We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money with some perks”
Review of Old Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I stayed here with my partner because we wanted to visit the Bath Xmas market and many of the hotels in town don't have parking. Check in time was advertised as being mid afternoon but there was no problem with our 10am arrival to leave the car before getting a taxi in to the town.
We got back to the hotel late in the afternoon and had a superior double room.
I'll be honest, the room was a little small, not helped by quite a large wardrobe but it was clean and comfortable with a decent bathroom and fine for an over night stay.
We ate our evening meal in the hotel restaurant and the thought the food was excellent and also had the breakfast which although slightly pricy at £10 was very nice and was all you can eat.
If you are one of life's grumblers, this hotel is probably not for you. If you want a cheap stop over night with excellent on site food, then I would definitely recommend staying here. The service we received from the staff was excellent - including a late night request for extra pillows and the atmosphere was relaxed. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aidanrudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 1,208 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2017

Helpful and friendly staff, very nice restaurant/bar, good buffet breakfast. Nice scenic location. Room was basic and small but warm and clean with good shower facilities. 40 minute walk to centre of Bath and the shops. If walking is not an option, there is a good, and regular bus service 5 minutes from hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Gazzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Booked a quick night away before we he added to Bath and we thought we would be in the anex but was upgraded to a 4 poster bed room so nice and unexpected 10 out of 10 for the stay would definitely recommend this hotel. Also food was good and the view from the room exilant.. .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I booked this hotel before reading the reviews and felt a huge sense of trepidation having read them. Howevever I am actually glad I didn't! The focus of most of the negative reviews seems to be the rooms in The Lodge. I can't comment on this, as we stayed in a superior double which was comfortable and clean with great views of the water mill and the beautiful surrounding countryside.
The service from both of the male employees at reception was friendly, providing us with some great recommendations for dinner and drinks locally.
The hotel is great as a base for exploring Bath, even though the traffic in and out was pretty horrendous!
Breakfast offering was quite basic but plenty of it (buffet style) with attentive staff who were on hand to top up coffee when required!
In summary, for the money you won't get better close to Bath.

Room Tip: Avoid the Lodge, opt for Superior Double with a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

An excellent location right on the bank of the river with a wonderful view on the old toll bridge and the jetty where you can board a boat which takes you right into the centre of Bath. This boat ride takes about 30 minutes and tickets are very cheap. Much better than to take a taxi.
The breakfast buffet is very good like the service in the hotel.
Unfortunately, this cannot be said of the rooms in the Lodge. Small with old furniture very spartan. Try to get a room in the main building with a view on the river

Room Tip: avoid the Lodge !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

If you don't want to stay right in the centre of Bath this place is perfect. It's only a short drive into the centre of Bath or you can get the bus. The surrounds are beautiful and it's in a nice and quiet location. Matt on reception was there to help check us in and he was absolutely lovely. He went above and beyond throughout our stay to ensure we had a nice visit in Bath.
The room we stayed in was basic and a little on the small side but was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We were on our bicycles and they were happy for our bikes to take up residence downstairs for our stay. We extended from 2 to 3 nights as this is such a great location to see Bath and surrounding Cotswolds. The waterwheel is incredible and as you done you are mesmorized by it. The food was really great, great service, and not too exy. The room was small but a beautiful position, we were able to open windows for fresh air and watch the toll collection outside on the bridge. Fascinating. We enjoyed this hotel very much

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tolgabrolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batheaston
14.8 km away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
198 reviews
0.6 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
6.1 km away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
3.3 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.7 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Hotel

Address: Toll Bridge Road, Batheaston, Bath BA1 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Batheaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Batheaston
Price Range: $63 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Mill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Bath
Old Mill Hotel Bath/Batheaston, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing