We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2 night stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Manor House Donaghadee B&B
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manor House Donaghadee B&B
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Manor House Donaghadee B&B
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Donaghadee, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
jane53Eng...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked this as my friend had seen it on Sawdays and thought it would be an unusual place to stay.
It is someone’s home, and is stuffed to the rafters with an enormous collection of antiques, Persian rugs and even a zebra skin rug on the Hall floor.
Our bedroom was enormous with an ensuite bathroom with claw foot roll top bath with hand held shower.
We were looked after by Naima the manager who produced a lovely breakfast both mornings.
Good location for the harbour and the many restaurants nearby.
Our only small gripe was our rooms were not made up during our stay.
If you like the minimalist look this is not the place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2018
It was lovely to have you and I'm very glad you enjoyed staying at the Manor House .
Hope to see you again .
Naima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gloomy and run down”
Reviewed June 14, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A depressing night's stay in a gloomy room full of black and white etchings (all of them askew!) and lacking charm. With the outside temperature in the 20s, we were surprised to find the central heating on full blast. We couldn't open the windows to let in some air as they were stuck down by layers of paint. They also hadn't been cleaned for years.
Elderly visitors please note that there are plenty of stairs and most rooms do not appear to have a stand up shower.
On a positive note - an excellent breakfast.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Sy...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“History, comfort and hospitality; all rolled into one”
Reviewed June 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Manor House in Donaghadee is a special place because of its history, décor and location. It was a pleasure to stay here and we were given wonderful hospitality.
Located in the midst of the town, it is within walking distance of all facilities and places of interest. Moreover, its very walls speak of the history of the town and its region.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2018
Thank you . I'm very pleased you had a beautiful stay at the Manor House .
Hope to see you sometime soon .
Kind regards
Naima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhiannon...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed April 18, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We rented the Manor House via Air B&B. A family of 5, we enjoyed all 4 of the huge bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms, 2 livings rooms a massive dining room and use of the spacious and very well appointed kitchen. The manager lives on site and was very welcoming and helpful, allowing us full run of the rest of the house.
Full of character, super location and a chance to live like gentry for a few days. I really couldn't recommend it highly enough for rental or B&B.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2018
Thank you Paul ! It was a pleasure to have you at the Manor house and a hope to see you again soon .
Best regards to you and all the family.
Naima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walkings...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Didn’t want to go home!”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This place is a real find. It is very similar to properties you would find in Ireland’s blue book at about half the price.

Naima, the manager, made us feel very welcome.

This was a treat for my friends 40th and what a treat it was! - for both of us.

We live in Belfast and the Manor House is like stepping back in time. We traveled 15 miles and about 200 years. The decor is incredible. The entrance hall (see photo) is something else.

We checked in.... we were taken aback by the beautiful rooms. We stayed in Copelands and Crommelin. We had a soak in our free standing baths, got ready at our vintage dressing tables and after dinner at pier 36 we relaxed in the back sitting room with the fire lit and our feet up the chimney.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2017
Thank you Sarah ! it was a real pleasure to have you both .
Your friend will remember her special birthday and that was the point !!
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Naima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David L
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
“Best in D'dee”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic accommodation in a huge period Manor House. No lack of space. Dine at a twenty foot mahogany breakfast table with attentative service. Close to everything in Donaghadee, particularly Grace Neil's bar and restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2017
Thank you David and Helen . It was a pleasure to have the most charming guests possible .
Looking forward to have you at the Manor House next time you come to Donaghadee.
Naima
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FongPing
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We will be spreading the word.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
3
people found this review helpful

What a pleasure it was to be allowed to experience this beautiful Manor House with many of its original features, a welcome change to the purpose built hotels we usually frequent around the world.

Crisp white sheets, delicious breakfast, spotlessly clean and friendly hosts who could not have made us more welcome.

Spoilt for choice with what to do in the area, we ended up doing it all. Mount Stewart, one of the best National Trust properties we have visited, Castle Ward another gem in their portfolio, seals at Murlough Bay, ice cream at Strangford, a delightful ferry crossing, the north coast with a detour to the Giants Causeway and last but not least, a tour bus around Belfast, including the Titanic exhibition - brilliant.

If you're a Game of Thrones fan then you will not be disappointed. Multiple references in this part of the world to many of the scenes.

We are considering a return visit to host a long overdue family reunion. The charming surroundings will offer us different "breakout" areas to catch up and even enjoy dinner, supplied by a local caterer.

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home and its history with us. We saw the charming village of Donaghadee in a totally new light.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Thank you for choosing the Manor House for your stay in Donaghadee .
It was a real pleasure to have you and chat to you and I hope I will see you back soon . As you know, you can contact me anytime if you need to talk to me , only happy to help .
Best Regards
Naima
Manager Manor House B&B Donaghadee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing