We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing back-country experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Engadine Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An amazing back-country experience”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We spent 4 nights at this remote lodge staying in the Moose Suite. Aptly named as there was a moose blocking the road was we drove in and every day there were moose in the meadow immediately below one of the many windows in the room . If you want peace and quiet then this isolated lodge is the perfect retreat.
The food was excellent with breakfast, packed lunch, afternoon tea and dinner all included. we really loved returning from each hike to a welcome cup of tea and selection from the cakes and savoury dips available late afternoon. With the sun shining we could sit on the outside deck and enjoy views of the meadows and mountains drinking our tea.
Chris and Shari-Lynn were the perfect hosts full of information and ideas of the best hikes and trail conditions in the area. We tried 3 of them and the only problem was that Burstall Pass was still blocked by snow near the top. Advice on how to look after ourselves on the trails and the obligatory bear spray were all provided. Our only disappointment was not seeing any bears but there was certainly some evidence of them being around.
If you happen to be there at the right time there are a number of 'Music in the Meadows' events with live performances. Talking to Chris it seems that these are very popular and not to be missed but unfortunately we left a day too soon.
All in all this will be one of our great memories from our various trips round the world. Thanks from Linda and Andy to all the great staff there. It's a long way from the UK but if we are anywhere near here in the future we will be back to see you.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    11
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
75
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

My gal pals and I spent a bonding weekend at Mt. Engadine Lodge at the end of Feb. 2011. I had been there over 8 years ago both in the summer and winter. It is a beautiful rustic lodge on it's own with nothing around it in the majestic Kananaskis. New owners have since taken over and hired a management team to run the lodge. It was great to be back! We stayed in the Whiskeyjack cabin that had 2 bedrooms. 1 queen bed and 2 twins with 1 bathroom. Basic but clean and the mountain views are incredible! All meals are included in the price and are absolutely delicious. There is a healthy selection to choose from. After breakfast, more food is put out so you can make sandwiches etc. to take with you while you are out snow shoeing or xcountry skiing. When we were there, they had just had 80cm of snow so the conditions were fantastic! After a day of snowshoeing, it is most welcome to see that afteroon tea, coffee, or hot chocolate there along with snacks. We enjoyed the hot sauna to soothe our achy muscles and then sat in the main lodge in front of the fireplace and enjoyed a glass of wine before dinner. You can bring your own bottle of wine at dinner and pay a 10.00 corkage fee which I found to be reasonable. All in all, a wonderful stay at the lodge. No phones or TV's but that is the whole idea of getting away from the busy-ness isn't it? Go in the summer as well to enjoy all of the wonderful hiking trails in the area. I believe they still can arrange heli-hiking.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0veab0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thanks for your review and I am glad your visit was fun. The snowfall this winter has been "large" and it looks like you got to experience a lot of it on your visit. Glad the food was good too. Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We had lovely stay at the Mt. Engadine Lodge, combined with two days of cross-country skiing on nearby trails. When we arrived after an afternoon of skiing, the innkeepers Chris and Shari-Lynn welcomed as warmly, whisked our bags into our room, gave us a tour of the Lodge--and served us delicious soup. There was also a wonderful afternoon tea buffet set up in the dining room.

Before dinner we enjoyed the wood-burning sauna, and relaxed in our spacious corner bedroom with beautiful mountain views. The king-sized bed was very comfortable with two down duvets (no fighting for covers at night ...), and the recently renovated bathroom had a heated floor. And thankfully, there is no TV or telephone in the room (or in the Lodge, for that matter; the Lodge uses VoiP phone, and a satellite phone in emergencies).

The dinner was served buffet-style, and it was outstanding, with different vegetables and a salad. The wine list is not long, but we found a perfect red to go with the pork tenderloin. The buffet breakfast in the morning included plenty of fresh fruit and berries, yogurt, home-made granola, and a hot course. Everything was fresh, carefully prepared, tasty. And to top it all off, the buffet table was set one more time with pack lunch ingredients (starting with home-made bread), so we would have the stamina for another ski day.

Chris is a treasure trove of information, and we had interesting discussions about local back-country skiing opportunities, wild life, weather patterns and innkeeping experience, among many other things.

Both Shari-Lynn and Chris extended warm hospitality to us--we will return!

P.S. Go to Mt. Engadine Lodge if you are looking for peace and quiet, great food, great outdoors, inspiring scenery, and excellent x-country and back country skiing, snowshoeing, or hiking in the summer. (The nearest town, Canmore, is 35 km away--so don't stay here if you want to do shopping and eat at a different restaurant every night. But with the food you get at the Lodge, you have no need to find different restaurants ...)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matter_of_fact_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your review. It looks like you had a terrific stay. And I agree with you, Chris does store a lot of information for your use. cheers Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

My husband and I traveled to Mount Engadine as part of our honeymoon. It is in the middle of nowhere... which is perfect when you are sick of overcrowded tourist attractions in Banff and Lake Louise.
We were greeted by Chris when we got there, our bags were taken to our room, and we sat down and enjoyed afternoon tea. Not long after we sat down to an incredible dinner. Every meal was excellent! It was among the best food we had on our 10 day trip.
The service was fantastic. Someone was always available to give tips on the best places to go hiking, answer questions on the area, etc.
Our room was very cozy. The bathroom looked like it was recently updated and our room had a view of the giant mudpit where the moose tend to go in the mornings and evenings. We enjoyed taking sleepy time tea up to our room and reading before bed... no need for a tv.
There is a great library that is stocked with all sorts of maps, local guides, and nature books. We also enjoyed the board games while we were there.
The only negative to our stay was that we didn't add a couple more days. I read the reviews before the trip but thought there was more to see in Banff and Lake Louise... spend more time in Canmore! Much less crowded and way better hiking trails. We saw fresh grizzly tracks, a porcupine, deer, moose, and some other fun nature while we were there.
It is a bit pricier than some of the other places we stayed, but totally worth it with all that is included. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your review. Its always hard for us to leave the Lodge too. cheers Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Chris and Shari-Lynn, along with all the staff, are incredibly gracious and and helpful hosts. The views overlooking moose meadow (yes, the moose appear regularly!) as well as the mountains across the meadow are awesome. The food was delicious - two course breakfast, buffet to pack you own picnic lunch , afternoon tea/savories, and excellent dinner. Truly a phenomenal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all the feedback we get. Cheers Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Since we live in Montana, we have travelled throught southern Alberta and BC extensively. In short, this place is a gem! We have stayed at all the Fairmont properties, but for experiencing faboulous wildlife, nature, great food, and excellent service, Mt Engadine is tops. The rooms are cozy with great views of the daily Moose parade. In short, Kananaskis is the place to really see wildlife and hike the mountain trails of SW Canada, and Mt. Engadine the perfect base.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlb1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thanks for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kailua, hi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We absolutely loved Mt Engadine. We flew there the morning after our wedding and were so happy to arrive at a beautiful, quiet, relaxing spot. Our room was beautiful- we had small balcony, a fireplace and a sitting area and were able to enjoy the view as we were on the second floor. The area is beautiful- we enjoyed hiking every day we were there. (A car is a must here, if you want to hike trails that aren't directly next to the lodge.) The food was great- we loved the breakfast, the afternoon tea and the dinners. Our favorite though was the lunch! They had home made trail mix, yummy sandwich makings, snacks, fruit, and cookies. The sandwich bread was homemade and delicious and oh, the whole grain mustard. Anyway, we loved it- we saw several moose and a number of beautiful birds. The crisp air was wonderful (we live in Hawaii, so it was a change). We enjoyed it!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbhtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKananaskis, Owner at Mount Engadine Lodge, responded to this review, 4 May 2010
Thanks for choosing Engadine for your special time. Also thanks for writing the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Engadine
16.5 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananaskis Lodge
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kananas...
#13 of 32 in Kananaskis Country
1,109 reviews
23.5 km away
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
Copperstone Resort by CLIQUE
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
1,080 reviews
27.5 km away
Falcon Crest Lodge by CLIQUE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
29.6 km away
Best Western Pocaterra Inn
28.0 km away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Engadine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Engadine Lodge

Property: Mount Engadine Lodge
Address: Mount Shark Rd, Mount Engadine, Alberta T1W 3H9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Mount Engadine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mount Engadine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Engadine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Engadine Lodge, tucked away in the pristine Spray Valley Provincial Park, is one of Kananaskis Country's best kept secrets. This unique, all-inclusive property features back-country access to world-renowned skiing, snowshoeing and hiking, with the amenities and comforts of a modern resort. Enjoy a weekend away, or stop in for afternoon tea at our licensed restaurant. Mountain views can be admired from the comfort of many rooms, in addition to our two sitting rooms with stone fireplaces, where guests are treated year-round to the sights and sounds of local wildlife. Guests can also treat themselves to a relaxing massage or trip to the sauna. All our rooms and cabins feature private bathrooms, hot showers and can accommodate single-travellers, couples, families or corporate retreats alike. For those that just can't disconnect, complimentary WiFi is available Our front desk is available 24 hours a day with complimentary luggage and ski storage, staff recommendations for the area's best outdoor attractions as well as a gift-shop. The Lodge is located just 13 minutes away from Spray Lakes Reservoir, 38km from Canmore's town-centre and 2 hours away from the Calgary International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Engadine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Engadine Lodge Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing