We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,548)
Filter reviews
1,548 results
Traveller rating
532
511
263
149
93
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
511
263
149
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbagelsacross the streetkey westcontinental breakfasthot tubfree kayakspalm treesking bedfull kitchensea grassminute drivelounge chairsgulf sidepaddle boardsbeach areamiddle keysgrounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1,548 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

This was our first time at this resort. Here are the pros and cons

PROS:
Good location (easy access north or south)
Free use of kayaks/bikes
Certain rooms recently upgraded
Grounds are nice

CONS:
first room we booked, water damage from A/C and black mold; terrible musty smell; they did relocate us after one night because we complained
Some rooms updated, but beds aren't, therefore they were uncomfortable; also note rooms in photos aren't the typical room you'll get (not sure why)
Provide breakfast at outdoor patio at neighboring restaurant; all breads or pastries; so hot and humid dry cereal all stuck together and wouldn't dispense; skip it, unless you just want coffee;
Pool wasn't clean (murky) and very warm

Better than a lot of places in the Keys and we would stay again, but definitely request an updated room. Don't expect 5-star but just a place to sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017 via mobile

They keep the place very neat and clean all the public areas are well done hammocks and Tiki Huts everywhere. Grills for barbecuing outdoor fireplaces. There seems to be an extreme focus on customer service with everyone asking you how your stay is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clayton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2017

first time here and the room pictures bare no resemblance to the room we had which was worn and tired but clean and right on the front - check in staff were a bit uninterested and gave me the room number and told me where to park car but car parking was in the next block so had to run around with the bags and find the room. the bar and restaurant outside had new owners and were only operating a short menu but the drinks were good.

Room Tip: from the photos on the web site some rooms have been done out and some have not check which you have
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

We stayed there three days in June 2017.

This is a good property - nice view of the Gulf, provides the facility for Kayaking, biking and paddle boating. Has a sitout patio and dedicated parking for each unit.

This could be a great property if only they can improve the following:

1. The customer service leaves much to be desired. For such a nice property, the front office staff treats you like a patient in a Government hospital. The coffee in the room is terrible. They will charge you $25 for each missing towel.

2. The breakfast is pathetic. 8AM to 10AM right on the nose. They offer cereal but NO milk. yeah. It will be nice to crunch your cereal as a munchie and pour some coffee over it. For someone who is willing to pay $300 a night, they can buy a breakfast for $10 to 15 a head. Just stop serving complementary crap.

3. The pool water is burning hot even in the summer.

Finally there are no nearby restaurants other than the Florida Bay and Grill which serves the complementary pathetic breakfast.

It is a pity that such a resort with great potential deserves such a review because of staff attitude and owner attitude to nickel and diming the guests.

Room Tip: great water views. Room does not cool well in the summer because of the AC position
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yagneshwara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

We spent three nights here in June 2017. Had driven by this place dozens of times and finally decided to try it. Check in was easy but not overly friendly. We were assigned to a king room closest to US 1 (about 30 feet to the road) and after walking in and hearing all the road noise easily from inside we asked to move. We moved to the next building over in Room 138 which did not have a kitchenette or private balcony but was VERY quiet. I asked if the rates were the same and they said they were but I know the cost of the room we moved to was less than the one I booked - not good service there. The property was full so I guess they felt no need to refund anything. But we had a room we liked and we moved on. The grounds are very nice and well kept. Loads of hammocks, chairs, tables for sitting outside and enjoying the nice view of the bay. They also have a nice dock that goes out 100 feet or so and is great for watching the sunset. The pool is also nice but not very large. The water temp was about 86 degrees and it was like bath water.

The hotel will provide you with a small bag of ice every day but there is no ice maker on the property so go buy some if you have big coolers. The free breakfast in the morning is at the Florida Boy restaurant just next door. It is very basic and you need to get there early if you hope to have any of the boiled eggs. Otherwise it is cereals, breads, etc, No other meat or proteins. But it is free and easy. The kayaks are also included and they have about 10 of them, Very easy to go out into the bay and paddle around but they kayaks can only be used until 5pm, making sunset paddles not an option.

Overall we were pleased with this hotel but a few changes could make it much nicer than it is. If you do want to book this check with booking.com or other internet booking sites. Their rates were much lower than the $189/night we paid. Our neighbors in the room next door to us booked their room through booking.com and saved a bunch.

Room Tip: Get a room away from US 1, rooms 130-138 are good options.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews