We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
148
12
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
148
12
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden safari tent minute walk fire pit kitchen area main hub small shop home wood fantastic campsite roe lovely walk bunk beds toilet and sink prior to arrival great site calor gas two nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 163 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2021 via mobile

Ruberslaw was recommended by several sets of friends and didn’t disappoint.
We stayed in the Walled Garden, a stunning setting for any camping trip.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and happy to help on the few occasions we had any questions.
Writing in May 2021, it’s worth pointing out that the Covid controls on the campsite were second to none. A lot of thought and effort had been put in providing sanatiser stations in common areas, good ventilation and online booking/site information.
We’ll definitely be back. Thanks

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank stuartbP3886PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2020

We stayed in Red Squirrel Ride safari tent for 3 nights early October and so lucky with the weather. The tent is in the woods with views of the fields and Ruberslaw hill. It is a good 15 minute walk to the tent from the hub and your kit is transported for you as included in the safari tent price. The best tips I can give is bring head torches and pack as light as possible. There are 2 gas hobs in the kitchen area so cooking in pots and pans only. There is a calor gas heater inside the tent and an open fire pit outside. It did not rain during our stay so the fire pit was blaring every night. The showers at the hub are spotless clean and lovely and warm. The staff here are so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Just booked again for next year and can’t wait!

Room tip: Red Squirrel tent is secluded and not too far away from the hub.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2020 via mobile

Having stayed previously with a large group of friends, this time was a family trip with our four-year-old.
We stayed in the Woodland Escape safari tent, nicely close to the hub but still feeling remote and isolated. It’s like having your own forest for the whole weekend, and our son loved it!
We got the odd lost camper wandering up the path so didn’t feel too alone (the other campers were all lovely with kids around our son’s age) and there’s a gate into the sheep pastures behind, which gave our boy ample chance to chat with the very friendly farmer!
After kiddie bedtime, we lit the fire and enjoyed a glass or two as night fell.
It was clearly a busy weekend at the site, but up in our tent we didn’t really notice, and the staff are, as ever, just lovely. I booked two nights and really wish I’d booked more. Ruberslaw is just the perfect place. Next time we’ll stay longer.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Axeman5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2020 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic campsite. It was busy because of so many people on staycation at the moment, but everyone still had plenty of space thanks to the terraced campsite layout and somehow the toilet/shower facilities never felt overwhelmed. The walled garden and nearby trees offers great protection from wind and also a helpful way of containing youngsters. This is one of those campsites that is stocked with everything you could need (a shop selling firewood, charcoal, food and drink, a communal microwave, kettle, freezer, etc) and that is kept impeccably clean. From the campsite you're able to take a range of walks, including straight up Ruberslaw itself. Also you can expect to enjoy seeing all kinds of farm animals and wildlife. It's well connected by road to the borders area and even Edinburgh, whilst having the tranquility of being off the beaten track. We would definitely return and perhaps even try out a safari tent. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank leeds_lifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2020

We arrived early to Ruberslaw however this was not an issue, and we were allowed to check in. When checking in, we were welcomed with open arms, and made to feel comfortable as soon as we arrived. One arrival, the lady who checked us in explained to us that it might be a windy night and even offered us one of the walled garden pitches if we changed our mind, however we decided to go for the minto view experinece in the forest.

Once checked in, we unloaded our stuff (We had booked kit assist prior to arrival) and started the walk up to our minto view pitch. The walk was about 10 minutes however I would recommend taking some walking shoes, as it is very uneven and in some parts muddy.

By the time we had reached the forest area, our stuff was being unloaded into the little caddy's they have, we went to find our pitch, which was just perfect! It was secluded from other pitches, it really did feel like we had the forest to ourselves. Once our tent was up, we went into the local town Hawick where we had a meal, and got some bits and pieces to snack on throughout the night. The drive to Hawick was only a 10-15 minute drive (traffic depending).

As it grew dark, we decided to light our fire and we did not think we had enough logs, so we rang reception to see if they had anymore we could buy, and they did! They were £7, however they even brung these to our pitch for us which was extremely kind! Although it turned out that we did not need the extra logs, it was useful to be able to get some delivered directly to our pitch. We struggled to light our fire, so back to Hawick we went, where we bought some fire lighters and lighter fluid which made such a difference, I would 100% recommend using fire lighters or lighter fluid as it was really difficult to light the fire without them.

We went to sleep once our fire was out, and it was really quiet you could hear the animals moving around the forest around you. The only issue I had with the area in which we stayed is that the path leading to our pitch was muddy and slippy which could be dangerous however this could have been solved with a better pair of shoes, and is no fault of the camps what so ever.

We just want to say thank you so much for a wonderful experience, if you are unsure if you should book this campsite, I would 100% recommed you do all the staff are welcoming, kind and friendly. The facilites are clean, and pleasent. overall we had an amazing stay, and we will be returning in the future.

Room tip: Pitch 3 on minto view, is private and seculded. No other campers in this pitch.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Abigail Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews