We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Located right off Hwy 1 so you'll drive right past it on the way to the Southern Keys. Grounds and pool are very nice with plenty of tiki umbrellas, seating, hammocks etc. Pool is clean, plenty of seating and has a cooling filter so the water is cool/cold. Free kayaks to use on Florida Bay. Stunning sunsets right from the room (all rooms are facing the water) or view from the hotel's beach area or pier where you can dock a boat.

King suite was clean and bed was comfortable. Full kitchen (no dish soap) they said that housekeeping cleaned the dishes but when you cook more than one meal, you need to wash dishes. Bathroom is small but the shower pressure was good.

We loved our stay here and wished we would have booked 2 nights.

Room Tip: First floor has a patio. Second floor is a balcony/walkway. All rooms face the water for beautiful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thanks Patti!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

My husband and I stayed there for a few days in September of last year. I was very disappointed in our stay. The beach area was very small and the smell from the rotting vegetation made it unpleasant even sitting near the water! The onsite restaurant had horrible service. We waited for a half an hour just to get a drink and there were only 2 couples besides us who were seated! The room was very small and did not even have a table to set anything on. They tried to do some updating but it was still an old resort. The pool was very small and you had to climb up several stairs to get to it. Not designed for an older person. There was a dock you could walk out on, but again you had to get passed the smell of the rotting vegetation. Just not the best experience.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The best part about our stay was the magnificent water and sunset views from our room and balcony. That was exceptional ! We stayed in a deluxe king with kitchenette, the kitchenette only minimally equipped. The bed was a plus, plush and comfortable. We were surprised at the lack of adequate comfortable seating with only one comfortable chair to sit in or watch TV. Maybe some of the other rooms are better appointed. The grounds are nicely kept , very tropical with hammocks, and tiki huts. We did take advantage of the free kayaks.


The issue that came up was that no one came to clean our room. I spoke with the front desk person who told us it would be done after 3pm. I eventually had to go to the office again to get fresh towels around 5 oclock. Maybe it was just an oversight. The continental breakfast was something you would find at a discount motel chain.
5 stars for great sunset and water views. 3 for service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

We apologize for the misunderstanding. Please come stay again and enjoy a 10% repeat discount and let us show you how wonderful our Resort really is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

The property is beautiful with lots of gorgeous trees and plenty of hammocks to relax in near the water. We were only there for one night so didn't get to enjoy the free bikes or kayaks. The room was clean but we had very large ants (I think oak ants) that were coming in under the door. We checked in late so the office was closed. We killed the ones we saw and shoved a towel under the door. This was a mini vaca for my husband and I and we stayed at 4 different resorts along the Keys. We would go back to this resort but not sure we would pay their Friday/Saturday rates again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cpbchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you for helping spread the word about our wonderful resort! Our apologies about the uninvited ants. We do preventative pest control on daily basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Calling the property Sunday morning for arrival the same day. McKensie cheerfully answered the phone and reserved a lovely King seize room on the upper floor. The room was nicely equipped with fridge and coffee maker. Poster bed and a large paddle fan were lovely. The property is kept beautifully with pools, hammocks and
lounges. There is a restaurant and bar next door and an ample breakfast was served in this location. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: all rooms have water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2muchfun4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Thank you so much for all of your kind words. We truly love what we do here at Lime Tree Bay Resort, Mackenzie is a great reflection of our happy family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We took a last minute trip to Key West and couldn't locate a reasonable place to stay so took a chance on coming back up to Islamorada to spent the night.
Waterfront location with beautifully kept grounds - continental breakfast surprisingly good - and most of all peace and relaxation. Pool on site.
Complimentary paddleboards and kayaks as well as access to multiple activities.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gmlibetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

It was a pleasure hosting you! Thank you for your glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We are repeat customers to this beautiful property! Old Florida style - grounds are beautifully maintained - clean rooms - lots of activities included (kayaks, paddle board, paddle boat, bicycles, pool). Bring fishing rods....you can fish from the docks, and clean your catch at the cleaning station.

Continental breakfast is included, but I always cook a loaded breakfast in the room so we can eat while looking at the water views!

Kitchens are stocked with everything you'll need (stove, fridge, pots and pans, dishes, silverware, cooking utensils, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, dishwashing liquid, paper towels, etc.)

Lots of different room options for you to choose from depending on your budget.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Yardie-in-Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelbi4Lime, General Manager at Lime Tree Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Keep coming back! Thank you for sharing your special spot! It is a Keys favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Layton
18.3 km away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,389 reviews
31.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
36.6 km away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 km away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
31.9 km away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
31.5 km away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Bay Resort

Address: U.S. 1 at Mile Marker 68.5, Layton, Long Key, FL 33001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key > Layton
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Layton
Price Range: $238 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lime Tree Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Keys, 1/2 way from Miami to Key West....Comfortable, reasonable rates, a great place to relax and enjoy spectacular sunsets. We are quiet and peaceful. Mini suites with kitchens, large suites with 2 bedrooms and basic standard hotel rooms. Most with a water view. Free parking, free wi-fi and complimentary continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lime Tree Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime Tree Bay Hotel Long Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing