We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Not well marked, but enjoy

Turn at the bridge opposite the lake- it is not well marked. It helps to have good walking shoes... read more

Reviewed November 5, 2018
kathtrev101
,
San Francisco, California
A Forrest Walk

The Forrest walk is great no matter what time of the year from the green leaves of spring through... read more

Reviewed October 30, 2018
colinagmorgan
,
Huelgoat, France
Read all 521 reviews
  
Reviews (521)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveller rating
354
144
19
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
144
19
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge boulders the river well worth a visit beautiful forest fair bit walking shoes tourist office wonderful walk small children devils grotto long walk crepes small town walk takes no matter refreshing beer resistance fighters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 521 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a delightful couple of hours in this forest, locally famous for being enchanted (or haunted, depending on who you believe). We didn't see any devils or evil spirits, but we did come across a harp--with a collection of the harpist's CDs--set up in the middle of the forest, with a small blanket set up to collect money for buying a CD on the honor system (no harpist in sight). It would have been a wonderful walk even without this delightful surprise.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank JillPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Huelgoat is a pretty village with a large man made lake draining into a river that threads its way around, under and otherwise past massive granite boulders. There are plenty of routes, the best is from the village centre past the Devil's grotto. This route can be difficult for those with mobility issues. A short drive away is another parking area where the trail can be picked up again and is easier going. A great place to wander, trek or cycle.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2017

We walked through the forest to the village from the campsite at La Riviere d'Argent. The boulders are absolutely jaw droopingly huge, never seen anything quite like it. There's a nice little cafe near the village, the footpaths are generally well way marked and well used, although we found that our return route via the old mine canal petered out near its end without positive signing. You need to be reasonable fit and agile, proper boots and walking poles are a good idea, in wet conditions sensible care is essential.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Wheresmebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2017

We made a walk, like it is described in the "Rothers Wanderführer". The walk takes at least 3 hours. Impressive and really wonderful is the part from Huelgoat to the Chaos du Moulin, Grotte du Diable, Grotte Arthus etc (is a MUST!). The second part from the parking "Arquellen" to the "Rivière d'Argent and the silver mine is not worth to go. Especially the marking of the way is extremly bad. There is always the risk to go the wrong way. Sometimes the way ends in nothing.

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Joachim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful forest with ginormous rocks. Make sure you bring your walking shoes because the walk is lengthy and its uneven. We went with our 3 year old and did not take a stroller and boy im glad we did not. You cannot take it through some of the super small spots. Do visit the devils grotto(i think thats what it was called) - you get down a steeeep flight of stairs and then its gorgeous-make sure your shoes are anti-slip. We took turns without our child here. Theres a giant rock that comes on your right hand side in the water that looks like a cup amongst other boulders- GO TO IT!! You can actually get to it through the other rocks on the left and hop all the way to the cup one- it makes for some seriously fun shots! Also check out the moving rock thats perched on an elevation. Get under the curve on the right hand side and press your back against it and lift with both your hands like you are lugging something on your back- it will actually teeter totter. Awesome hike. We loved it and hope you do too!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Facekulpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews