We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
81
110
47
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
110
47
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convention center clean hotel buffet breakfast firm bed airport shuttle a high floor room concierge service food court queensbay mall a wonderful stay duty manager business hotel non smoking nasi lemak business trip free shuttle service george town
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 255 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We stayed in this hotel as part of group tour when attending a Christmas celebration held at the Setia Spice Arena in December 2017.

Since it was pre-booked by the church, the check-in process was fast and easy.

We got a high-floor room with an unblocked view to the Arena. The room was pretty standard but nice and clean.

The buffet breakfast was awesome. There were a lot of food selections.

The Christmas venue was just opposite the hotel, so it's very convenient for us. But, going to Georgetown, we had to rent a car and it took us around 30 minutes to get there.

There were some eateries nearby, but the ones in Georgetown are much better.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ANJ002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 13, 2018

Dear ANJ002,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us even after so many months.

It is good to know that our strategic location served your purpose, being just right across the street from the venue of your event. We appreciate your comments on cleanliness, ensuring everything is spotless is our top priority. We are very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast selection at the coffee house.

Till we meet again…. soon… Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Good bedroom with living space. Located in busy area, near airport, not close to George Town and attractions. Good views of city and mountain. 1st Day Shower, the shower floor flooded and needed repair. Improvements are suggested for more Employee Training, overall. From Buffet Servers, Restaurant Management, and up to Concierge; more Employee Training highly recommended for overall success.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmarisD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded May 13, 2018

Dear Amaris D,

Our sincerest apologies for this late reply to you. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

TeamOlive was disappointed to have read your review on your encounters during your stay with us. Be assured that the Maintenance and Housekeeping team had immediately addressed the issues highlighted.

Noted on the need for continuous training and grooming. We will look into this matter seriously.

Once again, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We hope to welcome you back with our improved services and product offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Currently staying here.

The place is located in a good place. Just one downside is theres alot of traffic light.

Nearby area has a number of restaurant (walking distance) and opposite the hotel has the SP Setia park which is build creatively beautiful/

Hotel is nice, room is comfortable. Complimentary water bottle (2 bottles) available. Breakfast is good, nothing much to wow about.

Receptionist is abit slow, wouldnt complain much as theres alot of traffic. But overall, good hotel.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcrayjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTreeHotelPen, Manager at Olive Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear John M,

We appreciate your valuable feedback and positive comments and will be looking into improving ourselves. Thank you for the perfect rating you gave and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.

Once again thank you and will look forward to your next visit with us at Olive Tree Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Its quite new,thus the room is very comfortable n clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall its a great place to stay whenever you're in penang.

Not to worry about places to eat though, theres a 24hours 'mamak' (indian-muslim) restaurant next door. Other eateries are also available within walking distace.

Not to far from Penang Airport is a bonus!

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank RoseMrza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTreeHotelPen, Manager at Olive Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear Rose A,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to receive your positive comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit to Penang and to Olive Tree Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile

Had to do a one day trip to Penang and decided to stay in Bayan Lepas area.
Olive Tree is a nice, clean and well managed hotel.
During check in, staff was quick and alert to ascertain details in check in.
Olive Tree surprises in that they are strong practitioners of green eco friendly initiatives. Overall very comfortable with a very competitive pricing.
Distance to downtown Penang and attractions of course is not the best but only 25 mins away.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank keett712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTreeHotelPen, Manager at Olive Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Dear keett712,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at OTH. Your comments on our pricing, cleanliness and staff efficiency are much appreciated. Your special mention on our green initiatives is especially encouraging and motivating.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we at OTH look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews