We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic value, beautiful lake view & access, HUGE rooms”
Review of Villas Ecotucan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Ecotucan
maui, hi
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“fantastic value, beautiful lake view & access, HUGE rooms”
Reviewed 30 December 2008

This place was an amazing value!!! For only $50 we had a beautiful breakfast for 3, a HUGE room with 2 double beds and huge bath (not fancy, but very clean), use of kayaks and the dock to the lake. The property is right on the lake and so enjoyable. When we were there we were lucky that there was a family from Denmark and a family from France/California so if was nice for our son to have children around. The wonderful German couple who take care of the place said it always works out that way for some reason.
They also prepare complete dinners, if you want, for just $7 and all fresh from their garden. This is a great place to stay a long time or just on your way back from traveling south. We stayed here for one night on the way back from Calakmul ruins on our return to Cancun. A peaceful place with nice gardens and birds.
The only drawback is there are no locks on the doors. However, we felt safe, nothing of ours was missing and the family from Denmark was there for a week and had no problem.
We would definitely return and stay longer. What a little secret this place is.

  • Liked — lake location, huge rooms, wonderful staff
  • Disliked — no locks on the doors
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    39
    31
    21
    11
See reviews for
38
86
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusette
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This was our third trip to Villas Ecotucan at Laguna Bacalar.
We are in our 50s, and our trips have included friends aged 20-65, so we pronounce it fun for all ages.
We go primarily for birdwatching and botanizing, but alternately swimming and sun (or shade) bathing at the laguna comes in second. Tied for second, that is, with eating Gunnar's cooking and enjoying drinks and music with the other guests, who become friends quickly regardless of nationality.
We have rented cabanas all along the coast and the ones at Villas Ecotucan are the roomiest, cleanest and most comfortable, and definitely the best priced!
Our first two visits were pre-hurricane, and we were very worried about what it would be like in the aftermath. They have done an absolutely incredible job restoring the palapas and gardens. The big trees are gone, but the jungle springs back quickly! We had all the species of birds, mammals (including howler monkey) orchids, bromeliads, trees, flowering plants as before.
While there we have had the joy of an all-day kayak trip throught he mangroves and a moonlight kayak across the laguna led Jacquie and Gunnar who are excellent guides and naturalists. This visit our 20-something kids were with us and they took advantage of the Zip-line adventure. So if you can motivate yourself away from gazing at flowers and hummingbirds to get onto the water take advantage of their tour offerings.
And did I mention Gunnar and Jacquies cooking? Amazing carribean-inspired cooking, and talk about being locovores - fruit right from the property, chickens fresh from the market - what could be better? Oh - the fresh baked bread and pizza from the outdoor oven?
We will go back again for sure.

  • Liked — Great location, hospitality, ambience
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parapajaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

My husband and I stayed at Villas Ecotoucan in mid-January in a cabin with 2 beds. Upon arrival, there was a group of about 15 people socializing at the bar. We were greeted very warmly, shown the grounds, and invited to dinner. Because it was late afternoon, we wanted to see the lake before the sun went down. It was a short walk downhill to the lake where we encountered a couple of tents pitched and people having dinner at the picnic table under the shelters. There was room for us to sit on one of the piers and enjoy the beautiful view. When we returned from the lake we were again invited to share dinner so we joined the group that was at the barbeque pit. We had delicious sausage, quesadillas, and guacamole. I was told that a party was being held for some friends who were leaving and we were invited to join in. There was music and plenty of alcohol and no one minded at all if we joined. Once it got dark we returned to our cabin and settled in to get some rest after our long day hiking and driving. Unfortunately, as it got later the music got much louder and we listened to the thumping beat until approximately 2:30am. The next morning I got up early thinking I'd have the place to myself but was amazed to find the same people who'd been partying the night before were up and working on repairs from the recent hurricane - and they looked great! This really made me feel old.

We decided to leave in the morning as we just didn't feel that Villas Ecotoucan was a good fit for us. As I've said, the owners are kind and generous and if I were younger and could still drink I'd have thought it was heaven on earth. As a 40 yr old traveler spending two weeks away from a hectic job, I was looking for something more soothing.

Our cabin was simple and very nice. The mosquito netting over our beds had quite a few holes in it. Because it was winter this was not a problem but I'd double check the condition if visiting in warmer months. The southern Yucatan was hit by a hurricane a few months before our visit and I was told that they had lost 85% of their trees. They had made incredible progress in the cleanup but I fear that it will be a long time before the trees are replaced and all the birds come back.

  • Liked — friendly owners, location by lake
  • Disliked — late night party
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank poochlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Town Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2006

We stayed at Villas Ecotucan with two children aged 4 and 8. For $50 a night one really shouldn't expect much, but the website led us to believe that there was a pool (this turned out to be an empty, weedy pit), a restaurant (we were told meals had to be ordered 24 hours in advance and were served cold cereal as our "special of the day" breakfast), and a sitting area (this was piled high with dusty equipment and furniture). The lake is a short hike downhill - it is lovely and there are kayaks and plenty of lifejackets available. Ecotucan is solar powered.

Our palapa was not dirty, but it wasn't exactly clean either. There were none of the advertised "decorations" and, while we had clean sheets, the blankets were mismatched and smelly, with a variety of holes that looked as though they were the work of rodents. Netting was strung the whole length of the ceiling - its general spottiness (due to reptile/mammal excrement of one type or another) and its gaping holes in some places (what fell out of the ceiling and through it?) should have been a clue as to the noises that would entertain us that night. For most of the night, rustling, slithering and squeaks indicated that we were not alone.

Villas Ecotucan is located in a beautiful setting and the owner (Arturo) is very, very nice. He went out of his way to bring out games for the children and was very kind to all of us. Perhaps the conditions mentioned above were due to our visit occuring during the "off" season? Overall, we would recommend Villas Ecotucan for people who are not interested in fancy accomodations and are looking for an inexpensive place near the lake. But don't trust the website .... buyer beware!

  • Liked — Kayaking on the lake; proximity to town
  • Disliked — accomodations, lack of pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Try El Senor restaurant on the square in town - good food at a good price
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bacalar hotels
6.6 km away
Villas Bakalar
Villas Bakalar
#5 of 9 in Bacalar
75 reviews
9.9 km away
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
Hotel Laguna Bacalar
#9 of 9 in Bacalar
360 reviews
29.6 km away
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
Bacalar Lagoon Resort
#2 of 40 in Bacalar
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rancho Encantado
Rancho Encantado
#1 of 9 in Bacalar
799 reviews
0.4 km away
Kuuch Kaanil Villas Eco-romanticas
1.6 km away
Ecocamping Yaxche
Ecocamping Yaxche
#13 of 40 in Bacalar
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Ecotucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Ecotucan

Property: Villas Ecotucan
Address: Carretera 307 Chetumal-Cancun km 27.3 | 5 Km Al Norte de Bacalar, Bacalar 77930, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Bacalar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bacalar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your days surrounded by nature at the shores of the beautiful Laguna Bacalar, Mexico’s second largest freshwater lake. Stay in one of ten comfortable and spacious stone cabins with thatch roofs, surrounded by tropical gardens and reminiscent of a Mayan settlement offering guests a tranquil base for relaxing with nature. Swim, kayak or sail the magnificent lagoon, explore the many nearby ruins, hike jungle trails, or just enjoy our scenic beauty, birds, and wildlife. At the end of the day, fall asleep to the comforting hum of the surrounding jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Ecotucan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing