We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay in a unique setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior view
Covered porch Outdoor dining under the grapevine canopy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Exterior view
Covered porch
Outdoor dining under the grapevine canopy
Paved Terrace
Grassed terrace in front of the cottage
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
Open plan Kitchen/Dining
View of the Sitting room from the Kitchen
Sitting room
Sitting room
Mezzanine Bedroom
Mezzanine Bedroom
Bathroom with shower
Bathroom with shower
Wood fired oven
Wood fired oven in action
Paved terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
View from the terrace
Pussy the cat
Soriano nel Cimino - View of the Orsini Castle
Soriano nel Cimino - Medieval fountain
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Soriano nel Cimino, Province of Viterbo, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MariaLB28
Ballina, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in a unique setting”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a wonderful 7 days in this lovely cottage. The views across the valley from the terrace are amazing - it's easy to do nothing but soak it all up. We had a number of lovely meals at Ai Tre Scalini in Soriana and at L' Osteria del Viccolo in nearby Viterbo. Elisabetta is a lovely and generous host - we had everything we could want to make our stay memorable. Highly recommended - we hope to come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the ambiance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agneslest...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal place to relax and keep cool in the heat of the summer”
Reviewed September 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I stayed in the little cottage in August and I couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay if I wanted to! The weather was ideal throughout, I expected it would be too hot in the heat of the summer but I was pleasantly surprised. It was perfect, warm and sunny but also fresh and cool in the shade. I spent many days reading and relaxing on the porch of the little cottage and marvelling at the breathtaking view, overlooking the little villages of Lazio. We went on a day trip to Bomarzo, home of the famous Parco di Mostri, a park with hidden statues in the shapes of gnomes and monsters. Rome is also only an hour and a half away so we had the chance to look at the galleries and famous architecture of the capital too! During our stay we visited Rome twice as it’s really easy and cheap to get to. All in all, Soriano is the best of both worlds, you can relax and enjoy the calm of the country life but can also hop on the train and be in the heart of the cultural capital easily. The host, Elisabetta, was always smiley and welcoming and helped us with everything during our stay, she recommended us restaurants to visit and sights to see. We would like to thank her for everything and can’t wait to see her again next year!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and location”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in this delightful house in the heat of August, yet its location up in the hills was cool and comfortable. Our hosts were so friendly and welcoming, and made us feel really at home. We visited extraordinary places, such as the Etruscan tombs at Tarquinia and Cerveteri, the peaceful Lake Vico, the beautiful woods on Mount Cimino and many more. It was always lovely to come back to the terrace with its stunning views for a glass of wine and supper. Many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetplan...
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incredible. beautiful. special. one of a kind. breathtaking.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

if you are going to italy to be a part of italy this is the place for you. beautiful doesn't even describe it. it is more than sufficient for two. three would be tough and i wouldn't want to share the space with another. if you are only going for a short stay, town center is very close with good places to eat. Tre Scalini (ask for the pork dish not on the menu) or go to Due Cimini and have a shot of limoncello with Gigi. For a long stay then go to the market and cook for yourself. sit out on the patio and melt with the views. You will be welcomed and cared for. definitely a treasure. we will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for your great review, I do really look forward to your return!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay with fantastic views.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This is an unusual property with lots of character. The views from the terrace are amazing and change in mood according to the weather and time of day. It was easy to find and is located just on the edge of the lovely old town of Soriano. We could walk downhill from the property into the town in around ten to fifteen minutes and find a variety of good eating options. Our favourite was Ai Tre Scalini. Not having to drive meant we could partake of the local wines, a great bonus. The owners were so welcoming and friendly, providing extra bedding when the weather was cold and advising us on restaurants etc. We relaxed immediately. They also gave us good guidance on how to organise and make the most of our day trips into Rome . Travel to Rome was easy, a half hour drive to the station and then a 40 minute train ride. You can purchase a return ticket called a' Birg' which also allows you on and off buses and the underground once in Rome. We would advise a trip to Baita La Faggeta, a restaurant situated in the middle of a forest about fifteen minutes drive away.We also went to the medieval town Civita di Bagnoregio which we visited in the pouring rain and it was still beautiful. Don't make the mistake we made and eat in a mediocre trattoria outside the town. There are some beautiful looking places to eat in Bagnoregio, one which had a real fire blazing, very tempting to have a second meal given that we were soaking wet. Also visit the monster gardens at Bomarzo.
All in all, this charming studio cottage was a great place to stay and explore the lovely region of Lazio and Rome itself without having to stay in the madness of Rome. We thoroughly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Thank you for the great review! It has been a pleasure meeting you and I really hope to see you again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy B
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of Paradise.”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our 3 night stay at Soriano was a highlight of our trip. The cottage is beautiful and very comfortable, and the countryside, villages and gardens in this area of Lazio are very picturesque and well worth visiting, not to mention the wonderful restaurants that our attentive host recommended. But the best part of our stay here was sitting on the terrace, overlooking the view and soaking up the peace. It was so relaxing - exactly how a holiday should feel and our only regret is that we did not spend more time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace with the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review! I really enjoyed meeting you and I am looking forward to see you again soon in Australia!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
588Silvia...
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“love it”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

I love this place, as it is every thing i love about Italy. The Villa and the cottage we stayed in is on a hill overlooking a stunning valley. Soriano is in easy walking distance with a great plaza with Italian coffee and ice cream bars. It has shops with locally produced products, restaurants and in the summer concerts on the plaza. Everything you need is in Soriano but within an hour driving radius there is lots more to explore including Roma. I love that it is not overrun by tourists because it lets you experience the true untouched italiian culture. This is symbolized by the narrow streets, the italiian food and the local people. You could not wish for a better host and better location. If you are looking for a cottage with rustic but still exclusive style, lovely walks and great sights to explore, this is the place to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace and view
Liked least: to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2014
I am glad you enjoyed it and looking forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing