We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
550
292
83
37
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
292
83
37
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anse lazio nature trail our honeymoon half board a la carte restaurant the main hotel free shuttle watching the sunset the hotel offers mango poolside bar standard room palm trees private beach hired a car praslin island indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 990 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights at the Black Parrot Suites and loved every minute of our stay.

It was dark when we arrived, but a refreshing drink and a swift check-in process helped us forget the journey we'd just had from Nairobi. We were shown to our room and headed off to dinner.

It wasn't until the morning that we realised just how lucky we were - the view from the balcony was spectacular. The Black Parrot Suites are away from the main hotel with a separate pool and bar area which makes it feel even more exclusive. Dinner is in the same buffet restaurant but you can choose to pay a bit more for a la carte dining in the poolside bar.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and always said hello. Fiona, up at the Black Parrot Suites pool, was exceptional, and Harry, the restaurant manager, did his best to speak to as many guests as possible (in 4 languages!!)

If you are staying in the Black Parrot Suites, make sure to catch the incredible sunset from pool!

The one thing which does need sorting out - enforcement of the dress-code. Men are expected to wear trousers after 7pm and although most people managed this, a number of guests just didn't seem to care and were not pulled up about it (despite there being signs advising this and notices in the in-room booklet). It didn't ruin our experience, but it was disappointing that there are to be no point in having the rule if ignoring it bore no consequence.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ross I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco H, Director of Sales at Coco De Mer Hotel And Black Parrot, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

We love, that you loved, every minute of your stay...

Dear Guest
It is with absolute pleasure that the team and I read this review. Thank you for sharing these very kind words with us - and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your Coco de Mer experience.
The multi-lingual Harry is pleased that his talents were recognized - and Fiona is elated that you have mentioned her in this review.
We apologize that not all of our guests respected the desired dress code requirement, and will endeavor to implement a stricter approach to disrespecting guests.
We trust that you have taken back home with you - some awesome memories of your stay here with us and hopefully in the not too distant future - will again have another opportunity of welcoming you back to the Coco de Mer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Arriving at the Coco de Mer what feels like an eternity ago (2 weeks that is) for the first of our island hopping visit to the Seychelles. The welcome was superb, the staff very helpful and Harry appears to be everywhere!

Nice touches included "towel sculptures" on the bed each day and the organised trips to Anse Lazio. Food was excellent and the rooms very, very nice indeed. Watching the sunset every evening from the deck of the infinity pool was a special treat.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room tip: Ask for a room towards the tops of the hill - more expensive but better views.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEPHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco H, Director of Sales at Coco De Mer Hotel And Black Parrot, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

Thank you for Thoroughly recommending us...

We are delighted to read your wonderful words and thank you for sharing this review with us. Harry does seem to be everywhere as he loves what he does and enjoys his interaction with his guests. Housekeeping strives to place a lovely personalized towel sculpture in your room each day as a nice touch and surprise to their guests as well.

We trust that you have taken some awesome memories of our lovely islands and the Coco de Mer - back home with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

Greeted on arrival with a cold towel and welcome drink by the friendly staff, which was a lovely touch after our ferry transfer. We were seated in the large reception area which invites the outside in whilst we completed check in. Our room was on the lower level facing out to sea. The room was bright and spacious and very comfortable, we loved the open plan bathroom which was divided by a mirror from the sleeping area. our room led out to a private terrace with a lounger and a seating area. a stones throw away you could jump on a hammock and listen to the waves. The food was outstanding, my hubby will tell you it is the best omelette he has ever had, there was a great variety for both Breakfast and Dinner. The entertainment is very low key and is on during dinner, afterwards we either went back to our terrace or had a drink in the pool bar. We took advantage of the spa and had a massage which was amazing, it was the welcome offer, head, shoulders and back. The setting overlooking the ocean was beautiful, the spa is located in the adult only area of the hotel "Black Parrot" which had its own pool and bar area too. The staff couldn't do enough for you always smiling, and the presence of the manager "Ash" talking to clients and checking everyone was ok and also his staff was lovely to see. you don't see that often. having spoken to many of the staff they had been there a long time one of them Phillip, 15 years!! they were proud to be working at the hotel. The jetty over the water with the salt water pool was my favourite, watching the sunset with a cocktail was just heaven. The drinks were very reasonable seeing as though there was no where in the vicinity to go . I loved the fact that you could stock up your minibar to your favourite tipple. We took advantage of the free shuttle bus to Anse Lazio beach, out of this world. We also did a day trip to La Digue which was great but we missed the complimentry Trail Walk put on by the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coco H, Director of Sales at Coco De Mer Hotel And Black Parrot, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

It is great knowing that you enjoyed our amazing Nature Walk...

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time out to share these wonderful comments with us. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your 'Coco de Mer Experience' and all aspects of the services and hospitality provided to you.
Furthermore - this detailed review will assist many, future guests with information should they intend staying with us.
We trust that you have taken back home with you - some amazing memories of your recent stay at the Coco de Mer - and hopefully we will again have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel - in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

The hotel is well located away from the rest of civilisation. The food was excellent with lots of choice and the staff very friendly and welcoming. The room on the 'beachfront' was excellent with lots of room and a veranda onto the palm trees and lawn. 'Creole' organised our excursions and pick ups flawlessly from the moment you arrive to being helped with our luggage at the airport after our two week holiday. The shuttle to Anse Lazio beach was excellent and departed three mornings a week with options to drop off on the way back and catch the bus, Excellent guided two hour walk through the forest was a bonus. The sunsets from the wharf are beautiful.

Room tip: We had a free upgrade to a superior room that was excellent
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank leopardmanNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

We stayed 4 nights at the Coco de Mer. The warmth of the welcome is genuine and all the staff seem to like working there – it gives the impression of being family run. All the accommodation has a view towards the sea and ours was at the highest point, albeit it meant some steps had to be climbed this was actually good exercise! The bedrooms were large and comfortable and our balcony was a lovely place to sit and relax. The bar and pool area were very comfortable and provided useful shelter against the strength of the sun. The beach is fairly non-existent and this is an area where seaweed grows. However, you can swim and there are some watersports available. The jetty provides another great place to watch the ocean as well as steps into the sea where you can snorkel from. The themed buffet dinners in the Hibiscus Restaurant were amazing – the variety and quality of food was unbelievable. Breakfasts were similarly a delight. The icing on the cake was a walk up the hill along a nature trail guided by Matt whose family own the estate. As he grew up here there is nothing eh does not know about. The view from the top was worth the sweaty climb!

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colinf296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews