We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveller rating
475
100
34
18
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
100
34
18
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spice traders woo bar special thanks main pool kitchen table kids club asian restaurant public beach w insider rock bar spectacular room mr gautam special mention amazing property in room dining vagator beach f b
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 669 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently staid at the W Goa with my girlfriend after a week long roadtrip to the Golden Triangle (Delhi, Agra, Jaipur). This is beautiful resort where attention to detail is great and where you can easily relax after visiting the busier cities in India.

The facilities are great, clean with high a hygiene standard. The food at the restaurants is very high quality, so much that we asked for a bespoke cooking course. This was promptly arranged and it was quite an experience, Chef Jotiba B. took great care of us explaining to us many secrets behind our favourite dishes. We also got to know all the kitchen staff - all super friendly and eager to explain the basics of Indian cuisine to us.

We spent most of our days at the main pool but we absolutely recommend visiting the 'Rock Pool' around 18.00 to see the amazing sunset and the beach. It's a 3/4 minute walk away from the main lobby but you can also get driven in a buggy.

While the resort is fantastic, I must praise the staff. We felt welcome all the time, with staff knowing us by name and taking great care of us throughout our stay. Special thanks to Ops Manager Ajay, Chef Jotiba, Chef Dawa and talents Steve and Anil.

Thank you for making our stay so great!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gpnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Where do I begin. The W is peppy, well made and like other W's around the world a fun place to hang out. The rooms are well designed in the lyrical quintessential style of the W. We took a 2 bedroom villa and stayed for 4 nights. With two small kids the 2 unattached bedrooms came a bit as a surprise (particularly with no layout map on the website) but we were fine after the first day.

What you notice first at the W is the sudden arrival of a beaten down Nano with external non-uniformed drivers coming to your villa to pick you up to take you around the resort. While they do have golf carts, I don't think there are enough of them. The Nanos seem misplaced, not only do they stutter exhaust into the pristine resort but also just take away the sense of serenity from what should ideally be a pedestrian environment (sans golf carts). Despite the addition of the Nanos waiting for your ride to traverse the large resort can sometime takes 15 mins in the hot goa sun, so be prepared.

What got me the most about the property was the sudden emergence of a stray dog in our private lawn (which I paid a lot of money for) several times during our stay. Despite repeated requests to Housekeeping to fix the issue they could not do anything about it. The issue was escalated to the GM with no resolution from him either. The whole idea to get my kids be able to spend some time outdoors in the lawn, away from the delhi diwali pollution was lost.

Electric issues was the other problem in the one of the most premium hotel and its most premium villa. The power in our villa kept going on and off, the technician came to clean the key sensor and went away saying it was fixed. The problem continued through the night with the AC tripping every hour or so causing us to get up frequently. The next day after another superficial visit the problem persisted. Eventually, after the third call the team came with new wiring, spent an hour + in the room and we waited with no power for the issue to be finally resolved. It seemed either a cabling issue or some panel issue.

Over lunch one day, Manoj the manager of Rock Pool asked us our plans for the evening and invited us to join at the Rock Pool for sunset. We confirmed and he said he would reserve the table. When we reached there, with our kids, there was no table and our name was not in the guest list. While the hostess was figuring out our table we decided to go to the beach to watch the sunset and then came back after 45 mins and even then the table was not ready. This is after the manager had taken the booking himself. With hungry kids and no place to sit, we left and ordered room service.

The food at the property is excellent, particularly at Spice Traders, which we visited 3 out of the 4 nights we were there. I believe this is the magic of Tanveer Kwatra who is a remarkable chef. His handling of our situation while empathetic seemed to be bound by limitations and lack of authority and freedom from the top management.

Having studied service recovery several times in management classes, this was a great case of what not to do. The GM of the hotel was nowhere to be seen over the 5 days, he knew of all the issues and all he did was send 2 emails making hollow promises of non-repetition (which I am sure he will do as a reply to this review by saying these are not W standards and allow us to fix this etc. etc.) and made us feel very fortunate by putting my wife and I (who don't drink - the entire hotel knew that) on a "list" to join him for cocktails and canapes from 7pm - 7.30pm (yes half an hour!) on one of the nights. We ofcourse did not take him up on the offer, he ofcourse did not reach out thereafter.

I personally feel the issue in this property is at the top, when the overall management is dispassionate about the guests issue, I don't expect the others in the hotel to be. Culture flows from the top, in this case it is the lack of empathy.

Special mention to Waseem (Housekeeping), Tanveer (Hotel Manager), Ved (Bartender), Rajat (Bartender), the ladies at the kids club, Konark (Sous Chef) for making our stay enjoyable despite all the issues.

Few other points to note - there is too much chlorine in water (carry your swimming glasses), Don't miss the nihari and baked kulcha at bfast, I was hesitant at first but then had only this every morning, get a room close to the restaurant where you don't need a buggy / nano. Ideally higher floor so you can see the ocean.

Try the property once and then make up your mind on whether to go back, I am undecided. But wherever you stay, do visit for the food.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank theacompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGOA, General Manager at W Goa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi theacompany,

Thank you for taking out time to review us and share your feedback. We regret to know that your experience at W Goa was not up to the mark. We have made a note of your feedback and would like to assure you that your points would be looked into.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and restoring your confidence in W Goa.

Kind Regards,
CAJETAN ARAUJO
General Manager
W Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were absolutely great! Have been to quite a few hotels globally but this place was the best! Wonderful service, very friendly and informative staff, great rooms and amenities, beautiful location in a huge property.
We were surprised that the golf cart that assisted us was driven by the G.M., Mr. Araujo who was doing his rounds and was kind enough to take us to our rooms. Very gentlemanly and friendly. My family was thoroughly impressed. Also Mr. Avinash at the pool and Kitchen table at breakfast was truly helpful and guided us to our lunch destination.
The food at the Kitchen Table and Spice Traders was par excellence! Spice Traders is a must visit at the W, the food is absolutely delightful!
All in all a very , very, satisfying and great experience!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yathish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been there on 10 11 12 super property .. nice ambiance.. good bar .. but main bar dont have much choices in food ..they shd ad more .. n they do have saprate menu for happy hour.. which don't have much options as well ...
Some saga was there at Rock pool as it was Sunday .. too much rush ( which is understood) but at rock pool service was nt good at all... they were listening n taking order as if they r obliging ..

All over its good one...

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rujal2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best hotel Of GOA ....ambiance ..... awesome hospitality... staff ... delicious Food .... the wee kids ....good of spice Traders .... rock pool ... clean rooms ..... all of the above very helping Staffs.....great experience.....missing all delicious breakfast spl. Granola bars & idle....risotto...must stay!!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Arpana_Marothi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews