We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tremendous Accommodation - Would Definitely Stay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Malthouse No 2

Open plan kitchen/dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan kitchen/dining area
Living area Open plan living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Open plan kitchen/dining area
Living area
Open plan living
Fully fitted kitchen
Close up
Entrance hallway
Master bedroom
En suite shower room
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Family bathroom
External seating area
Pulteney Bridge, Bath
The Roman Baths, Bath
The Royal Crescent, Bath
Thermae Bath Spa - Visit Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gainesm
Cibolo, Texas
1 review
“Tremendous Accommodation - Would Definitely Stay Again!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I cannot say enough good things about #2 The Malthouse. From the moment I stepped foot into the cottage I was in love with the entire place. It is spacious yet absolutely cozy and we both felt completely at home - so much so we both wished we could just buy the place! I loved the modernization together with so much of the old architecture.

By choosing to stay closer to Bath (was only about 2 miles out) than I originally planned I saved myself quite a lot of money by not having to get a rental car. I was able to taxi into town for about £10 each way, but a bus very nearby also was convenient to take if I had wanted to do so. I did my initial grocery shop in town and took a taxi back as I was unsure if the nearby convenience market would have all I needed. It was easy to get ahold of the owners to ask questions, and they could not have been lovelier about making sure all was well.

As for the cottage - the main bedroom was simply perfect with a large comfortable bed and en-suite bathroom with a perfect shower. The second bedroom was much smaller, but served its purpose well-enough. I greatly appreciated the multitude of electrical outlets which allowed me to not have to do any gymnastics just to plug in my laptop, phone, and other items. Having the bedrooms on the ground floor was great - did not have to carry luggage up the spiral staircase! Having a full kitchen was absolutely perfect - we cooked the whole weekend and saved ourselves a ton of money by not having to eat out at restaurants. There's enough kitchen ware to make it through 2 meals, dishwasher worked very well - although not having a scouring sponge was a bit of a challenge. Overall, my only regret was that I was not able to stay longer.

I'd definitely stay here again, and keep wishing I could spend every weekend here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the modern w/ old style architecture
Liked least: The lack of scour sponge made it difficult to clean pots/pans
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happymarj...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Lovely accomodation in a quiet setting. Cottage contains all you need for a great break. Spiral stairs may give some people a degree of difficulty depending on level of mobility. Great having two bathrooms and plenty of room for clothes. Bus service into Bath regular and just at the top of the lane, no need to use the car. Welcome pack good but it may be useful to include supermarkets in the area and opening times. Security gates add privacy. Good area for seeing countryside and close to Bristol. Would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonTanner...
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A home from home... maybe better!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Malthouse No. 2 for five nights including New Years Eve as part of our "Minimoon" really easy to find just off one of the main roads into Bath City centre. The accomodation was lovely and warm and had everything we needed over the 5 days. With Morrisons just a short drive a way we were able to stock up the cupboards with everything we wanted to cook giving us more money to spend on entertainment whilst we were there.
(I would highly recommend the Thermae Spa for a different/relaxing day out)
Lovely bathroom and a comfy bed made for a really enjoyable break. My only fault with the trip which was nothing to do with the actual accomodation was the mammoth sized speed bumps on the entry road. Even at snails pace my car was scraping over them leaving me with a scuffed front splitter after the initial realisation as to how high they were! This didnt put a dampner on our stay though, the malthouse was faultless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wooden beamed ceilings
Liked least: Entry road to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjolein...
Baarlo, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at The Malthous nr 2 with 2 adults and 2 childeren (2 and 5 year old). The appartement was excellent. Everything was there and the location is perfect! A bus stop outside that takes you into bath within 10 min! The parking was very good as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: the beds
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally G
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once again fantastic”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a little gem, with easy access to Bath. The cottage is very clean and has everything you could want so much nicer than staying in a hotel, and to have parking is a real bonus. We would not hesitate to recommend it and look forward to staying here again as soon as we can get away!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay if you want to be away from the crowds of Bath”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Luxurious self catering accommodation: beautifully renovated and maintained. A bus stops just outside to take you straight into Bath, so no expensive parking. There are some good restaurants within walking distance

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quite location and quirky layout
Liked least: unimaginative and rather miserly welcome pack
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie B
Norfolk, GB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Bath time”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Once we had found the Maltings - it was rather easy to miss the turning on the High Street - we were glad to have booked such a pleasant place to stay whist doing a quick trip to Bath and Bristol. Everything was very clean and comfortable for the three of us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenient location, good facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing