We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Calling the property Sunday morning for arrival the same day. McKensie cheerfully answered the phone and reserved a lovely King seize room on the upper floor. The room was nicely equipped with fridge and coffee maker. Poster bed and a large paddle fan were lovely. The property is kept beautifully with pools, hammocks and
lounges. There is a restaurant and bar next door and an ample breakfast was served in this location. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: all rooms have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We truly love what we do here at Lime Tree Bay Resort, Mackenzie is a great reflection of our happy family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

We took a last minute trip to Key West and couldn't locate a reasonable place to stay so took a chance on coming back up to Islamorada to spent the night.
Waterfront location with beautifully kept grounds - continental breakfast surprisingly good - and most of all peace and relaxation. Pool on site.
Complimentary paddleboards and kayaks as well as access to multiple activities.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gmlibetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for your glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We are repeat customers to this beautiful property! Old Florida style - grounds are beautifully maintained - clean rooms - lots of activities included (kayaks, paddle board, paddle boat, bicycles, pool). Bring fishing rods....you can fish from the docks, and clean your catch at the cleaning station.

Continental breakfast is included, but I always cook a loaded breakfast in the room so we can eat while looking at the water views!

Kitchens are stocked with everything you'll need (stove, fridge, pots and pans, dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dishwashing liquid, paper towels, etc.)

Lots of different room options for you to choose from depending on your budget.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yardie-in-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Keep coming back! Thank you for sharing your special spot! It is a Keys favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Peaceful and relaxing. Exactly what we were looking for on the way down the Keys. It was quiet and friendly. The bed and room were very comfortable. I gave it 4 stars because the pool was out of order and we weren't told or offered a discount. They gave us a coupon for a free drink at the bar next door which was a nice place to get a drink. All in all it was a great stay. Rocking chairs on the front porch outside of the room offered a perfect spot for morning coffee with a view!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KWConch74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We apologize for the pool inconvenience but do offer two pools and make sure both are never serviced at the same time. Come and visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We planned a few days in the Keys. This place looked good on the internet. Unfortunately the rooms were spartan and musty. Not even anyplace to put the suitcases or toothbrush. Needs a lot of maintenance and clean up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Dick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Never sold or advertised a room for $70.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

This place was perfect for our family with two boys of 9 and 5. We stayed in a studio on ground level and enjoyed the fact that the kids could safely go play right outside. The place offers free kayaking and is a great place for that. You can easily reach several bays with lots of sea creatures to be seen. We spotted several manta rays, barracudas and a nurse shark all in a short trip. Snorkelling right off the property was also good.
Beds were somewhat soft for my taste. Did not feel bothered by traffic noise.
The kitchenette had enough for basic cooking but the restaurant on the property was also good and offered takeaway. Breakfast was fine with bagels, English muffins, various cereals and coffee.
Location is a matter of taste. We found it perfectly situated for excursions to the turtle hospital (highly recommended), sombrero beach and the dolphin centre. If you plan to go on trips further south you may find the drives a bit long though.
There is a convenience store a two minute walk away.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sjoensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

So happy that your family enjoyed the vacation! Can't wait to host you all again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This place is a cozy little place to stay with nice accommodations and nice basic amenities. I'm not sure what constitutes a "resort"- if this is one, it would be more aptly named a "mini resort." The property has a nice little beach area with hammocks, a dock and a number of kayaks guests can use. There is also a pool and about ten bicycles available to guests.

The rooms are small, but comfortable. Ours was on the ground floor with a walk out to a small patio and a beach view. We were on the end so our beach view was more of a half building, half beach view. If you want to be a bit more central to the beach, request a room in the middle rather than the end. Our room had a teeny refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot.

There is a restaurant on site which is where you can grab a free continental breakfast. The coffee was hot (which is the most important thing to me) and they had a few breakfast items. The one thing I tried - a danish - was stale. We went out to breakfast. We had an early dinner one night at the restaurant and the fish dip was great as was the wedge steak salad. The place also has nightly live music which was a great treat.

Lime Tree is an easy drive from Islamorada and Marathon. We did take the bikes out for a spin although the only place close by is the Long Key State Park which has a nice nature trail with hundreds of cool little crabs that are fun to watch.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for the kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Layton
18.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,389 reviews
31.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
36.6 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
31.9 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
31.5 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort

Address: U.S. 1 at Mile Marker 68.5, Layton, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key > Layton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $242 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates, a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing