever you'd like from the many options available. Continental breakfasts, cooked breakfasts, traditional Mediterranean and Greek foods were in abundance throughout. The desserts were good too (traditional Greek pastries, fresh fruit, ice creams, cakes, biscuits), and there were plenty of drinks options - both soft, alcoholic (beer, red/white wine), cocktails and hot drinks to choose from. I would say that, despite reasonable variety, a week is long enough before you yearn for some other styles of cuisine but there are a couple of beach bars and restaurants off-site which you can go to if you fancy a change. The restaurant also held a couple of theme nights with cuisine to match - Greek and Chinese - both of which were superb. The one let-down for us was the pizzeria a la carte restaurant experience. We'd wanted to get into the Olives (the Mediterranean style restaurant) but this was already booked up solid for the duration of our stay. We did however get into the pizzeria. Whilst the staff were very friendly and polite - and familiar; many of the team you see throughout the day at the bars also pop up in the restaurants or other facilities throughout the day! - the food was essentially components of the same food available in the normal restaurants. There was nothing different or particularly special about this experience. We even ended up buying a bottle of wine from the menu when we could just of easily got all-inclusive wine but this was not made clear to us at the time of ordering. It was the only real negative in an otherwise excellent stay.

The room was of reasonable quality. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning unit worked well - most definitely needed with temperatures regularly in excess of 34C! The bathroom had a nice walk-in shower with a large 'soaker' head, and the whole suite looked quite new. You are not supposed to dispose of toilet paper down the toilet in Greece due to the plumbing - but you get used to this quite quickly. (Don't be looking for a little pedal-bin when you get back home!)

There were some midges and ants around, but our Jungle Formula spray took care of most of them. Watch out if spraying outside though, it makes the floor tiles slippery - my other half slipped on the balcony floor and hurt her back. I don't think alcohol played a part in this, but I couldn't say 100% ;-)

The pools were excellent - we spent the first 3/4 days mainly down at the large 'fun pool' as this was very conveniently located near to the bar and snack areas. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids occupied including water polo, water aerobics and waterfall features to get drenched under. Sun-loungers were plentiful though, of course, people were going down at 7am to place towels on the more prominently located ones. We never bothered and always managed to find suitable ones. We got round to trying the relaxation pool towards the end of our stay and enjoyed that experience also. There is a little jet-spa area with seats which massage your back for you as you relax. Or you can swim out into the main pool (which is deeper than the fun pool, but still only around 1.60m at its deepest I think) - this pool is like an infinity pool: you can swim right up to the edge and then look down onto the fun pool below and, beyond that, out into the Ionian sea. Beautiful.

We took a Corfu Town by Boat excursion which was excellent. Coach transfer down to the harbour, a 60 minute boat ride (with commentary from the captain) and then 3 hours to do as you wish before returning to the boat for the return journey. If anything, 3 hours isn't quite enough time to explore, have lunch, do some shopping and get back for the boat but it was so hot and humid, we just found a bar, had some beers, some food, then got an ice cream on the way back to the boat and were exhausted anyway!

The staff were friendly, courteous, and unobtrusive throughout our stay and the views out across the Ionian sea to Albania were breath-taking. We would definitely return again.

One final thing. The room block names. As you will have worked out by now, they're all James Bond 007 themed. I was chuffed to be staying in Pussy Galore - but then again, I'm a bit massive child really stuck in an adults body!

Go to this hotel and enjoy yourself. We did. And we will again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TakeawayBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear TakeawayBear,

Thank you for the positive review that you have shared with us.
Our staff go above and beyond for our valued guests, and they really appreciate your kind words.
We are as well happy to know that you were pleased with our Food & Beverage Service offerings.
Your good ratings make us happy and we take note of your remarks to increase our quality.
All the pleasure was shared with the entire team and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincere regards,
Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Lovely looking hotel from the outside. Was not very happy that although we had booked the same room as my daughter the rooms were unbelievably different. I asked to change to a better room but was told to come back at 10am two days running and eventually gave up and just stayed put, The adults only pool was not supervised by anyone so had children using it , only on 2 occasions did we see anyone come round and ask the parents to take the children down to the other pool.Entertainment in the evening was good on two occasions this was the Greek night and the Latin night but the rest was pretty poor. The gem amongst this was the oasis restaurant with good food and lovely views. There is a big issue with mosquitos so don't forget your spray . Food plentiful but not of great quality wondered why they needed to charge for bottled water surely this should be included into all inclusive.

Room Tip: Ask for updated room and one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MilliemopEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear MilliemopEngland,

Thank you for your honest review – it helps us to improve our service quality and better meet the demands of our guests.
Our culinary offer caters for our international guest structure and our kitchen team strives to serve a varied menu of international and traditional dishes. We are sorry that we could not fully meet your taste.
All comments are seriously taken into consideration and would like to assure you that your comments will be passed onto the management team for consideration.
Do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days. 7 days was not long enough!!
The hotel staff from the moment we arrived were friendly and were more than happy to help with any questions and to ensure our holiday was as it should be.
It is located right by the beach which you have access to. Personally, we stayed by the pool as you could hear the waves crashing from there. The main pool is amazing and you also have an option of a relax pool for adults only which also is great. The hotel is well maintained in all areas and you have the animation team with lots of activities to choose from for both kids and adults if required.
Plenty of choice for food within the main eating areas and there is also the 2 restaurants to book within the package. Book these on arrival as they book out quickly.
The hotel itself is located to the North of the island in between 2 local towns. This gives a choice of 2 if you want to get out of the hotel. To get to Corfu Town is approximate 50 min drive.
Overall this holiday was a very special occasion for us and for sure the hotel really played their part in making sure this happened providing a relaxing holiday with exceptional service both before and during our stay.
A big thank you to Persefoni who is the Front Office Manager who helped create a holiday we will always remember.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0mar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear 0mar14,

Wow, what a wonderful review! Thank you so much for your detailed description of your recent stay in our hotel. We appreciate it very much.
We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your apartment with the comfort and that you were satisfied with the facilities in your room and the presentation of our breakfast.
Moreover, it is a delight to know that you were especially satisfied with our staff’s work and service, as we always do our utmost to accommodate our guest’s needs.
Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Best regards,
Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We came here as a big group. We had incredibly high expectations and in my opinion had a certain 3 members of staff kept their cool remained professional and not exacerbated a bad situation by giving really embarrassing excuses, or being threatening in behavior and shouting, sometimes telling down right lies, this hotel to me might have been able to get away with us simply feeling minor initial disappointment and then getting on with it.

Now for the positives, this hotel is in a beautiful location, jsut stunning I loved the beach which was a stones throw away. There is a lot for children to do at this hotel, every day my children were exhausted after having played, swam, ran, enjoyed the hotel entertainment courtesy of the children's club.

A very special thank you to Andreas for giving my children and I a fun trip in the back of his pickup. Also for being patient and helping us move to our new rooms.
Speaking of changing rooms, there was a man at reception who arranged our change of rooms (I am truly sorry I did not get his name before I left). Any one wanting to go into customer service needs to watch this man and Maria work. These two were professional and it was obvious they were having to deal with a number of challenges but they never got rude, or got panicked and they treated everyone like they were happy to see you. If these two tell you they are going to do something, they get it done. I was very impressed with Maria and the gentleman who helped us with our room change.
The staff that work by the pool area have my respect, I've never known staff working such a busy area remain full of energy and fun. I would arrive at the pool area and start smiling however much another member of staff had upset me.
In the dining area is Gianni who was always happy efficient and made all our children the nicest paper roses for my nieces birthday.
The food is holiday food, I didn't find it offensive but my favorite was breakfast. Thank you to Karolina in the bar for always keeping our drinks topped up and looking very happy as well.
I am told that this hotel is fixing up its rooms so any feed back on rooms I give here might be redundant by next year. Stories of mosquitioes eating you alive are not an exaggeration, but I cant blame the hotel for that
I would return to Mareblue because in my heart I believe we were just unlucky and came when they were having a bad week. Everybody is allowed to have a bad week.

Room Tip: Do not deal directly with housekeeping they are unprofessional and in my opinion the weak link at Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 September 2017

Dear Martha G,

Thank you for writing a detailed review on TripAdvisor.
Our ideal location on the island is really a privilege and guarantees a breath-taking panorama and a quiet holiday and enjoyable holiday.
Also, thanks for your kind words and mentioning that hotel generously offers a good choice of menu throughout the week.
It has been indeed our full pleasure and honour of being your host during your stay here on Mareblue Beach Resort.
Once again, thank you, and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Mareblue is a very good hotel in Corfu. It offers great food variety, nice entertainment programme, especially for children. It is located close to the beach - small and calm beach, looking towards Albania.

Room Tip: Family room with bunk bed
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank stasipurvanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Dear stasipurvanova,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
We are delighted to hear that you also were fully satisfied with our food and beverage offer.
ın more, our ideal location on the island is really a privilege and guarantees a breath-taking panorama and a quiet holiday and enjoyable holiday.
Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Best regards from Corfu,
Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Stayed for a week at the end of the school holidays. We were a family of 5 so had two rooms in the same block (james bond), shame not next to each other which surprised me as we booked a fair while back! Both rooms had modern bathrooms, one had new light wood furniture and the other dark wood and older style but both in good condition. The extra bed in one room was very poor and not suitable for an adult, it creaked and groaned with every slight movement!
Lovely views of sea and Albania from balcony. The furniture in balconies were poor, outdated and uncomfortable. We sat that in the evenings to get away from the standard entertainment which we never go to as not our taste.
Main buffet restaurant food quality and range very good although being ordered where to sit by the rude man at the entrance to the restaurant very off putting! Would be nice if he could greet with good morning/eve etc (in Greek of course!). Better to sit in the room firer away from buffet as tends to be quieter as main seating very noisy and canteen like.
Drinks all seemed to have an underlying salty taste, obviously due to the water used in the area. Not undrinkable bit like rehydration drinks! Vodka was not good which I've never had a problem with anywhere before! We found other things to drink!
We sat around the adult only relax pool, beds were reserved from 7.30am. Area was very peaceful but sun beds very old and uncomfortable. Quite a lot were broken too and one my husband sat on collapsed, he turned it over to see what had happened to it and cut his wrist on sharp metal. I reported this to reception and would have thought it courteous for someone to have checked later on how his injury was and apologise but no. The offending broken bed wasn't removed and left for someone to get injured!
There were some cats around - little offputting especially when eating at the Italian restaurant. We ate here and the service and food poor. We cancelled reservation for olives so can't comment on that.
Transfer to and from airport long but enabled us to see Corfu!
Overall we had a relaxing holiday and would return if the price was right!

Room Tip: Sea view high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lisaandrea2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

Dear lisaandrea2017,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about our hotel.
We are happy that you commented especially on the high quality of the culinary, Highest quality of food and beverage is one of the main objectives at Mareblue Beach Resort.
Great that you enjoyed the pool area and our excellent sea view.
However, please be sure that we take with great importance to your comments about comfort of some furniture and will use them to improve our services.
All the pleasure was shared with the entire team and we hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mareblue Beach Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Spyridonas
27.8 km away
Aeolos Beach Resort
18.5 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
34.6 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
16.6 km away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
25.3 km away
Corfu Holiday Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mareblue Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mareblue Beach Resort

Address: Agios Spyridonas 49100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Spyridonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Agios Spyridonas
Price Range: C$125 - C$486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mareblue Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mareblue Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mareblue Beach Hotel Agios Spyridonas
Hotel Escape Blue Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing