We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (847)
Filter reviews
847 results
Traveller rating
175
405
177
62
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
405
177
62
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallbusiness tripsea viewwalking distancethe executive loungebusiness hotelbig mallconvenient locationrestaurants and barsindustrial areaqueens bayclose to the airporteasy accesspleasant staydeluxe roombreakfast spreadgeorge town
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 847 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2018

Business trip to Penang, booked this hotel for 2 nights. Location is good for me, as I had several meeting around Bayan Lepas, and the hotel is only couple minutes walk from Queensbay Mall.

Overall is good, just that...hmm... staffs are very friendly but made some mistake during check it. Bathroom is ok but the showerhead holder is too lose and cannot hold its position. Showering water is hot enough but the pressure is low.....
Besides that, the room is good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinChew, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Jack L

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay here. We appreciate your kind review and for highlighting the hotel’s convenient location.

We have taken note of your comments over the mistake made upon check in and the bathroom shower. Your message has been conveyed to our Managers in charged for their necessary actions. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Eastin Hotel Penang soon.

Regards
Justin Chew
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018

Positives-The bed was comfortable and both soft and harder pillows were provided. Lighting system was good; you could make it dim or bright or in between. Aircon worked well, and temp and power could be adjusted to my preference.
The staff at reception, porter and dining room for breakfast and lunch were great.
Negatives-The layout of the furniture in the room is terrible. The kettle, cups, and fridge were at one corner, far away from the bathroom. The closet was far away from the suitcase stand. The closet was located near the head of the bed and the passage to it was very narrow. There was no space near the closet for the stand for the suitcase. Hence, unpacking and hanging up clothes was inconvenient.
Storage space for clothing was very limited. The closet had no doors, like those of 1-2 star hotels. There were only a few hangers. There were no drawers or shelves for clothing as the space beneath the clothes rod was occupied by an ironing board and dockets for laundry bags.
Ripoff rates for taxi – At the concierge, I requested for a taxi that uses meter, but the hotel only has an arrangement with particular individual drivers or company that refuses to abide by the meter. These are ordinary taxis, not limos, but they charge exorbitant flat rates to the city and the airport. You can see the actual meter fare but you pay the flat price. The hotel actually quotes these rates to guests when you book the taxi. The taxis are also old, dirty and the aircon does not work properly. I had a suffocating ride to the airport at 1.30 pm in the afternoon.

Room Tip: High floor, non smoking, sea view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonw_c_jun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinChew, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Jonw_c_jun13

Thank you for your feedback. Your positive ratings of the hotel is very much appreciated.

Sorry to hear that our newly refurbished room layout is not to your liking. We do have hangers and drawers available upon request if guest wish to have more space for their clothing. We would appreciate if you could kindly notify us of any inconveniences you experience in future in order for us to attend to it immediately as your satisfaction and comfort is important to us.

As for the taxi fare, we wish to inform you that all Penang taxis charge flat rate instead of using meter. You may also refer to our Concierge for an alternative arrangement. We have taken necessary steps and efforts to ensure that all taxis ordered for our guests will be checked for cleanliness and if found dirty, we will send it off and place new orders for the taxi.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment your encountered during your stay with us. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you better and looking forward to your return visit.

Regards
Justin Chew
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

First time I visit Eastin hotel Penang
Nice place
I had a breakfast and the swez brasserie restaurant
The food was Nice
And Mr Shabri one of the staf very friendly Helpful and also very profesional service
I had Enjoy My day there

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinChew, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear Joseph T

Thank you for your great review. We are delighted to read such a great review and happy to note that you had an enjoyable stay here. Your positive ratings of the hotel, our breakfast and services are very much appreciated.

It was a pleasure to have been of service to you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Eastin Hotel Penang soon.

Regards
Justin Chew
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Nice hotel with good location (5 minutes walking to the mall).
Nice rooms, breakfast with variety.
Service in the reception very weak, needs to be improved.
Poorly trained people with no adequate answers and waiting time to receive the card very long.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMagPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinChew, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Dear AnaMagPer

Thank you for rating us on Trip Advisor. Nice to hear that you had a pleasant stay here.

We sincerely apologise that our associate's service was not on par during your time with us and we assure you that it will be addressed. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in future.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you better. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Eastin Hotel Penang.

Regards
Justin Chew
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

It was surprising that this hotel offered such an extensive breakfast buffet. We only stayed there 1 night, however to date this is the only hotel that offered hot milk for coffee!
Friendly and helpful staff who re-stocked food as it ran out. It also offered a variety of vegetarian options.

Room Tip: The Duplex rooms are located on the same floor as the pool.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blisharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JustinChew, General Manager at Eastin Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Dear Blisharm

Thank you for choosing to stay with Eastin Hotel Penang and for taking the time to share your positive review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant stay here and that our standard of services is up to your expectation.

Greatly appreciate your kind comments which have already been shared with the entire team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Justin Chew
General Manager
Eastin Hotel Penang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews