We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2015

We booked our room weeks in advance. When we got there we were told they dont guarantee a king size bed even though thats what we booked. The air/heat wall unit did not work. They had to bring us a floor model. The water pressure in the shower was next to nothing and the water would not shut off all the way off in the shower. Sheets were not changed on our bed except for the pillowcases the 3 days we were there. There were some positive things about this resort. Great view from room and a nice little spread of breakfast items in the AM. I can only say these things about cottage room 101. So glad we only booked for 3 days. Way over priced for what we got.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your recent stay with us. We run at a very High occupancy and only hope that you would contact our Front desk to address any issues you have so we can fix them as we strive to make all of the experiences here at Lime Tree Bay positive ones in order that we see you again as one of our repeat customers!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at there across the street units. We didn't know what to expect do to the reviews. Low expectations I would say what we had. But the room was much better then what we were expecting. Very clean great comfortable bed. Had a stocked kitchen for some minor cooking which was fine for us. If you don't mind some laid back vacationing this place is great. Not much around on long key but very laid back. Which we enjoy. If you are the type to mind your own business and enjoy each others company this is the place for you if you like more tourist destination stay in islandora or key west. Only complaint was coffe didn't come out till 8. But oh well was on vaca could handle that.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2015

Thank you for your review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us!!!! We certainly like to achieve the High expectation level and we have a lot more to come in the next 6 months with some new things to do in and around the resort for you to enjoy!!!!! We hope to see you back soon!!!! Call us directly to make your next reservation and get the "Repeat guest" discount!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

I was so looking forward to travel through the Keys of Florida.

Upon arrival at "Lime Tree Bay Resort" our first greeting was with disdain about our pet, the list of CAN NOTS for guest and /or guest with pets made me feel a little less than. A bad taste left in my mouth as this elderly woman rattled of her rules I felt that she was enjoying watching my smile fade. There was a rather effortless breakfast set up. Swiftly put together without any extra mile put forth.

Our room was spacious, off site but very noisy, grinding pipes rattling all night. The nearby neighbors have very loud small dogs that barked more often than one would like, and paper thin walls that conversations flowed in and out of. It made us want to go out rather than stay in and relax. (I'm grateful I bought ear plugs)

It was just kind of ho hum, not of value. Nothing exceeded any of our expectations. Just a place to rest our heads.

I would keep looking. This property has potential but the lack of enthusiasm, and a tired ground need some work.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Poshend1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment during your last stay with us. We have specific Room types that accommodate Pets so we can cater to many guests. Our "Complimentary" Continental Breakfast includes a Variety of Muffins & Danishes, Bagels & cream cheese, Specialty Coffees & Teas & Orange Juice.

We will look into the noise issues you experienced and as we have a high volume of repeat guests we hope that you come back to enjoy what those guests come back for more!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2015

You never truly know what you are getting when you book a place online. You don't know what to make of the pictures from management. Lime Tree Bay Resort is one of those great little finds that you pat yourself on the back for booking a stay with them. Reasonably priced, right on the water, quiet, great hammocks to lay in or read a book, tiki huts, groomed grounds.. We stayed in the Hemingway Building. Our room was a one bedroom suite. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever stayed in, which is a long list. We slept with the doors open to the Gulf and slept very good. The occasional semi truck could be heard, but it wasn't a bother to us. Palm trees were touching our deck, and the beautiful ocean view was refreshing. I would gladly stay with them again. I don't know what the rest of the rooms are like, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay in the Hemingway building again

Room Tip: Hemingway Building. Top floor. Great views and beds that are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Thank you for your Review and we do get a lot of great comments about our bedding here at the resort. We are glad you enjoyed our Amenities and more are to come soon! We hope to see you back with again very soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Stayed 14 days here. We wer looking for a laid-back place to do absolutely nothing. Lime Tree is clean, the staff is very attentive, and we had a wonderful experience. Circa 1960, clean with a nice kitchenette. The pool is cold but well maintained. Really not a swimming beach, but Long Key Beach is just right down the road. Had trouble with our wifi, but we were on the far end, so it was a pleasant way to have our coffee under one of the tiki huts by the office and check out e mail. There is no on sight restaurant, but bagels and muffins with juices and coffee every morning at the lobby. It's small, but if you're looking for a wonderful to relax, centrally located for sightseeing, Lime Tree Bay is a good place!

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sher237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you for your Review and we enjoyed having you stay with us at Lime Tree bay Resort! We have some new Amenities including "frills" around the property to keep our guests occupied if needed. We also have our new Restaurant coming soon so we are excited to be able to offer more to our guests. Of course we will still have the same serene surroundings and beautiful Sunsets that brought you here in the first place!!! See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

We stayed in the Bougainvillea suite and had an amazing week. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable and had amazing ocean views, and the grounds were idyllic. They have hammocks, tikki huts, grills, and an outdoor fireplace right on the beach. The pool was a bit chilly but the hot tub was wonderful. Absolutely no complaints. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurar1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you for your Review and you had some great photos while here at Lime Tree Bay Resort! We have some new Amenities to come very soon including our new Restaurant so we are excited to be able to offer more to our guests. Of course we will still have the same serene surroundings and beautiful Sunsets that brought you here in the first place!!! See you soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2015

It is interesting to see that this place is called the Lime Tree Bay Resort Motel.....in fact it is more like a motel than a resort. The location is just lovely. Unfortunately when we were there the weather was not real cooperative.....cold and windy ....so we did not spend a lot of time out of doors. Perhaps if we had been able to do that, we would feel more like we had been at a resort. Instead we remember the frustrations.....such as the fact that our kitchen was so meagerly supplied that we had to ask for a second spoon to eat ice cream. There were lots of kitchen cupboards, but almost nothing in them. Even with two people it would be nice to have four plates so you could put leftovers in the refrigerator.

We had planned to cook a steak for dinner on our first night.....only to discover that the barbecue grills are not gas, but grills that require charcoal. That would be OK, but the resort does not supply charcoal. And while we had a full size stove in our unit, there were no pans to use with the oven or broiler. So we went across the street and paid $8 for a small bag of charcoal and $4 for a box of matches....and we cooked our steak. A resort that advertises barbecue grills would provide fuel for those grills. A resort that advertises kitchens would have a reasonable supply of dishes and utensils and pans to make the kitchen functional.

Bed was comfortable and our room was reasonably quiet. Bathtub had no plug for the drain, so we got by with the shower. Towels were motel grade....not resort grade....but they were replaced daily, which was nice. Ice was not available after 8 PM.....we remembered that after the first night....but did without on our day of arrival.

I think we expected more for our travel dollar. This room cost more per night than we pay when we go to Hawaii......and in Hawaii we have gotten a lot more of the "little things" for our money.

The other thing that would keep us from returning to this area is the Miami Airport. While certainly not the fault of this resort, that airport was the worst we have ever experienced in terms of difficulty in getting to the rental car center....and in traffic between the airport and the resort area. It was just too much hassle to be an enjoyable trip.

Room Tip: No elevators to rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelAWeber1, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2015

Thank you for your Review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your accommodations but it was unfortunate the weather did not cooperate during your stay. The Convenience store across the street has most everything that you would need but their prices may be a dollar or so higher due to the "convenience" of the store. Other option would be to drive 10 minutes North or South to another type store. Perhaps if the weather had been better the "Lemon" could have been made into Lemonade!!! We hope you give us another shot and hopefully Mother nature will work in your favor!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Layton
18.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,409 reviews
23 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
23.2 km away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
29.6 km away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
31.5 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort

Address: U.S. 1 at Mile Marker 68.5, Layton, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key > Layton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $246 - $606 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates, a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing