We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$165
US$152
View deal
SAVE US$13
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$165
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-05-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreams
Booking.com
PricelineUS$152
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
46
182
200
142
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
182
200
142
79
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 649 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2019

its position on an elevated cape is beautiful, with 270° view to the ses and bay of FdF. Furthermore its lounge and the terrace to the sea are very nice and the excellent "Lili's" beach bar is a livesaver. The hotel celebrates 50th birthday and it seems that nearly nothing was renovated (see my pics): our room was foul-stinking with a heavy stained carpet, broken stained tiles in the bathroom, and stucking doors; and after to days the Aircondition broke down. The staff reacted incompetent and demotivated, we received no help on sunday, and monday the so called "technicien" just unscrewed the AC, scattered towels thereunder and left without notice. After my explicit complaints we were granted one of their "luxury rooms". The view and furniture wre very nice but even there the balustrade was rusty and the AC stained.
How can such a neglected hotel survive? In effect it's a convention center and hudreds of short staying conference people fill rooms and canteens, and knock out the wifi!

Room tip: all rooms need renovation
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank phom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel C, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Phom,

Thank you for the feedback.

We regret that your time with us wasn't perfect. While we're happy that you appreciated our prime location and the view.

I apologize for the inconvenience with Aircondition.

We strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant experience so we'll be sure to discuss your feedback with the appropriate members of our team moving forward.

We hope for the opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Elisabeth DEREPAS
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2019

Lousy service. We ordered 3 courses. we waited almost an hour for the main course. It turned out they had forgotten us....people that came after us to the restaurant got their food before us. We left hungry and just paid for the first course. EAT SOMEWHERE ELSE!

Room tip: Choose a room on higher floors. There was a fan outside that brought very much noice into the room.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank RogHil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2019

Dear RogHil69,

We appreciate your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience during the service in our restaurant.

We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you.

Best regards

Elisabeth DEREPAS
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

We were 3 couples that booked into the hotel before boarding a cruise. There is not much nice to say about this hotel. Only positive is that it has a great view and the wi-fi is work.
The rooms are large with a balcony. In the rooms everything is dirty and shabby.
Bathroom floor is dirty and the underside of the vanity top has not been cleaned this century. Rust and open holes in the tiles above the bath. The tiles in the shower and bath are so sticky you may pick-up a virus looking at it.

Toilet holder is sticking out of the wall with the plugs being exposed and the paint on the roof is pealing.
Bedroom carpet is dirty and has not been cleaned for a long time.
When you arrive the sliding door to the balcony has been closed with a “plank” to prevent it from being opened.
In short, this must be the dirtiest and most run-down hotel I have ever stayed in and it is not recommend to anyone unless this is the last place available on the island.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JacoCl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2019

Dear JacoCI,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback.
We're disappointed to hear that your experience was not successful.
The comfort and satisfaction of our guests are important to us.

However, many of our guests appraciate rooms, view, situation, services and restaurant despite obsolescence.
So, we don't think our hotel is the last place available on the island as you say.
On the other hand, it should be renovated as soon as possible.

We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Elisabeth DEREPAS
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2019 via mobile

This was probably quite the place in 1970 but it looks like it has not been updated or repaired since then. The door to our room was broken and required a forceful slam with the hip to open or close. There was an opening at the bottom where termites were eating it. The tile was heavily stained and the water pressure spotty. On the upside the AC worked well and was quite. Few of the staff spoke English and our French is spotty so communication was intermittent. I gave an extra star because of the relatively low price.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JakeCincinnati99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel C, Responsable relations clients at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Jake,

We appreciate your feedback.

We're disappointed you had such challenges with the door.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

Best regards

Elisabeth DEREPAS
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Built in 1970 and never change it sad outdated hotel, it’s keep clean but the carpet are stained and a smell of damp

It’s remote and staff are very unhelpful and service is poor

We did not eat in the hotel as I saw the kitchen looked dirty

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank keno368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel C, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel La Bateliere, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2018

Dear Keno368,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Usually our hotel is appreciate for its situation, in the center of the island, near to Fort-de-France and the airport.
You should try our restaurant because the food is very tasty. However I'm surprise when you say the kitchen looked dirty because the customers can't see it when they are in the restaurant.

Regarding the staff, I'm going to share your feedback with our team in order to prevent this from reoccurring in the future.

Sincerely

Elisabeth DEREPAS
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews