We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelling Gulf front”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The hotel and grounds are in much need of repair and upkeep. One had to go to the reception area to get ice since they had no ice machine. The room was decorated nicely BUT I was afraid all 4 nights(we paid in adavance)that some animal would come in though the 1/2 inch or more gap in the entrance door when it was closed. One had to HOLD the handle for the toilet to flush. The tile in the bathroom was very damaged and sliced up. In one area they replaced two tiles with white tile compared to dark brown damaging the other tiles around it. Only one waste basket in the area. Housekeeping was good allowing only a washcloth, a hand towel and 1 bathtowel per person. The room was CLEAN. You could hear the traffic all night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grandmajungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2009

I visited Lime Tree Bay 5 years ago and fell in love with it. A very quiet resort with a wonderful pool you could lounge in and watch the sunset. The location is very close to the attractions of Marathon without the suburban feel.
But when we recently returned to the LIme Tree, it was very dissapointing. The "beach" area has so much sea grass buildup it has begin to smell ( a strong) sulfur smell. You couldn't even be out on the hammocks reading a book because the smell was so awful. My sister in law dubbed it "The Bog of Eternal Stench"
Also in the rooms the windows are very old and you can hear everything that goes on outside. And because the main road is just feet from your rooms, you could hear the traffic all night.
The sunsets are beautiful ....

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwinsGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Don't be fooled by the beautiful pictures on the web site of Lime Tree Bay Resort. The "beach" is a narrow strip of sand beside a dusty, dirt driveway/parking lot. There is no real 1/4 mile beach to walk on. The sand ends against a board which has dirty, smelly seaweed and coral on the other side. You would not walk on this and/or go in the water. The "dock" end of the area smells so bad you don't even want to walk near it. The gulf is quite low in this inlet and therefore the area is swampy and smelly. We did not see any quaint painted chairs such as in the web site picture. Instead we saw white plastic chairs both on the so-called beach and outside our room. Gray/brown plastic tables accompanied them. There are palm trees and hammocks but who wants to lie by a dusty driveway? The pool is built high up on a wooden platform--which further interrupts the grounds. The pool is a plain rectangle with ice-cold water in it. Yes, it is on the gulf but you have to look around a lot of equipment on one end to really see anything. Seeing the sunset from the hot tub would be quite difficult since this equipment is at that end of the area. Of course, being high up on a platform means there are no trees around. Basically it has zero atmosphere. We found this resort by searching for Islamorada hotels but it is actually over 15 miles from all Islamorada attractions. There is one restaurant (Little Italy) next door which is fine, but there is nothing else around for 15 miles in either direction. Unless you brought food, the kitchen is useless without making a long drive. The room we stayed in was decorated in a Mexican style with very bright colors and tile floor. The bed was horrible--lumpy, hard, and creaked loudly with any movement. The small TV often had loud static which is a continuing problem with their cable connection we were told. We could hear highway traffic even in our room at the back of the motel. We almost stayed in this motel for our entire visit. That would have been a huge mistake. It was our anniversary trip and I would have cried if this had been all there was. A wedding here....I can't even imagine such a thing. The Holiday Inn in Key Largo and the BW Hibiscus Motel in Key West (even though they are chains) have far nicer grounds, rooms, and locations for similar prices.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

We stayed two nights here on our way to Key West. The room was quiet and clean. We drove to Marathon and bought fresh fish to barbeque for dinner and had the best dinners and sunsets of our 8 day trip. The grounds were well maintained and the pool and hottub clean and refreshing. A great spot to come back too after exploring Long Key State Park.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank riverboatmanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

We stayed at Lime Tree Bay Resort for 2 nights in the Captain Herbie suite and really liked it. It has a huge 2nd story deck that is like being in a tree house. The unit was very clean and had two bathrooms which was great for 4 women (family) staying together. This is a s mall, old Florida-type resort, nothing too fancy, but has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The pool and hot tub overlook the ocean and it is very picturesque. My only regret is that we should have booked for a third night and just relaxed there a little more before heading to KW. There's no real nightlife around there but it's a good jumping off point for Islamorada and Marathon. We would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gma-3Ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We stayed at Lime Tree Bay in November and we had a really wonderful time. I was going through some of the old reviews to get some idea as to what to write and I was surprised with the bad reviews. This place is not fancy, but it is clean, priced right, has a great pool, plenty of hammocks and the staff is really friendly. We enjoyed breakfast at Little Italy and we took off driving every day to the different areas of the Keys. It is a very relaxed place, but then again, the Keys is supposed to be relaxed! I don't know what else to say other than the fact that we would stay here again and I have recommended it to friends. I will post pictures when I get them out of my camera; the place is really relaxing & low-key, which is what I wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DamianaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

great little unspoiled patch of paradise. great place to relax, hanging out in a hammock, sunning by the pool or on the beach, spent many an evening soaking in the hot tub, and if sunsets are your thing--------there is no better view in the florida keys. The management was very accomodating with amenities and very knowlegable about the area. If you are planning a relaxing vacation lime tree is the place. I stress relaxing because Long Key is a quiet small key. No nightclubs, strip malls or even grocery stores. Don't panic though these are only minutes away if you seek them. I think if Jimmy Buffett visited, he would be proud!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank awesome33467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Layton
18.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
31.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
36.6 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
31.9 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
31.5 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort

Address: U.S. 1 at Mile Marker 68.5, Layton, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key > Layton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $239 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates, a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing