We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
50
58
35
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
58
35
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building beautiful hotel old building pancakes get away danish summer two days spa facilities are fresh air stayed nights breakfast and dinner massage sea sense lounge classic curtains
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 166 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2018

The hotel is nice but way too expensive for the level of service they provide and the quality of the rooms and restaurant.

The location of the hotel is perfect, it is right next to a beautiful walking trail along the beach and there are plenty of possibilities for a swim. Also the spa area is quite nice.

The hotel itself however did not live up to our expectations.

The breakfast menu is very limited and the evening menu is ok, but considering the general high standard at Danish hotels and restaurants, not spectacular. The setup of the terrace where we had dinner and breaksfast, also has more the feeling of a paved backyard, then that of a fancy spa hotel.
Although the service was friendly, it was very unprofessional and sometimes simply lacking. They didnt know what we have booked and i needed to remind them several times about the package we ordered. Especially the room service was very poor, old dishes and trash were simply left in the room. Our room itself (it was No. 17) was above the staff entrance and trash bins, so we could listen in the evening to the discussions of the staff and at 6:00 in the morning the trash was picked up (and they made sure everybody heard it).

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chrisra2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

I had such a great visit at Gilleleje Badehotel. The area is stunning, the food great and authentically Danish and the staff was so friendly and attentive. My friend and I had a great time. Will definitely be coming back to this fabulous place!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank StephanieHayward2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 13, 2018 via mobile

This hotel is in a lovely situation overlooking the sea and a short pretty cliff walk from the attractive working fishing village of Gilleleje. We paid for a dinner bed breakfast and spa package which was expensive but we expected a relaxing treat. The. Spa is unmanned and the instructions for use of the Turkish bath were not in English so we were not confident to use it. There is a sauna but no pool and the Jacuzzi was locked and so we did not use the spa at all.

Dinner was OK but only 2 choices per course and taken outside as the weather was warm. We were only offered a 6:30 slot despite only 3 tables being booked - we would have preferred later. The room was a superior one with view to the sea (mostly blocked by the rooms in front) and had shower toilet but only a small hanging space for clothes and no extras that we would have expected such as dressing gown tea making facility or towels for the spa ( we were told to use our bath towels).

The public rooms are nicely decorated in a colonial style (this is an old historic building) but we were asked to move from one of the lounges whilst drinking our after dinner coffee to make room for another party which was a little rude I thought - there was plenty of room for both of us.

Overall this is not a bad hotel but not really a Badehotel. It could be so much better if the owners listened to the comments of the reviewers.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 12, 2018 via mobile

Grand spa hotel in a beautiful location which can be reached from a sea-view rose-lined lane from the town. Adamson’s Fisk is a 25 min walk away for good-natured drinks or an open sandwich plus live music, with families enjoying themselves, and a range of places to choose to eat at. Looks like they cater for wedding groups, conference guests and holiday makers all at the same time. Only downside to the badehotel is the limited options for dinner. Travelling with InnTravel we stayed 3 nights and had to choose from plaice or beef each night, and more options would have been great.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sushi-fan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018

Having not visited a "badehotel" before this was my first experience of the Danish classics. It was very much as you expect, if you have seen pictures or movies of Danish summer from back in the days. As it was so authentic it makes sense that the individual elements should be in coherence. That meant that the old building was charming but cold - and must definitely be perfect during summer - and the food rather traditional.
But if you visit in summer, I am sure it will manage to take you all the way back and actually experience classic Danish summer. That was a little to much to ask for in winter, so I am looking forward to visit a badehotel in summer, next time I do so!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacob M Ø
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews