We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa de Tacvnga(Latacunga)
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Endamo(Latacunga)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostel Sendero de Volcanes(Latacunga)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Cotopaxi(Latacunga)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostal Central(Latacunga)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Hostal Tiana(Latacunga)
US$19
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
38
40
25
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
40
25
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe looprecommend staying herea lovely stayhot showerdouble bedjuicesquaresouvenircotopaxi
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 107 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2016

A lovely old lady runs the place. It's an old hotel and nothing fancy but it's a good price and clean a safe place to leave your bags (free) for a few days while off hiking. It's a good central location and nice views of the plaza from some of the rooms!

Room Tip: You should be able to bargain a little with the lady if you are on a tight budget :)
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FQtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

My girlfriend and I ended up staying here a few nights on two separate occasions. First, we checked in from Banos and stayed the night to visit Cotopaxi Volcano. At 10USD each per night it was good value. The staff was always extremely helpful and kind. The second time we checked in after hiking the Quilatoa Loop. We had the same room each time and the bed was fine, but the bathroom was always dirty with hair. It doesn't bother me too much, but it is better to have a bathroom sans foreign hair. The shower does have hot water, scalding hot, but you must wait for it sometimes 3-4 minutes. Honestly the shower did not bother me at all, because so many places advertise hot water and don't deliver.

The rooms can be a bit noisy. On Saturday night I heard deafening electronic music, a fight outside, car horns, police sirens, an ambulance to name a few. The last night we stayed we awoke to an anti-drug rally passing by outside. If you are a light sleeper this place may not be for you.

The staff kept our big bags for us when we did the hike at no cost. Other place charge you per day. Even with the noise and hair I still would suggest this place. It has good value and the staff will help you with your questions.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lcdthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, then left our luggage at the hotel (for free) and returned for 1 more night 2 days later. The hotel was pleasant and our rooms had hot water and nice views over the square and a good breakfast was included. It was all very good value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and offering help and advice with our plans. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile

Look if you don't have to stay in Latacunga don't. It's just a city with not much to do or see. If you can make it just an exchange point do so.

The Hotel Central is OK and cheap enough but is old and tired. The rooms are a reasonable size and they have hot water in the showers, after a wait. But the bathroom has mould, particularly on the shower base and everything else looks like it's 10 years past it's use by date.

The hotel is on the main square so location is good but there aren't many restaurants etc close by.

The owner and staff are nice and happy to assist when required.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016

We were a group of 5 - stayed in the very spacious dorm room! The staff was very very every kind - one of our friends got very sick after the Quilotoa loop and they called drove him to the hospital to see a doctor...

It is a simple accommodation with hot water! Nice treat after the loop :)

Also unlike the Tiana Hostel they don't charge you for luggage storage which is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABRreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews