We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, perfect service”
Review of Hotel Central

Hotel Central
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Latacunga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Central
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here before we started the Quilotoa loop. The lady who runs the hostel is so welcoming and gave us lots of information on the Quilotoa loop and also getting to Cotopaxi (all in Spanish!). Her family work in the hostel and they couldn't do enough for us. We had a private room with private bathroom and it was absolutely fine. We had breakfast for an extra $3 the next morning but it was definitely worth it and sets you up for the day! We were able to leave our backpacks here for free whilst we went to do the loop.
Would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2016

A lovely old lady runs the place. It's an old hotel and nothing fancy but it's a good price and clean a safe place to leave your bags (free) for a few days while off hiking. It's a good central location and nice views of the plaza from some of the rooms!

Room Tip: You should be able to bargain a little with the lady if you are on a tight budget :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FQtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My girlfriend and I ended up staying here a few nights on two separate occasions. First, we checked in from Banos and stayed the night to visit Cotopaxi Volcano. At 10USD each per night it was good value. The staff was always extremely helpful and kind. The second time we checked in after hiking the Quilatoa Loop. We had the same room each time and the bed was fine, but the bathroom was always dirty with hair. It doesn't bother me too much, but it is better to have a bathroom sans foreign hair. The shower does have hot water, scalding hot, but you must wait for it sometimes 3-4 minutes. Honestly the shower did not bother me at all, because so many places advertise hot water and don't deliver.

The rooms can be a bit noisy. On Saturday night I heard deafening electronic music, a fight outside, car horns, police sirens, an ambulance to name a few. The last night we stayed we awoke to an anti-drug rally passing by outside. If you are a light sleeper this place may not be for you.

The staff kept our big bags for us when we did the hike at no cost. Other place charge you per day. Even with the noise and hair I still would suggest this place. It has good value and the staff will help you with your questions.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lcdthethird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, then left our luggage at the hotel (for free) and returned for 1 more night 2 days later. The hotel was pleasant and our rooms had hot water and nice views over the square and a good breakfast was included. It was all very good value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, always asking about our day and offering help and advice with our plans. We would definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Look if you don't have to stay in Latacunga don't. It's just a city with not much to do or see. If you can make it just an exchange point do so.

The Hotel Central is OK and cheap enough but is old and tired. The rooms are a reasonable size and they have hot water in the showers, after a wait. But the bathroom has mould, particularly on the shower base and everything else looks like it's 10 years past it's use by date.

The hotel is on the main square so location is good but there aren't many restaurants etc close by.

The owner and staff are nice and happy to assist when required.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Alek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were a group of 5 - stayed in the very spacious dorm room! The staff was very very every kind - one of our friends got very sick after the Quilotoa loop and they called drove him to the hospital to see a doctor...

It is a simple accommodation with hot water! Nice treat after the loop :)

Also unlike the Tiana Hostel they don't charge you for luggage storage which is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABRreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We had a reservation problem at Hostel Tiana. So we ended up at Hotel Central. What a happy accident!
The hostess was so kind to us - providing us with directions, a delicious breakfast for a low price, and storage for our bags during our Quilotoa trek. She patiently conversed with us in our "survival" Spanish. I wish I had her here at home so I could make progress toward fluency!
The room was comfortable and quiet with a beautiful view of the nearby church.
Conveniently located in Latacunga. Super wifi.

Room Tip: You can ask for a quiet room - we had our choice when we arrived.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nhcollfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latacunga
0.0 km away
Villa de Tacvnga
Villa de Tacvnga
#3 of 4 in Latacunga
94 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Endamo
Hotel Endamo
#1 of 4 in Latacunga
155 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
Hotel San Agustin Plaza
#4 of 4 in Latacunga
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Somagg
Hotel Somagg
#1 of 1 in La Mana
5 reviews
0.0 km away
Hostal Chimenea
Hostal Chimenea
#8 of 27 in Banos
380 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabanas Los Volcanes
Cabanas Los Volcanes
#2 of 15 in Latacunga
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central

Address: Sanchez de Orellana y Padre Salecedo, Latacunga 050150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Cotopaxi Province > Latacunga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Latacunga
Number of rooms: 309

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing