We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bright and cosy chalet with lovely view and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view. Bright cosy lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Even in winter, it's an amazing view. Come and see the view in Summer!
Bright, modern lounge with fabulous ocean view.
Bright cosy lounge.
The well equipped kitchen area.
Wake up every day to a view of the ocean!
Comfortable double room, continuing the coastal theme.
Second bedroom also coastal themed.
Driftwood mirror in chalet.
One of the driftwood wall art pieces decorating the chalet.
More driftwood wall decor.
And another!
Coastal themed decor.
You could wake up to this every morning!  What you see is just a snapshot of the 180 deg  panorama!
Driftwood chalet in attractive setting with uninterrupted sea view beyond.
The picturesque location of Driftwood.
Large play area and Crazy Golf.
Clubhouse where you can relax on the terrace while keeping an eye on the children in the play area.
A quiet moment in the indoor pool.
The beautiful woods, on the edge of the Park.  Great walks can begin here.
Looking across the estuary to Appledore from Instow beach, just 20 mins away.
Wonderful 2 mile long beach at Westward Ho! Just 20 mins away. Great for surfing and rock pooling.
You can walk along the coast path from the chalet to this picturesque harbour at Clovelly.
Another stunning beach at Croyde.
The nearest beach at Bucks Mills, just a 3/4km walk through beautiful woods on the edge of the site.
A lovely comment from one happy guest.
Another happy customer!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bucks Cross, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
steveada
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bright and cosy chalet with lovely view and coastal walks”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Bright and homely chalet with seaside style decor, lovely views from the balcony, and good park facilities on tap (including well maintained outdoor play area, recently refurbished swimming pool, large bar with food and outdoor terrace (over-looking the play area). The coastal path passes by the park, so ideal for a walk to Clovelly. Milky Way and Big Sheep nearby. Recommend the chalet itself, and as a base for the area. Suitable for couples and young families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
A lovely review covering many great features of your stay at Driftwood. Thank you very much, I hope you will stay again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toni b
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect break away with family!”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Beautiful Chalet, really clean and homely and was so nice to arrive and find cereal, biscuits and even a cream tea waiting for us! Absolutely stunning view of the sea from the bedroom and front room windows, would be amazing to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine if you get the weather (we didn't unfortunately but still had a fabulous time!!).

Great correspondence with Pat the owner for directions etc. The holiday park is great, lots to do for the kids, and would definitely recommend the coastal walk to Clovelly, which is one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen! and my 4 year old slept through the night for the first time in over a year!! Will hopefully visit again soon!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2015
What a lovely review of your holiday, thank you so much. It is really reassuring to know that guests have enjoyed their stay at Driftwood, and really helps others to be able to book with confidence. I look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minidrive...
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great base for North Devon”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The chalet was clean, warm and comfortable. Pat had provided a number of food items including milk, tea, coffee and a cream tea. We did not make use of the sites other facilities - although the reception staff were helpful with local information and directions This is a perfect base to explore North Devon, with many attractions within easy reach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No internet - so no work
Liked least: No internet teenagers frustrated
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in Driftwood and mentioning that the chalet is ideally situated for visiting all the attractions this beautiful area has to offer.
Should you wish to return, your teenage children may be pleased to know that there are immediate plans to improve the wifi across the whole of the Park, along with extensive renovations to both pools.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
1 review
“Fantastic, clean, well thought out!”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Excellent chalet with all amenities, nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners. Many thanks for all the books, toys, dvds, games etc they were a godsend for the children.
Would book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to leave those kind comments, thank you very much. It's reassuring to know that my guests have everything they need when holidaying at Driftwood to help them have a comfortable and enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alistair...
1 review
“A Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for one week with a young family and had a great week. The park is nicelly situated so that there is lots to do within a short drive.
It was a lovelly welcome to open the fridge to find milk, wine and a cream tea. There was even Tea, coffee, cereals etc in the cuboards which was very welcome. The chalet was beautifully decorated and was very comfortable with everything you could need. The books, DVD's and games helped to keep the kids entertained while we were in. The views from the chalet are wonderful and it was a lovelly sitting out on the balconey looking out to sea. The position of the chalet in the park meant that it was nice and quiet but still only a very short walk to the main complex.

We all a had a great time and the children didn't want to go hope. I would easy recommend Driftwood to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a lovely review, thank you. I'm so glad you had a great time, and enjoyed staying at Driftwood. I hope you'll decide to return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark T
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Driftwood is a great holiday for all the family”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Chalet was extremely clean and well equipped with lots of personal touches Pat was extremely helpful with any queries we had , fantastic views of the sea . Very friendly helpful staff and fantastic outdoor facilities even though the site is small it catered for all our needs . At night it was very quiet and relaxing . Lovely woodland walk and close to beautiful beaches like Westward Ho! . The kids were never bored even on the rainy days . We would definitely recommend a stay here and look forward to visiting again soon .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: No access to a beach within walking distance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite some rainy days, and that your children were not bored! The Park and surrounding areas do have much to offer in the way of entertainment and natural beauty, which helps compensate for the unpredictable British weather! I look forward to welcoming you again to Driftwood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michs30
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic, comfortable chalet with an amazing view.”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I booked this holiday with ease online, the owner Pat was very accommodating and always keeping me up to date via emails. On arrival we were very pleased with the holiday park and especially our accomodation. It was beautifully decorated, very clean and tidy and contained everything you could possibly need. We had a lovely welcome pack in the fridge on arrival which we enjoyed whilst sitting on the balcony watching the stunnig view of the sea. The holiday park itself was very clean and tidy, the pools were lovely and the staff were very helpful. The only thing the children were disappointed in were the wifi connection and the take away, which didn't open until 9.30pm! I would definately book to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chalet had everything that we needed.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
I really appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay in Driftwood. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay.

The Park's management have said that the Wifi was supposed to be upgraded this season but due to technical problems it did not happen. Sadly it was out of their control. It is, I'm informed however, planned to be in place for next season. I will pass your comment on, regarding the takeaway opening time, at my next opportunity. The Park's management do listen to the requests of owners and visitors and are always looking to improve where necessary.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing