We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside
You can just see the parking area in front of the cottage
Luxury bathroom with Egyptian cotton towels
Lots of stone and wood and a super comfortable King size bed!
Cosy living area with lots of character
Small but perfectly formed. Plenty of room for a cosy weekend or a longer break
Another view of the kitchen/living area. Some of our guests have said it's much bigger than it appea
A great place to relax or have fun!
The Smeg oven is 'state of the art'! A pleasure to use.
Pamper yourself here
Getting an idea of the quality?
Quirky spiral staircase
We've tried to think of lots of nice little touches which make a difference
One of our many enthusiastic testimonials from couples enjopying a romantic break
Another one of our many glowing testimonials from our satisfied clients
This is the former butcher's shop, which is at the front of the same building.
This was the building at the turn of the 20th century!
The Roman Baths. It's just as beautiful in the day.
One of the reason so many people come to Bath! The unique roof top Spa - pure indulgence.
Bathampton Mill is just a few minutes walk from the Saltings
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Batheaston, Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemma_000...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage, great location”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage, some basic kitchen provisions were included which was a nice touch. The cottage was modern, well maintained and clean. Parking space right outside. Short drive into Bath centre and a few great places for food/drink in walking distance.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Thanks for the review and we are pleased you liked the Saltings and the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trish G
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Away from bustle of Bath but so close”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If planning a trip to Bath would highly recommend staying at The Saltings in Batheaston. Has the charm of Bath but without the traffic you confront when visiting in school holidays, summer. The apartment had everything we needed, beautifully appointed, car space and within walking distance of lovely pub. John looked after us exceptionally. Wished we'd stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Oh, thank you so much for your compliments, it was a pleasure to have another happy person stay with us. Glad you appreciated what we have to offer and hope to see you again soon. Regards John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fabulous stay at the saltings. The cottage itself is well presented and tucked away just off the main road which makes it very peaceful. Surrounded by country side with beautiful views and only a couple of miles from Bath City centre, the saltings is the perfect retreat whatever your holiday requirements are. Would definitely visit again and recommend it to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you so much for your kind compliments. Glad you loved it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlemil...
durham, england
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent little cottage”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Everything the previous reviewer said is absolutely true. We spent a week here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we felt comfortable and enjoyed every minute. The only problem that we had was that a week was just not long enough. Thank you John and Jane Moon et al for everything

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Hi. Very pleased you enjoyed everything. We are glad you had the 'problem' of wanting to stay longer and hope it can be resolved by coming back again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the start.
Directions to the cottage were very accurate. Dedicated parking spot right outside the door.
The owners had supplied lovely scones plus a bottle of wine, and all the tea,coffee and sugar caddies were full topped off with fresh milk in the fridge so if you Travel far, at least a cuppa and scone or something stronger to start your holiday exactly right!
Inside- immaculate. Okay it's a 'one up one down' but what a smashing cottage for two people, with everything thought out and there -all appliances necessary.
You will need to be relatively fit as it's a spiral staircase, but how many times do you actually need to go up and down?
Very comfortable furnishings and bed-very!
The cottage is well within walking distance of Bath 25-30 minutes-downhill all the way, plus there's a bus stop right outside and regular services direct to central Bath.
Car parking in Bath is quite expensive but almost all quite central and easily found. But it does get congested at busy times!
Although we are probably making re-booking more difficult our honest opinion is that this is such a lovely little gem of a place, we shouldn't tell anyone else...but we have!
Pat&Jeff

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Well, we are flushed with pride at your lovely compliments, thank you so much. The scones are a relatively new 'experiment'. You were some of the first to have them but it sounds like we will carry on with them. One of our lady cleaners makes them herself and we thought they were delicious, so it's nice our guests think so too. We would love to have you back again and we will keep trying to find ways to make it even better :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The under floor heating
Liked least: The oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Nov 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MandyKev6...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Saltings - a beautiful place to stay :)”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just had 3 fantastic night stay at the Saltings . It is a fantastic cottage, just perfect for 2. From the start it was 5 stars...a great welcome pack and bottle of wine greeted us. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could need. The use of a parking space directly outside was also a brilliant touch.
We spent a fantastic day exploring Bath and particularly enjoyed the Roman Baths - a must for anyone sightseeing. Eating out was a pleasure as there were many lovely places to eat and drink.
Bath and the surrounding areas have some outstanding places to visit, both Bradford on Avon and Lacock are a must.
Thank you for opening up your beautiful cottage for others to use and we will definately be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedroom was beautiful
Liked least: Nothing - everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2013
Hi,

Lovely to read your warm review and to hear you will make a return visit. Thanks for writing and see you soon!

John and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing