We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maggots in the food ”
Review of Astor Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Beach
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Mahmutlar
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at 2 am I wanted to leave straight away. None of the staff spoke English only Russian. The entertainment was in Russian too. The rooms were extremely basic and only offered single beds air con was only switched on for a few hours a day. All the food was not labelled so u had no idea what u were eating. It was all Russian food and there weren't enough bowls plates or cutlery to go around. Only once did they serve chips and the left overs were stir fried for lunch with some sort of mystery meat for lunch the next day. In fact all leftovers were reused in that way. The mystery meat was about the only meat served and was there in some form at every meal. There was only one meal option at every meal and it was always plain pasta plain rice some sort of vile boiled veg concoction and the mystery meat, soup and salad were the only other things available. On day ten I managed to persuade my daughter to try some soup and bread for the first time. She had eaten in a local cafe cos the food was vile and lo and behold she picked up bread and it had maggots on it. We obviously complained and the staff shrugged and said "it happens" I asked for the manager and was denied the request. We ate out ourselves for the rest of the holiday. The bar only offered lager, one type of wine, vodka, raki, gin, cola, sprite and orange. All were disgusting cheap ones and they only had about 30 glasses for the lager so if u for one u had to hang onto it. The bar was closed more than it was open they had no diet soft drinks and they ran out of beer every single day. They purchased a set amount of booze for the day and when it was gone it was tough. They also never filled a glass. If u were lucky it was 1/3 full. Beer was usually served in wine glasses or tiny little disposable coffee cups if they had any. I could of lived with how basic it was but this place was shocking. If they gave me a free holiday and a million pounds I wouldn't go back. There were cats and dogs wandering round everywhere and we even found a live chicken in the pool. Please don't go here. I know it's cheap but it's revolting.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

On arrival we were taken via a fire escape to our room,shower had only half a screen,balcony had one chair.asked to be moved to another room which they did. Bathroom needs a deep clean,bed sheets were not changed for six days and had to take towels to reception before they would change them.no wifi or iron in room. bar regularly runs out of spirits,wine and soft drinks. Staff do not seem to "understand "english. Food very basic. Beach is across very,very busy dual carriageway would avoid this hotel at all costs

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

After a 4 1/2 flight which landed at 0040 turkish time,we then then had a near 4 hour trip to the hotel,which was cited as a 2 hour trip.Upon arriving at nearly 530,we was greeted by a receptionist who spoke little english.He showed us to our room,which was on the top floor,right at the back of the hotel.When we got in,we noticed the electrics in the front room were hanging out,exposing live wires,we checked the back room,which looked ok,only to find the bed legs were missing,and on closer inspection,under the beds,the floor hadnt been cleaned,and we found a lid from an insulin needle under there too.We conplained,to which the receptionist said what could he do.We was moved to a different room,to which we were greeted with a pigeon coup,a chicken coup,and a dog tied to kennel all outside our room.We had issues with our air con,which was fixed after 5 times of asking.The hotel was in general very dirty,the floor was `cleaned` with a dirty mop,or a dust mop,which was never cleaned.The floor was `mopped` by someone throwing a little water on the floor,and spreading the dirt.The staff spoke very little english,and was rude.The food was plain,boring and repetitive,salad,chicken,cous cous,and some vegetable casserole dish.The breakfast was typically continental,ham,cheese,salad,etc.The hotel was full of Russians and Turks,who seemed to have priority over anyone else,from food to drink.At meal times,it was like feeding time at the zoo,with Russians just pushing to the front,when most queued up.The wifi was only available at or near reception,and was hit and miss most times.I`ve read the reviews on here,and would totally agree that this has to be 1 of the worse hotels i`ve been too,and totally put me off Turkey,and you definately get what you pay for.

Room Tip: not many good ones,maybe one at the front or round the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank terry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We booked all inclusive 1 week
Food was not for British people or even chips or toast
Bar ran out of vodka gin and Coke lemonade and Fanta which left wine and larger
Staff didn't speak good English and most was rude lol in fact the reception laughed at us when we tried to complain
Manager basically told us is was tough we spent 2 days of holiday fighting to get a transfer
Also nothing around the hotel apart from beach and few cafe had to pay £20 in taxi to alanya

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017

Tough to write a reveiw on this hotel. There are many things we experienced that were actually very poor indeed. Then you consider that you pay them next to nothing. SO let's run it down as it was for us.
BAD - food quality, variety and not enough of it. A scrum to get what was there, with other nationalities pushing in. Alcoholic drinks limited to beer, one white and one red wine, vodka, gin, raka and a pre made Sex on the Beach. These ran out sometimes and the spirits were watered. Room was very tired, fridge did not work, A/C only on a few hours per day and a few hours per night. Mould around shower, shower head on last legs, black scale/slime came out of the taps on two days of the nine we were there. If you've read past this;
OK: Staff were friendly if you were friendly to them first, and would go out of their way to help you if they liked you. Layout of the place, some rooms with excellent sea views. Animation team just about fair. Shop on site with most things you need but pricey compared to supermarkets just round the corner of course.
GOOD: Soft drink availability, pool though small was clean and nice.
So if you can put up with the BAD the price is so low (£18 per night with their version of AI) that it's an OK place to go on a tiny budget, giving you a good pool and plenty of sunshine as usual. Close to the beach (gritty).
We had meals out most of the time, nearby places are fine and fair value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Instructorborovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Not English Friendly, staff very rude when to complain at reception and Miss yang just laughed at us, ran out of all soft drinks and most importantly they ran out of vodka, beds are made out of springs, we paid all inclusive and it is not the case as half hour in to dinner and food ran out its is a complete joke!!! If you want a good holiday do not book here

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

The hotel was clean but basic however the staff ( limited English) were on top form !! The entertainment was good the food was ok especially if you were a rabbit however the people there the other English holiday makers and the crazy Russians made this holiday. I didn't pay an extortionate amount so wasn't expecting the Ritz and to be honest there were lots of bars and restaurant's relatively cheap if you wanted to eat out. The location was right on the beach front so you never had to walk far for most things. If you are looking for a Turkish version of Fawlty Towers then this is the one.
I had an awesome time and made some life long friends - like with most independent hotels perhaps an update more choice on food and drinks would be an advantage.
Your holiday is what you make of it - Id go back most definitely Thanks to all the staff you kept me entertained the whole time !!!

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room towards the front and away from the cats !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debsmumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahmutlar
3 km away
Gold Twins Suit Hotel
Gold Twins Suit Hotel
#3 of 20 in Mahmutlar
111 reviews
2.5 km away
Aktas Hotel
Aktas Hotel
#4 of 20 in Mahmutlar
55 reviews
1.3 km away
Drita Hotel
Drita Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kargicak
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Xeno Hotels Club Mare
Xeno Hotels Club Mare
#11 of 20 in Mahmutlar
70 reviews
0.3 km away
May Garden Club Hotel
May Garden Club Hotel
#7 of 20 in Mahmutlar
147 reviews
0.1 km away
Sonas Alpina Hotel
Sonas Alpina Hotel
#10 of 20 in Mahmutlar
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Beach

Address: Orenonu Mevki Cumhuriyet Mah, Mahmutlar, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Mahmutlar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mahmutlar
Price Range: C$26 - C$92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Astor Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Beach Hotel Mahmutlar
Astor Beach Turkey/Mahmutlar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing