We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Molltaler Ferienhauser(Grosskirchheim)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Guesthouse Mountain View(Grosskirchheim)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Schlosswirt(Grosskirchheim)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dollacher Dorfwirtshaus(Grosskirchheim)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Landhaus Schober(Grosskirchheim)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Post(Grosskirchheim)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Camping Zirknitzer(Grosskirchheim)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for one nightsurrounding regiondining roomwifi works finealpine villagethe kitchenbeautiful viewapartmenthillslopespropertyvalleybalconygrossglocknerhostsdinner
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2016

This is a beautiful modern hotel on the side of a mountain. The rooms are clean, modern and have balconies with great mountain views. There is a very nice and cozy restaurant in house. The restaurant staff and owner were super friendly. Free on-site parking. Great breakfast. This is that mountain chalet hotel experience you are looking for. We are looking forward to our next visit to this hotel and beautiful valley. Great value too!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drogers789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2016

Our plans to see the best of Hohe Tauern National Park took us back to Austria on our fifth trip there. We typically have great experience with the family owned hotels and inns in the Austrian countryside, but this time we feel we must acknowledge it with a great review.

We were upgraded to an apartment, but having seen other units left open, we found all the units are large, recently remodeled and tastefully furnished.

The view from the mountain top where this hotel is situated is very nice; in fact the only view we have ever had that was better was that of a mountain top hotel in Bolzano in the Dolomites region of the Italian Alps which is tough to beat. Given how high the hotel is, the view changes rapidly as clouds roll in and depending on the time of the day create dramatic and wide-ranging effect in the valley. The three pictures I have offered were all taken within a 24 hours time span, showing how the view changes dramatically.

The entire hotel features extensive wood treatment that gives this country hotel a unique charm. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was more than adequate. WiFi was good, parking plentiful and restaurant overlooking a wide valley was a terrific place to enjoy drinks and food. You will need to be patient here if you are an American, as we are, because there could be long delays between your appetizer and the next course. This is not a complaint; we know we have been conditioned badly by the tendency in the American food industry to turn tables over fast.

I must in particular acknowledge the owners, a family of father and mother and their two children who attend to this family business, Their treatment of us was warm and really in-keeping with old-fashioned, unpretentious and good-natured manners we all hope to experience in the countryside. Really for what we paid to have the two days we spent there, we would have accepted a lot less. In fact prior to picking this hotel, we had walked into about six hotels on the lower, flat side of the valley and were disappointed with what was offered to us. We went up the road on a whim just to see how the view was from the top when our GPS showed there was a hotel nearby we could go to. We were lucky and grateful.

Room Tip: Front Rooms facing the valley
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

Very nice place in the grossglockner valley.
Nice stay at the hotel, rooms are very clean and the staff very kindly ,the food is good (not much choice) but you have fix menu too. Nearby Heiligenblut ski centre (10 km)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This place get's a 10/10 from us, everything about it is to die for.
The rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished, the food is great and the views are breathtaking.
Please do yourself a favour and book into this lovely hotel.
Best place I have ever stayed in.
Chris and 2 other couples.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic and have a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRobbins186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is undoubtedly one of the best country hotels I have stayed at in Europe.

Location is simply beautiful. Grosskirchheim is a very pretty Alpine village and the property is located on the slopes of a hill, thereby affording a beautiful view of the surrounding region. We had three rooms - in different parts of the hotel, and they all seem to have a balcony with views.

The single room was a bit small, but the two other rooms, although booked as double rooms, were huge, with each room good for at least a family of four. One of the rooms had a fully equipped kitchen, living room, dining room et. al. I am not sure if this was intentional, or if that is how their double room is - nevertheless, a huge place.

There is plenty of parking. The WiFi works fine, and the hosts are friendly. The breakfast next morning was OK - nothing lavish, but hearty.

This place is 15-20 min drive from Grossglocknerstrasse - a main attraction in the area, and highly recommended.

A couple of things to watch for - the access to this place involves some very narrow streets, and it is best to call them beforehand to get proper directions. Our GPS sent us through lanes which could have been avoided (and we had a huge van), and we found out later that there was an easier road.

Restaurants shut early, and there aren't that many around.

Overall, a great place to relax and unwind, especially suited for families and couples. We loved our stay here, would definitely stay here again, and recommend the property to others. Happy to answer any questions about the property or about the region. We stayed here in mid-May 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms on first floor seem to have a balcony - nevertheless, doesn't hurt to ask them for one with balcony. The views are stunning.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapsAndStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews