We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,077)
Filter reviews
1,077 results
Traveller rating
517
349
132
48
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
517
349
132
48
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews port stephens overlooking the marina loft suite the general manager buffet breakfast high tea small beach lovely location restaurant staff romantic getaway the galley oysters long weekend lounge area coffee machine ground floor great spot
Filter
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,077 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2006

Spent almost a week here in February 2005 with family and found it to be a comfortable and relaxing hotel. It’s built overlooking a small marina or ‘anchorage’ at one edge of the settlement of Port Stephens, far enough from the busy centre to be restful and quiet. The attractive wooden architecture consists of roomy individual units with balconies or terraces mostly overlooking the bay. Alongside is a lovely beach, almost deserted while were there, with very safe swimming. The outdoor pool was a bit small but mostly empty enough for serious swimming. We had a great day sailing a chartered boat around the huge Nelson’s Bay.
The food was terrific, up with the best of modern Australian, with small but varied lunch and dinner menus that changed every day. The service throughout the hotel was efficient and really friendly.
Verdict: pricey but worth it if you value quality.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2006

"We enjoyed our stay so much and really wish we could have stayed a little longer. It's a peaceful place - our room was just right and sitting outside looking at the boats and the sea, listening to the birds was very good for the soul."

Guest Comments - James and Fiona, UK

Stayed: January 2006
3  Thank Stay37093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2006

Stayed here for 3 days between xmas and new years eve duriring a 3 week visit to Oz. Overall, not a bad hotel but I would say it's not worth the price tag. The hotel is split into approx 5 seperate units and the rooms are quite nice on initial inspection. Large enough and quite bright but when I scratched the surface our bath had a large stain from an old bath mat, one of our balconies was inhabited with huntsmans and an electrical socet was hanging out of the wall. The pool is overcrowded with kids - I don;t have anything against kids but it is billed as a relaxing retreat. Only 15 or so loungers round the pool so get up early!!. Resturaunt is excellent but pricey. Overall a nice hotel but I think they should address their nightly charges!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Extraordinary5429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2004

Stopped here on roadtrip from Brisbane to Sydney.

Very nice hotel, bit of a drive from civilisation, but would be a great place to relax and spend a few days.

Rooms modern, large, located right by the sea. When we were were there there was a conference/corporate event on - definately ideal for this kind of thing.

Hotel has own harbour with an Air taxi which can be hired, and a small beach area is nearby. Pool is small but good, also greate sauna/gym facilities. Beauty treatments/massages available as well.

9  Thank mie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali H, General Manager at Anchorage Port Stephens, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews