We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Sagritzerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sagritzerwirt
Reviewed 8 January 2017

The Sagritzer Wirt, in Grosskirchheim, Austria, is a magic place. We stayed there in the winter. The hills, covered by snow, the geography of the place, the people and the owners of this hotel. Everything converge to a magnificent place that make us feel in a unique and special place. We have been in a two bedroom apartment, with a large living room integrated with the kitchen, well equipped, a great bathroom and cable TV and internet. They also allow you to take your pet.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2016

This is a beautiful modern hotel on the side of a mountain. The rooms are clean, modern and have balconies with great mountain views. There is a very nice and cozy restaurant in house. The restaurant staff and owner were super friendly. Free on-site parking. Great breakfast. This is that mountain chalet hotel experience you are looking for. We are looking forward to our next visit to this hotel and beautiful valley. Great value too!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drogers789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Our plans to see the best of Hohe Tauern National Park took us back to Austria on our fifth trip there. We typically have great experience with the family owned hotels and inns in the Austrian countryside, but this time we feel we must acknowledge it with a great review.

We were upgraded to an apartment, but having seen other units left open, we found all the units are large, recently remodeled and tastefully furnished.

The view from the mountain top where this hotel is situated is very nice; in fact the only view we have ever had that was better was that of a mountain top hotel in Bolzano in the Dolomites region of the Italian Alps which is tough to beat. Given how high the hotel is, the view changes rapidly as clouds roll in and depending on the time of the day create dramatic and wide-ranging effect in the valley. The three pictures I have offered were all taken within a 24 hours time span, showing how the view changes dramatically.

The entire hotel features extensive wood treatment that gives this country hotel a unique charm. Beds were comfortable and breakfast was more than adequate. WiFi was good, parking plentiful and restaurant overlooking a wide valley was a terrific place to enjoy drinks and food. You will need to be patient here if you are an American, as we are, because there could be long delays between your appetizer and the next course. This is not a complaint; we know we have been conditioned badly by the tendency in the American food industry to turn tables over fast.

I must in particular acknowledge the owners, a family of father and mother and their two children who attend to this family business, Their treatment of us was warm and really in-keeping with old-fashioned, unpretentious and good-natured manners we all hope to experience in the countryside. Really for what we paid to have the two days we spent there, we would have accepted a lot less. In fact prior to picking this hotel, we had walked into about six hotels on the lower, flat side of the valley and were disappointed with what was offered to us. We went up the road on a whim just to see how the view was from the top when our GPS showed there was a hotel nearby we could go to. We were lucky and grateful.

Room Tip: Front Rooms facing the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awayfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Very nice place in the grossglockner valley.
Nice stay at the hotel, rooms are very clean and the staff very kindly ,the food is good (not much choice) but you have fix menu too. Nearby Heiligenblut ski centre (10 km)

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Aston M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This place get's a 10/10 from us, everything about it is to die for.
The rooms are large, comfortable and well furnished, the food is great and the views are breathtaking.
Please do yourself a favour and book into this lovely hotel.
Best place I have ever stayed in.
Chris and 2 other couples.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisRobbins186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is undoubtedly one of the best country hotels I have stayed at in Europe.

Location is simply beautiful. Grosskirchheim is a very pretty Alpine village and the property is located on the slopes of a hill, thereby affording a beautiful view of the surrounding region. We had three rooms - in different parts of the hotel, and they all seem to have a balcony with views.

The single room was a bit small, but the two other rooms, although booked as double rooms, were huge, with each room good for at least a family of four. One of the rooms had a fully equipped kitchen, living room, dining room et. al. I am not sure if this was intentional, or if that is how their double room is - nevertheless, a huge place.

There is plenty of parking. The WiFi works fine, and the hosts are friendly. The breakfast next morning was OK - nothing lavish, but hearty.

This place is 15-20 min drive from Grossglocknerstrasse - a main attraction in the area, and highly recommended.

A couple of things to watch for - the access to this place involves some very narrow streets, and it is best to call them beforehand to get proper directions. Our GPS sent us through lanes which could have been avoided (and we had a huge van), and we found out later that there was an easier road.

Restaurants shut early, and there aren't that many around.

Overall, a great place to relax and unwind, especially suited for families and couples. We loved our stay here, would definitely stay here again, and recommend the property to others. Happy to answer any questions about the property or about the region. We stayed here in mid-May 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms on first floor seem to have a balcony - nevertheless, doesn't hurt to ask them for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapsAndStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

A fantastic find in a beautiful area of the alps. We received a very warm welcome to this friendly hotel. Our room was immaculate, well furnished, with a wonderful view from the balcony. The hotel is situated in a quiet village next to a small church. The owner and staff were very helpful, the breakfast was good and plentiful. There was no dinner option during our stay (low season) but some good restaurants were recommended. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy_couple1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grosskirchheim hotels
1.7 km away
Schlosswirt
Schlosswirt
#1 of 8 in Grosskirchheim
43 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#8 of 8 in Grosskirchheim
17 reviews
1.4 km away
Dollacher Dorfwirtshaus
Dollacher Dorfwirtshaus
#3 of 8 in Grosskirchheim
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Landhaus Schober
Landhaus Schober
#5 of 8 in Grosskirchheim
3 reviews
2.8 km away
No photo provided
Camping Zirknitzer
#1 of 3 in Grosskirchheim
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagritzerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagritzerwirt

Address: Sagritz 31, Grosskirchheim 9843, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Grosskirchheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Grosskirchheim
Price Range: $132 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagritzerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sagritzerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing