We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Amiable Staff”
Review of Grand Peterhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Peterhof
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peterhof
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Amiable Staff”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Who want to be a bit appart from rush of the St. Petersburg town - here is the right place. However you need to go by taxi or bus to Peterhof (about 15 min.).

Room Tip: Rooms are nice, beds are comfortable, the only thing is the third bed - is quite small, I cannot ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    57
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
64
73
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This was a business trip, and from that perspective, this is not a hotel thay we would recommend. If you are on a personal stay, you may want to consider this hotel, but then again, please consider the experiences noted here.

The hotel advertises free wifi access to the internet. OK, I was able to connect, but honestly, that's about all. The connect speed is slower than a dial up phone line. Even though we were there for 4 nights, and the well-intentioned staff tried to correct the problem, no luck.

Food in the restaurant - at least at dinner time - was delicious, well prepared and well presented. Breakfast was a mediocre buffet - a couple of mornings some hard-boiled eggs, but imagine most mornings coming in and seeing the kitchen cook and the server sitting at a table. Very indifferent service. Reminds me of the 3 generations of soviet thinking. Example: A colleague asks politely if he could have milk with his coffee. Answer from the server: "there it is, you can go get it". I have to say, though, in fairness, that this was only for breakfast.

At lunch and dinner, the servers were attentive and really did their best.

Bathroom plumbing seems to be a challenge at this hotel. One of my colleagues had water leaking from drains onto the bathroom floor. I had a constantly running exhaust fan in my bathroom to pull the sewer gas smell out of the bathroom.

Rooms although clean are very very basic. Drapes that barely cover the windows, no coffee maker in the room,

Location is OK if you want to be outside of St. Pete - about a 35 minute drive or taxi ride.

Gym facilities - picture this - one elliptical - one treadmil, on a balcony overlooking the pool. Makes for a poor location - high humidity, high chlorine fumes, I skipped the opportunity to exercise.

Overall, you get the picture. We would have rated this hotel as poor, with the following factors bringing the rating to average: Very friendly front desk staff that really worked hard to address the problems, very tasty dinner and lunch food selections. The rating would be poor if only based on: Indifferent service at breakfast, and meager breakfast selections, and room quality.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. Check the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LettsGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Lovely spa hotel situated outside of the main city centre so great for relaxation after 'doing' the city centre sites. The location is a little too far to use as a city centre base but would make a great two centre stay. On the other hand, if you don't mind travelling into the city, this might be a better option for those on a budget - the city centre can be expensive.

Its location close to both Peterhof Palace (spectacular) and Constantin Palace (President Putin's formal residence) is ideal if you have local transport/taxi or have trips arranged.

The food is great, rooms are spacious and the staff very helpful - particularly when it came to printing out a boarding card. WIFI is free and the hotel has public PC's available.

Room Tip: A standard room is more than adequate so why pay more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sochi, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent two delightful days at this hotel! We were pleased with the opportunity to
swim in the pool before breakfast and relax in it after a rich of impressions excursion
day (spa center opens early in the morning from 7.30 am and runs until late in the evening)
We had a standard room, It's spacious enough, with new furniture, clean bathroom.
Very tasty and varied breakfast. We were searching the hotel not in the city center,
but in suburbs and near with any historic sites. And this one has a great location -
between Peterhof and Konstantinovsky Palace, clean air, quiet atmosphere, amazing
excursions what else we need for a good weekend!? Thanks to all hotel's staff,
they were very friendly and helpful. Next summer we're surely will stay in this
hotel at least for a couple of days

Room Tip: The hotel has only standard rooms and 2 Superior. But all standard are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NataliaIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and 1,5 year old daughter, the hotel has a nice pool for adults which is connected to a semi-outdoor pool (seems to be indoor but not heated) and a warm pool for kids with free toys provided by the hotel :-) next to the kids pool there is a small playground where they can play as well while the parents are swimming. 4 different saunas (one was closed), some kind of a spa-shower (did not work). In general, the spa zone is nice and relaxing. The hotel rooms are VERY nice. The breakfast is good. The hotel has some disadvantages though - is right next to the road - it dodn't really bother us but may be disturbing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anyuta27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhof
New Peterhof Hotel
#1 of 8 in Peterhof
371 reviews
Alexandria-Peterhof
#3 of 8 in Peterhof
65 reviews
Samson
#4 of 8 in Peterhof
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasilyevsky Island
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
Solo Sokos Hotel Palace Bridge
#35 of 349 in St. Petersburg
1,352 reviews
Terijoki Hotel & SPA
#1 of 5 in Zelenogorsk
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Peterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Peterhof

Property: Grand Peterhof
Address: Gofmeisterskaya St., 2A | between Strelna and Peterhof, Peterhof, St. Petersburg 198510, Russia
Region: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrodvortsovy District > Peterhof
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Peterhof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Peterhof 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Peterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing