We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
39
11
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
11
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every night meters run snow ski mountains sauna
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 52 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in the Hotel Alpenfriede for a week, organised through Crystalski. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed in for skiing. Location was perfect, high altitude so snow sure, and directly alongside a red run either down to a chairlift or all the way down to Sölden and one of the two main gondolas. The room was comfortable, if a little warm, but what made this such a great hotel were two things - the food, which was excellent, and the staff, who were exceptional in their warmth, help and professionalism.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2017

We recently returned from our third trip to Hoch Solden (our favorite place in the world to ski), each time staying in a different hotel. As there are only five hotels in Hoch Solden, I am writing this review to help those trying to decide where to stay. This family run hotel has not lost focus over the years on the importance of quality and customer service. My family are foodies, so first and foremost for us is the quality of food and service. Second is the ease of ski-in, ski-out, and third are the amenities. The other hotels we have stayed at are the We Shonnes Aussicht, and Enzien. If you like quality food, don't bother with either of these other locations. While Shonnes Aussicht has nice rooms and a nice spa area that is where the positives end there. I was told by a local that they changed there chef for the 2016/2017 ski season, and not for better. Food and service were very sub-par. On the other hand, Hotel Alpenfriede has had the same head chef for many years, and the food quality definitely reflects that. In addition to a varied and absolutely delicious menu, the service is unbelievable!!!!! From the front counter to the wait staff, everyone is friendly, outgoing, and remembers your name even with years passing between visits.

Second point on ski-in, ski out. Hotel Alpenfriede is literally ski-in, ski-out without effort on either end. Shonne Aussicht is ski-out, but not ski-in unless you tuck and bomb down the last stretch of the pist before the hotel. Anything less and you will be walking up the hill to get to the hotel. Enzian is also user friendly for ski-in and ski-out, but the food there and everything else is just average.

The rooms and amenities at Hotel Alpen Friede are very nice. They have recently upgraded their rooms which are outstanding. The outdoor terrace directly faces the pists; the bar staff are fantastic, the indoor bar and lounge area is extremely warm and comforting, and the spa area is exceptional!!! The family friendliness at this hotel definitely makes you feel welcomed, making it far superior to the nonsense you will experience at the Shonnes Aussicht.

To be fair, I have not stayed at the Sonnenhotel. Hoch Solden locals have told me that the food is very good, but ski-out does not seem to be very user friendly.

The Edelweiss does not allow dogs so it is automatically off of our list. We also have never stayed there so I cannot comment on their qualities.

If you want to stay in Hoch Solden, you only have five choices. Stay where you are made to feel welcome. Stay in a beautiful and comfortable hotel where you will be served delicious food with exceptional service. Enjoy convenient "real and literal" ski-in and ski-out, and stay where they genuinely care about their guests. Stay at the Hotel Alpenfriede. We will never stay anywhere else!

See you next year!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with the view to the pists.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2017

I asked if they just rebuilt the hotel. They said no they spend each off season updating it. This is a old hotel but you would not know it. The rooms are well thought out with spaces for all that ski gear. There are more electrical plus than most houses. The place gleamed with beautiful woods throughout. The views were amazing. The staff was helpful and most friendly. The food and the service was great And it is really ski in ski out.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room. I think all the rooms have fantastic views
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BillS554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2015

We stayed here for a 4 day ski holiday just before X-mas 2015. Location is great for a ski in and out. Without snow in front of the hotel the staff will take you to the slope by car if you want to. The panorama room we had offers a great view on the mountains, slopes and the valley, beds are good and room clean. The staff is very friendly and really makes you feel welcome. The 4 course dinner is something to look forward to at the end of the day. For us it is definately a hotel to go back to for another ski holiday!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eklaas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2015

We spent one ski-week in January this year in this pleasant hotel. The food was delicious and flavorful. The view from the hotel, also from restaurant, is amazing especially on sunny mornings. The view on ski slopes and mountains is wonderful. The service was nice and helpful. Spa is a bit tight, especially relaxation room. Criticism about our room (first floor) - the ceiling was too low. That was problem particularly in the bathtub where tall people can not upright stand. The greatest advantage of this hotel is its superb position for the skiers with ski in and ski out. Overall score is very good and I can recommend this hotel for pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Raff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews