We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Magma58
Derbyshire, United Kingdom

Great little hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 20, 2020via mobile
We were initially disappointed with hotel la Spiaggia, but the longer the stayed the more we appreciated it. On arrival the receptionist seemed reluctant to engage with us, and aside from giving us a key did not provide any information as to the facilities or breakfast etc. The room felt very like a standard ‘premier inn’ type. However from then on the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful: asking us about dinner plans and organising restaurant bookings for us. The room was indeed functional rather than luxurious, but was kept spotless and had all of the usual facilities. For the price we paid we couldn’t ask for more. We would definitely stay again
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$118
    0.3 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    C$161
    • eDreams
      C$161
    0.3 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    C$174
    • Agoda.com
      C$174
    0.2 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Beachfront
    C$123
    C$118
    Fully refundable
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      C$121
    • Agoda.com
      C$123
    • ZenHotels.com
      C$118
    0.4 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Facade/entrance
    C$161
    • Agoda.com
      C$161
    0.2 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    C$148
    No prepayment needed
    • Agoda.com
      C$147
    • Vio.com
      C$147
    • eDreams
      C$148
    1.1 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free Wifi
    C$107
    • Agoda.com
      C$107
    • Vio.com
      C$107
    • eDreams
      C$107
    0.6 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free Wifi
    Beachfront
    C$158
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      C$158
    1.0 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    C$266
    No prepayment needed
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Vio.com
      C$265
    1.9 km from Hotel La Spiaggia
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in Torre Lapillo
    Reviews (264)
    Filter reviews
    264 results
    Traveller rating
    180
    67
    11
    3
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    180
    67
    11
    3
    3
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 264 reviews
    Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

    The Hotel is modern and beautifully positioned right on the beachfront overlooking the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea.

    The outside seating area on the edge of the beach is where we sat every morning to enjoy the stunning breakfast and the ricotta cheese with honey was one of our favourites.

    Our room with panoramic sea views was spotlessly clean and a great size for the four of us with everything we needed including a crib and bottle warmer for our baby.

    We can’t thank the staff and hotel manager enough for their service and kindness they showed to us but more so our small children who adored them and was sad when it was eventually time to go.

    We would love to come back soon

    Date of stay: May 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    2  Thank DWGGCWPW
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 23, 2018

    Stayed here first week in September and it was perfect in every way. We were greeted by Caterina who brought us a delicious iced coffee with almond flavour (a local speciality) together with fresh figs. Very welcome after a long journey from Rome. We were then taken to our beautiful room with sea view and balcony. Bed was very comfortable.

    Delicious breakfasts with lots of fresh fruit. Excellent coffee and they always remembered how we liked our coffee. The delightful smiley waitresses would sometimes write in the froth of both cups “Good Morning” or “Have a Nice Day”. Good simple lunches on offer. Beach was superb. Clean and kept neat and tidy by the wonderful Roberto who worked from 7am to 7pm every day making sure that everyone was safe and happy.

    Good restaurants close by in Torre Lapilloa namely “Gusto”, “Solaris” and “Mare Fritta” which is on a rocky outlet right by the sea. A special mention to “Il Cardo” a masseria inland about 10/15 mins taxi ride from hotel. Excellent!

    The hotel is spotlessly clean and everyone is very helpful and friendly. Not much English spoken apart from Caterina, the owner, and her colleague on reception but that’s how it should be and allows us the opportunity to practice Italian!

    It is a sandy beach but the the sea bed near the hotel is a little treacherous as there are large irregular shaped rocks in the sea. Although my husband was wearing plastic swimming shoes, he still fell over a few times and found it difficult to regain his balance. A nearby swimmer rushed over to help him and the ever attentive Roberto, the lifeguard, was very quick to take his boat out to my husband and bring him back to shore. Everyone was very kind, helpful and attentive. It was a nasty shock for my husband and from then on we chose to walk further up the bay to swim by the public beach which had a flatter, sandy sea bed. However, this was our particular problem. As far as I could see, most people were happy to snorkel and swim in the sea by the hotel and it would not deter us from staying here again as it is certainly a little gem of an hotel.

    Date of stay: September 2018
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    2  Thank maudesjp
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

    We had an excellent stay at La Spiaggia. The hotel is in a perfect spot right on the beach at Torre Lapillo. We were on the first floor. The room was large and had an excellent balcony overlooking the beach and the bay. The room was cleaned well and fresh towels were provided.
    Breakfast was very good. There was ham, cheeses and fruit. They also supplied me with glutem free toast, crackers and cake which was excellent.
    You order your lunch at breakfast. There aren't many choices but the quality is good.
    The staff are excellent in every way. They are happy and friendly amd can't do enough for you. They remembered our names and what drinks we liked at breakfast. They go above and beyond their job remit. Whem we couldnt get a taxi to go on a boat trip, the manager drove us in his car!
    Although the town is quiet and there aren't many restaurants we had an excellent time at the hotel. I would recommend it highly.

    Date of stay: June 2018
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank suzieg57
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile

    Slap bang on the beach. Spotlessly clean. Delicious breakfast (particularly the ricotta with honey) and most importantly great coffee! We couldn't rate the hotel more highly.

    But I have to say the hotel staff, Katerina and Mary and all the others working at the hotel made us feel so very very welcome and couldn't have done more for us. Not only did they make the stay in the hotel so special but they made sure we went to good restaurants nearby and even drew us a map to get to the airport!

    The area surrounding the hotel is a little on the dated side, but there are some good fish restaurants and the sea directly in front of the hotel is shallow and a bit rocky but didn't stop us swimming everyday!

    Date of stay: August 2015
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Rebecca S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed January 7, 2015

    We were here for 1 week in August as a friend of ours got married nearby. The hotel is quite isolated and not in a very attractive area, you will need a car. We wanted seclusion as we were traveling with a newborn. This hotel was perfect for us- spacious, clean, modern, on a lovely beach and the staff were wonderful. The restaurant could have offered more as there is not a huge amount to choose from locally. The hotel is special because of the people that work there and the secluded beach it sits on.

    Room tip: Rooms on ground floor have big courtyards whereas first floor have small balconies. Make sure you do not stay in the staff quarters where they tend to put people when they are full.
    Date of stay: August 2014
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank SAMDD1982
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews