We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely visit”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Saint-Just-Luzac, Marennes, Charente-Maritime, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
honestsgt
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Everything you need and great pool”
Reviewed August 5, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We booked this gite as found it very difficult to find accommodation in the area. We had 3 bedrooms, though only used 2 as only 3 of us. The third only had a skylight window which may have been a problem in the heat we had whist there. The cottage itself has everything you need, dishwasher, washing machine, barbecue and the kitchen is well stocked and has all the pots, pans and knives etc you could want. The site is managed by a lovely and helpful lady - Christine - she managed to get a emergency repair done on the day in our cottage. The pool is really good and gated. It was a great temperature and good size, most of the time it was fairly empty. So why only 3 stars? Basically it’s a wear and tear thing, whilst there is everything you need most things feels a bit old and in need of a refresh, the table tennis table is for instance a slab of decaying plywood and we had to go buy balls etc to play. Personally we would also rather pay for linen and cleaning in the basic cost of the cottage even if it means an increase (I know not everyone feels the same). We paid for both but did feel slightly miffed that we paid 50 euros for an end of holiday clean yet still had to clean the bathroom on arrival as it hadn’t been done properly before we got there. Overall though, this is a good option. The layout of the site is good and the private gardens are a nice idea. With a little bit more investment it could be great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
We enjoyed seeing you have such a good time, and it was clear you really enjoyed your holiday, which is great. The bathroom - had you mentioned it somebody would have been round immediately, though we always do our utmost to make sure everything is clean. Indeed, we do our utmost to make sure everything is as good as it can be - the ping-pong table was replaced 4 or 5 days ago, for example.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freya7273
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed July 28, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Rochebonne is a beautiful, family friendly site perfect for a getaway in the sun! The grounds are well kept with plenty of blossoming flowers and the pool was a great addition to unwind and relax in the evenings or sunbathe during the day. The cottage felt very private and cosy but is also in a great location for exploring the surrounding areas, be that on a scenic bike ride ( there were some stunning sunflower fields on route) or a venture further afield by car. Lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and all the area has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionad958
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday at Domaine de Rochebonne”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We spent two weeks at the Domaine de Rochebonne mid-July 2018. Accommodation was spacious with everything we needed & individual garden area provided great privacy. We really loved the pool which was basically at the end of our path & where we spent many hours in the hot weather - quite often we were the only people there which was a real bonus! Very good value accommodation in a very beautiful part of France.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2018
Thank you for the lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sarah Catherine and the team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsheeh...
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed July 26, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
2
people found this review helpful

To sum it up we left this accommodation after 5 days of a 2 week stay . Says it all really. No doubt the owner will reply to this with their usual " its not us its you" attitude , however we know what the conditions were like and so do they.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
So sorry you did not like it most people do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

With most summer holidays spent in gites in France, I can safely say this has been one of our very best holidays, we had a wonderful stay. The gite has everything you need, the grounds and pool are superb, the setting fantastic. The separate gardens give a lovely area of privacy (and added security for our toddler) and the possibilities for the surrounding area are limitless with so much to see and do whatever your bag. Beaches are superb. Warm and accommodating welcome. We went home with so many fantastic memories. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your holiday ! Thank you for this lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipsterUk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Charming cottage, close to everything, great for families”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed here for 2 weeks in May with my husband and 2 young children and it was absolutely lovely. Beaches were not too far, the owners were very helpful as were the staff.
Only thing is that there wasn't fans in all the bedrooms as it was quite warm, but it wasn't an issue.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Yes, it was bloomin' hot that week, wasn't it ? Thanks for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dblissett
1 review
“Thoroughly family friendly”
Reviewed July 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Exactly what we had hoped for! All gites contained within the walled garden of the châteaux meant my son (2yrs) could roam freely with the other kids on site and play in the kiddie fort, the table tennis, the football, the swings and slide, all without danger as the pool is safely behind locked gates! The gite is basic and exactly as in pictures...the only negatives were very uncomfortable matresses and an oven that barely got warm enough to melt cheese. But the brick built bbq made up for oven and the gites amazing facilities and great location meant the lack of a lie in was worth it. The owners were friendly and welcoming.
The only other issue was lack od information regarding extras they charge for, linen is charged €14 per person and you have to pay €32 for the cleaning! This added €120 to the accommodation costs but still made it good value. Will definitely consider returning and would recommend to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your holiday. The mattresses - just one word to us and we'd have bought padded mattress covers (or whatever). The extras - these are all stated on the web site, the only difficulty being that the holidaylettings system does not allow me to give prices. The fact that these are payable, however, is clear. We loved meeting you and your lovely family, and thank you so much for your nice comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing