We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an improvement - didn't recognise the place!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an improvement - didn't recognise the place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Cant believe the change to this place - I stayed here on business during the 2007 SED show and this was the only hotel left with rooms - no wonder. The place was an absolute [--] with no TV in the room, baths covered in mould and no hot water! A colleague told me that the place had a major revamp recently and was safe to stay in. Can honestly say you would not recognise the place. Tidy, clean rooms, very good bar and food and very pleasant staff. Stayed 2 weeks ago and just booked again for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dermot C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments, I hope you enjoy all your stays with us. Wetherspoons have done a fantastic refurbishment and we are glad that our guests like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    101
    81
    39
    24
See reviews for
57
125
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed on Christmas day 2011 and we arrived 2 hours before th check in time of 1400 the staff were helpful and friendly even though they were extremely busy serving Christmas dinners.
The room was spacious and clean after arecent refurbishment but for some reason the bed was nearly up to the wall on on side with hardly any space. Given the size of the room I could see no reason for this. There was also plenty of space to provide another comfortable chair which would have been handy. The bathroom/shower was also clean and of an adequate size.
I cannot comment on previous reviews on noise levels as being Christmas day the bar shut at 1500 and there were no dekiveries the following morning. Being a bank holiday we were able to park outside the hotel but on an ordinary day you would have to move your car very early.
It is not a 5 star hotel but it is what it says on the cover and I would stay again if in the area.
Did not take breakfast.
Only problem was room next door fell asleep with his TV on loud until 0500 next morning. Not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
I am glad you enjoyed your christmas stay with us, If you could possibly email the hotel with the room you were in I will take a look at the bed lay out and see if I can work it better.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

the swan has just recently been refurbished.the room was to a high decorative and tasetful standard.the hotel has some nice period features and feels comfortable.however,i feel for the price there needs to be attention to detail in some areas.examples of this being no room service-you are expected to take your own food and drinks to your room.alternatively you could eat in the restaurant but it was very busy.there was no bottle opener in the room,the staff were prepared to open the bottles... that's ok if you prefer flat beer lol.our room was located over the main door which banged shut incessantly disturbing us - this obviously requires some attention.no facility to open bedroom window due to balcony and the tv in our room had only half the channels working due to weak signal.as already identified in previous reviews no hotel car parking facility. finally the food is mediocre.i feel weatherspoons have excelled in the refurbishment. however, the above needs to be addressed in my opinion.on a positive note the staff including reception were very friendly helpful and accommodating.i may consider staying there again if the above concerns were taken into account. Perhaps the the above concerns relate to teething problems?

Room Tip: We stayed in 102
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wedding078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we have dealt with some of your comments as follows:
We have fixed the front door so it no longer bangs.
We are in the process of putting bottle openers in all our guest rooms.
We are also in the process of re-working the window in the balcony room so that it can be opened.
We also now provide room service from 2pm-9.30pm where we bring the food to you.
We appreciate your comments, they do help us to get better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

This newly refurbished hotel couldn't have been bettered.

Room Tip: Disabled facilities room with wet room is like your own little lodge house. Bottled water and plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieannHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Arrived to find no car park as such and so had to park in a pay and display car park. Very disappointed as was not aware nor was I offered reimbursement of my parking ticket off the cost of my stay! Considered what I would do if I arrived and could not park in this busy market town car park!

Room was obviously refurbished and was very nice. Room at back of hotel and so was nice and quiet. Stay let down as room clearly old bed linen and towels that were grey and thin. Neither toiletries nor cups in bathroom. Family room for three but only two mugs.

Little extra's that make you feel 'welcome' that you have been 'treated' and make you want to return missing - such a pity.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Thank you for your review, we have taken on board your comments and have taken the following actions:
We have spoken with the linen company regarding any rogue items of linen that should not be sent to us for our guests.
We unfortunately do not have a car park but there is a large pay and display to the rear of the hotel which is very reasonable, we do mention this on our web site page.
We now ensure that there are sufficient cups/ glasses in the family rooms and additional towels.
I do hope that your stay with us has not put you off staying with us again, please contact our reception and we will post you out a discount voucher and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Good value hotel, clean, modern and comfortable even if the room was a little small. The only issue was the incessant noise through the night, first from drunken revellers and later from some kind of electrical unit under the window, very loud and disturbing.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to see you experienced noise during your stay with us. Should you decide to stay with us again please give us a call on 01525 380170 so we can ensure you do not have a noisy experience again. Thank you for your comments on the hotel they are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

First a confession - I am a resident and a Town Councillor of Leighton Buzzard; however, having been in despair as to the future of the Swan for some time, I feel that tripadvisor readers should be aware that this hotel was closed for some time between the 2007 review, which I will confirm was absolutely true, and the middle of this year.

Wetherspoons have completely revamped the whole of the building, bringing it back to being the High Street feature that it should be whilst providing both good food and the reasonably-priced but good standard of hotel facility that it could never be before. Yes, the Swan IS a town-centre establishment and a pub-business, so it will always suffer the associated noise factor, particularly during its operating hours.

I have to commend Wetherspoons on their efforts to maintain such buildings as the Swan for our heritage - the Bell in Aylesbury is another such example, albeit without the benefit of accommodation.

Oh, and I have eaten at the Swan on a number of occasions in the 4 or so months since it reopened and have been happy with the food and the service every time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle N, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thanks for such a great write up, the transformation is loved by everyone that visits and is the best looking building on the high street.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leighton Buzzard
8.6 km away
The Woburn Hotel
The Woburn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Woburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.8 km away
Longs Inn Hotel
Longs Inn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Woburn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
13.3 km away
Peartree Lodge Waterside
Peartree Lodge Waterside
#3 of 35 in Milton Keynes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Premier Inn Milton Keynes South Hotel
10.6 km away
The Old Palace Lodge Hotel
11.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Milton Keynes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Property: Swan Hotel
Address: 50 High Street, Leighton Buzzard LU7 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Leighton Buzzard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leighton Buzzard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JD Wetherspoon have restored this georgian building back to its former glory.The hotel has 39 rooms with singles, twins, doubles, family rooms and 2 fully equipped disabled rooms with parking spaces, we are also able to provide family suites sleeping up to 6 people. 24 hour manned reception, complimentary tea, coffee and mineral water in all rooms.Cots available upon request.Discount for group bookings are available.We work in partnership with Mentmore Golf and Country Club to provide you with excellant stay and play rates.Bar and Restaurant open from 7am daily.Room service available from 7am to 9.45pm.Selection of soft drinks, crisps, Nuts and confectionary available at reception when bar is closed (chargeable).We do not have on site parking but there is a large pay and display car park to the rear of the property.We have 2 disabled equipped rooms with full wet room facilities and plenty of room to get around, these 2 rooms when booked come with a parking space right outside the door.For you real ale guru's you will be pleased to hear we are In the Good Beer Guide 2013 and Cask Marque accredited, we always have a great selection of ales available.We also have a lovely courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing