We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
33
48
32
26
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
48
32
26
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room anse takamaka rental car stunning beach creole food breakfast was included octopus curry nice room our honeymoon per day beaches commodities seychelles sea jacuzzi rocks surfers
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 172 reviews
Reviewed December 25, 2017 via mobile

Paradise!! This place is fantastic. The people who works here are so nice, warm and serviceminded. The beach is amazing and the Restaurant is very good. We had creole buffé and it was very nice and fresh. We are leaving for Praslin this evening and they let us keep our room för the hole day. Bless you all hwo works in this wonderful place. We will be back

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Margaretha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanBatisteH, Owner at Chez Batista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Thank you Margaretha for the beautiful comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 10, 2017 via mobile

We drove a fair distance to get to Chez Batista for lunch and so say we were disappointed is an understatement. I would consider myself fairly well travelled and I could comfortably say this is the worst service I have ever experienced in any restaurant, anywhere on the planet. From the moment we walked in we were literally ignored. It was impossible to get served. Eventually after seating ourselves I went and had a look at what the tired buffet had on offer. It was poor, very poor. We managed to force a Coke out of one of the waitresses and then, when deciding to leave, were ignored by the cashier. Only when I then decided to leave did they finally acknowledge any type of presence. I had been standing right in front of her??? No man, never again. No matter how good the setting, no customer ever deserves to be treated as badly as this. You can shove your restaurant where the sun doesn’t shine, we’ll never be back!!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank FrankDodkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanBatisteH, Owner at Chez Batista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018

Thank you Frank for your comments, I am very sorry if you did not like the buffet and it was not to your expectation, as we advertise our Creole Buffet! Actually we have recruited a lot more waitresses to improve on the service in the restaurant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017

My husband and I did a wedding package in the Seychelles, and the company put us at Chez Batista. It isn't what I would have chosen for myself, but after a week there, I would go back. It's a little hotel right on the beach. We had the suite with the jacuzzi, which is just right outside the room with a great ocean view. The rooms could probably use some updating, but there was some construction while we were there, so perhaps they are working on improvements. There is a restaurant that is accessible to anyone, not just hotel guests, and as such, the prices reflect that. Breakfast was included in our package, which was always fruits, cereal, pancakes/crepes, and eggs prepared however you like. The woman makes an excellent omelette, we had one everyday! Alcohol and food is much more expensive at the restaurant than it is just outside the property. We opted to buy some rum at a local store to have in our room instead of purchasing drinks from the restaurant - it saved us money. The staff was always friendly. Our room was cleaned daily. Our AC broke the first night, and was fixed a couple of days later. Luckily the weather was so wonderful that we were fine without it for a couple of days. Make sure to close all the windows (there's one in the bathroom), or you'll have a bug party when you get back to your room. There is only wi-fi in the common area of the hotel, so it's great for disconnecting. Although Takamaka beach is lovely, there is also Baie Lazare about 15-20 minutes walking distance which is another amazing beach if you want a change of scenery. There's a little restaurant right across the street from Baie Lazare which has some great food, and great prices! If you want to get around much more than that, you will need a car!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanBatisteH, Owner at Chez Batista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2018
Google Translation

Thank you Laura for your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Chez Batista is different from the expensive resorts of Seychelles. When mentioned rustic, it is rustic. This is something normal on islands and we also have them in Mauritius.

- My room: It was a superior room. There was stains on the bed sheet (including blood stain). The curtain does not fully closed because it was too short. The TV location could be centered instead of having it above the door entrance (though you are not in Seychelles to watch tv) but mostly for the kids. The volume needs to pump up if you want to hear. Remember that the wall separating the room allows you to hear the other guests.
No ironing board inside the room. When requested, only the iron was provided.

- Shower: The blue tap providing the cold water was very low and when mixing with the hot water would not provide the desired temperature. It was always hot. In the end, we ended up taking shower in very low water to get the desired temperature.
The air condition system was working perfectly specially in Seychelles where it is always hot.

- Location of the superior room: The room is 30 seconds walk from the Takamaka beach. And in the morning, you can always here the crashing waves which is a pleasure to the ears.

- Cleanliness: The room is being clean everyday. The staff forgot to clean the trash bin on one day and to replenish the toilet paper rolls too. Mistake happens.

- WIFI: Available only around the restaurant and lobby. Do not expect to watch videos or download anything.

***IMPORTANT***
Make sure to close all yours windows and the one in the bathroom before leaving your room because you will end up with flying ants and roaches. But once you turn off the light, they will disappear. Remember that you are surrounded by nature, this is something normal for us. This is not the fault of Chez Batista. It is nature.

*** Chez Batista restaurant ***
Breakfast choice is the same everyday. You will have mixed fruits and cornflakes. The lady will prepare your style of eggs. (She does great job with the fried eggs). You will always have a selection of baked beans, jams/butter and you can have pancakes also. And thats all.

Lunch/Dinner: I would recommend the octopus curry which comes with rice. And you can have a selection of Creole sauce (tomato based), chilies, lentils. Those side dishes are self service.
The menu includes different curry, steak, fish fillet and pizzas.

You need to pay your bills at the bar because you cannot put it on your room. Chez Batista can be access by anyone for lunch or dinner.

Price: Expensive for the quality.

I would like to mention that i have stayed in Ephelia which is a 5 stars resort and the price was way cheaper for a curry. I would recommend to eat outside.

Location: The restaurant is located just next to the beach. While eating, you cannot enjoy the beautiful Takamaka beach. One of the most beautiful beach i've seen on Mahe island.

*** Staff ***
Some of them can improve on their customer service skills. The lady who showed us our room was teach us how to use the remote control for the tv and AC ! We took it on a funny note. I do not have much to stay about the staff because i didn't observe much.

*** Chez Batista Location ***
Takamaka is very quiet and it is the best gateaway if you want a relaxing holidays. The beach is beautiful but i would not suggest for a swim because the sea is rough. It is a great place for the sunset.

I would recommend to rent a car and drive around. This is the best way to discover the island. Remember that the road are narrow and a false move, you may end up in a very bad situation. Automatic car are the best, this will avoid you from changing gears all the time on those curvy roads.

Places i would recommend to visit:
If you turn left from the Chez Batista entrance and keep going, you will reach a beautiful beach named Anse La Gaulette. There is a nice restaurant there called La Gaulette and the food is amazing.
If you turn right, 15 mins drive, you will reach the surfers beach/restaurant. Beautiful beach and the restaurant serves delicious food too. Try the BBQ Panini.

***Overall ***
Chez Batista can be a great place to stay if they listen to what are the customers are saying here. The restaurant should vary the choices (breakfast specially) and probably the menu. Rooms needs renovation.
Having blood stain on the bed sheet is unacceptable for such price. There is a big gap between the price and the quality you are getting/expecting for.

Room tip: Superior room is enough.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jay_Ramanjooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanBatisteH, Owner at Chez Batista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Great place to come and hang out for some time. Great view, great service. Grilled fish and other seafood items.
Great to relax and take in the view. Absolutely beautiful sunset and a really nice beach. Bring your camera and take pictures of the tortoise that is located outside the restaurant.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank LBJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanBatisteH, Owner at Chez Batista Villas, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews