We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveller rating
532
511
263
149
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
511
263
149
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsacross the streetkey westcontinental breakfasthot tubfree kayakspalm treesking bedfull kitchensea grassminute drivelounge chairsgulf sidepaddle boardsbeach areamiddle keysgrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
1,319 - 1,324 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2009

I visited Lime Tree Bay 5 years ago and fell in love with it. A very quiet resort with a wonderful pool you could lounge in and watch the sunset. The location is very close to the attractions of Marathon without the suburban feel.
But when we recently returned to the LIme Tree, it was very dissapointing. The "beach" area has so much sea grass buildup it has begin to smell ( a strong) sulfur smell. You couldn't even be out on the hammocks reading a book because the smell was so awful. My sister in law dubbed it "The Bog of Eternal Stench"
Also in the rooms the windows are very old and you can hear everything that goes on outside. And because the main road is just feet from your rooms, you could hear the traffic all night.
The sunsets are beautiful ....

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwinsGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2009

Don't be fooled by the beautiful pictures on the web site of Lime Tree Bay Resort. The "beach" is a narrow strip of sand beside a dusty, dirt driveway/parking lot. There is no real 1/4 mile beach to walk on. The sand ends against a board which has dirty, smelly seaweed and coral on the other side. You would not walk on this and/or go in the water. The "dock" end of the area smells so bad you don't even want to walk near it. The gulf is quite low in this inlet and therefore the area is swampy and smelly. We did not see any quaint painted chairs such as in the web site picture. Instead we saw white plastic chairs both on the so-called beach and outside our room. Gray/brown plastic tables accompanied them. There are palm trees and hammocks but who wants to lie by a dusty driveway? The pool is built high up on a wooden platform--which further interrupts the grounds. The pool is a plain rectangle with ice-cold water in it. Yes, it is on the gulf but you have to look around a lot of equipment on one end to really see anything. Seeing the sunset from the hot tub would be quite difficult since this equipment is at that end of the area. Of course, being high up on a platform means there are no trees around. Basically it has zero atmosphere. We found this resort by searching for Islamorada hotels but it is actually over 15 miles from all Islamorada attractions. There is one restaurant (Little Italy) next door which is fine, but there is nothing else around for 15 miles in either direction. Unless you brought food, the kitchen is useless without making a long drive. The room we stayed in was decorated in a Mexican style with very bright colors and tile floor. The bed was horrible--lumpy, hard, and creaked loudly with any movement. The small TV often had loud static which is a continuing problem with their cable connection we were told. We could hear highway traffic even in our room at the back of the motel. We almost stayed in this motel for our entire visit. That would have been a huge mistake. It was our anniversary trip and I would have cried if this had been all there was. A wedding here....I can't even imagine such a thing. The Holiday Inn in Key Largo and the BW Hibiscus Motel in Key West (even though they are chains) have far nicer grounds, rooms, and locations for similar prices.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed two nights here on our way to Key West. The room was quiet and clean. We drove to Marathon and bought fresh fish to barbeque for dinner and had the best dinners and sunsets of our 8 day trip. The grounds were well maintained and the pool and hottub clean and refreshing. A great spot to come back too after exploring Long Key State Park.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank riverboatmanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at Lime Tree Bay Resort for 2 nights in the Captain Herbie suite and really liked it. It has a huge 2nd story deck that is like being in a tree house. The unit was very clean and had two bathrooms which was great for 4 women (family) staying together. This is a s mall, old Florida-type resort, nothing too fancy, but has a fully equipped kitchen, 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The pool and hot tub overlook the ocean and it is very picturesque. My only regret is that we should have booked for a third night and just relaxed there a little more before heading to KW. There's no real nightlife around there but it's a good jumping off point for Islamorada and Marathon. We would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gma-3Ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We stayed at Lime Tree Bay in November and we had a really wonderful time. I was going through some of the old reviews to get some idea as to what to write and I was surprised with the bad reviews. This place is not fancy, but it is clean, priced right, has a great pool, plenty of hammocks and the staff is really friendly. We enjoyed breakfast at Little Italy and we took off driving every day to the different areas of the Keys. It is a very relaxed place, but then again, the Keys is supposed to be relaxed! I don't know what else to say other than the fact that we would stay here again and I have recommended it to friends. I will post pictures when I get them out of my camera; the place is really relaxing & low-key, which is what I wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DamianaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews