We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stay But Well Worth It!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Although we only stayed one night, it was worth it. Our room was on the bottom level facing the bay in the main resort part (apparently the buildings across the Overseas Highway on the canal side are part of the resort too). You can tell it's an older resort, but not a terrible place to stay. They offer several different room types ranging from studios to townhomes. We did not go explore the other side, so this review is for the Bay side buildings only.

The property is pretty with a tropical vibe from the bay, tiki huts and hammocks. Based on the name, I was expecting a larger 'resort', but even though it's not huge, it does offer a lot to do including fishing, snorkeling, kayaking, paddlewheels, swimming pool, outdoor grills, and lots of hammocks. The setting works well for a family-friendly vacation or a couples-only trip (if you don't mind kids being around).

There is a sandy beach for sunning and such, but if you want to swim in the bay, the rocks on the shoreline can make entering the water difficult. Around the pier, it looked like there was easier/softer access. Also, wear water shoes! The pool was clean, but HOT.

Our room was nice and clean with a small kitchenette that included a stove, fridge and microwave. It was a comfy and well-kept room, although a bit tired looking. We had absolutely amazing views of the bay and the sunset right from the porch in front of our room!

The resort is located in the small and sleepy town of Layton, which is about an hour and a half drive from Key West. Seven Mile Bridge is about 30 minutes, and Key Largo around 45-minutes. However, there is not much to do as far as nightlife. The isolated locale is definitely serene and relaxed, so if you are looking for tons to do, you may want to consider another Key. There is a mini mat and grocery within walking distance, and The Little Italy restaurant (pls note that there was a remodel planned for after we left, so I've no clue if the restaurant is still Italian food or what) on the property. It was pretty good for dinner, but the complimentary breakfast left a bit to be desired.

My biggest complaint was a horrible smell that reminded me of rotten eggs either coming from the bay or what looked like an area to catch high waters that had sitting water in it. Yuckl! Apparently, this smell can be a natural occurrence, but it was bad.

Room Tip: Don't go by the pics on the website, not all rooms look like that. Opt for a room on the top lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlainaBullock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

This was our first time at this resort. Here are the pros and cons

PROS:
Good location (easy access north or south)
Free use of kayaks/bikes
Certain rooms recently upgraded
Grounds are nice

CONS:
first room we booked, water damage from A/C and black mold; terrible musty smell; they did relocate us after one night because we complained
Some rooms updated, but beds aren't, therefore they were uncomfortable; also note rooms in photos aren't the typical room you'll get (not sure why)
Provide breakfast at outdoor patio at neighboring restaurant; all breads or pastries; so hot and humid dry cereal all stuck together and wouldn't dispense; skip it, unless you just want coffee;
Pool wasn't clean (murky) and very warm

Better than a lot of places in the Keys and we would stay again, but definitely request an updated room. Don't expect 5-star but just a place to sleep.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Timthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

They keep the place very neat and clean all the public areas are well done hammocks and Tiki Huts everywhere. Grills for barbecuing outdoor fireplaces. There seems to be an extreme focus on customer service with everyone asking you how your stay is.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clayton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

first time here and the room pictures bare no resemblance to the room we had which was worn and tired but clean and right on the front - check in staff were a bit uninterested and gave me the room number and told me where to park car but car parking was in the next block so had to run around with the bags and find the room. the bar and restaurant outside had new owners and were only operating a short menu but the drinks were good.

Room Tip: from the photos on the web site some rooms have been done out and some have not check which you have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CassWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We stayed there three days in June 2017.

This is a good property - nice view of the Gulf, provides the facility for Kayaking, biking and paddle boating. Has a sitout patio and dedicated parking for each unit.

This could be a great property if only they can improve the following:

1. The customer service leaves much to be desired. For such a nice property, the front office staff treats you like a patient in a Government hospital. The coffee in the room is terrible. They will charge you $25 for each missing towel.

2. The breakfast is pathetic. 8AM to 10AM right on the nose. They offer cereal but NO milk. yeah. It will be nice to crunch your cereal as a munchie and pour some coffee over it. For someone who is willing to pay $300 a night, they can buy a breakfast for $10 to 15 a head. Just stop serving complementary crap.

3. The pool water is burning hot even in the summer.

Finally there are no nearby restaurants other than the Florida Bay and Grill which serves the complementary pathetic breakfast.

It is a pity that such a resort with great potential deserves such a review because of staff attitude and owner attitude to nickel and diming the guests.

Room Tip: great water views. Room does not cool well in the summer because of the AC position
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Yagneshwara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We spent three nights here in June 2017. Had driven by this place dozens of times and finally decided to try it. Check in was easy but not overly friendly. We were assigned to a king room closest to US 1 (about 30 feet to the road) and after walking in and hearing all the road noise easily from inside we asked to move. We moved to the next building over in Room 138 which did not have a kitchenette or private balcony but was VERY quiet. I asked if the rates were the same and they said they were but I know the cost of the room we moved to was less than the one I booked - not good service there. The property was full so I guess they felt no need to refund anything. But we had a room we liked and we moved on. The grounds are very nice and well kept. Loads of hammocks, chairs, tables for sitting outside and enjoying the nice view of the bay. They also have a nice dock that goes out 100 feet or so and is great for watching the sunset. The pool is also nice but not very large. The water temp was about 86 degrees and it was like bath water.

The hotel will provide you with a small bag of ice every day but there is no ice maker on the property so go buy some if you have big coolers. The free breakfast in the morning is at the Florida Boy restaurant just next door. It is very basic and you need to get there early if you hope to have any of the boiled eggs. Otherwise it is cereals, breads, etc, No other meat or proteins. But it is free and easy. The kayaks are also included and they have about 10 of them, Very easy to go out into the bay and paddle around but they kayaks can only be used until 5pm, making sunset paddles not an option.

Overall we were pleased with this hotel but a few changes could make it much nicer than it is. If you do want to book this check with booking.com or other internet booking sites. Their rates were much lower than the $189/night we paid. Our neighbors in the room next door to us booked their room through booking.com and saved a bunch.

Room Tip: Get a room away from US 1, rooms 130-138 are good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IslandBoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel for a weekend getaway where you can rest in one of the many hammocks overlooking the ocean that they have, swim in the ocean or pool and/or rest in your cozy comfortable room. Enjoy free breakfast, fishing on the pier, go canoeing or just sunbathe in their comfortable chairs.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Layton
18.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,387 reviews
31.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
36.6 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
31.9 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
31.5 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort

Address: U.S. 1 at Mile Marker 68.5, Layton, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key > Layton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $239 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates, a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing