We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
290
34
14
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
34
14
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meal plan private beach horse riding fish boat ride rustic luxury amazing holiday blue hole games room the general manager paddle boarding meal package goat coconut plantation sunset cruise balinese huts water dance
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 347 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

We made a last minute decision to holiday in Vanuatu to dive the Coolidge. After hunting around for somewhere to stay we stumbled across Ratua Island Resort and Spa. What a fortunate thing for us this was. Ratua is a pristine location tucked away on a lovely site away from everything but beaches and stunning views. However close enough for short boat trips to Aore Adventures for diving or into Luganville. The staff here make you extremely welcome from the first moment they pick you up at the airport till they drop you off again. Everyone on the island looks after your every need. You can simply veg out here and totally unwind or be a little more adventurous and go walking, kayaking, snorkeling on a stunning reef just off the beach, horse riding and/swimming, fishing, crabbing or exploring blue holes.

By the way the food isn’t bad either, it’s pretty hard not to over indulge. Compliments to the chef and all the staff involved with this. Also to the bar staff who ripped up some wonderful drinks.

So cannot recommend Ratua highly enough and will be back.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

Every single moment spent at this amazing place was perfect. The staff are outstanding, the villas are magical and the swimming with the horses was the most amazing experience I've ever had. Will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Nicole d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Our family of four (with a 6 and a 4 year old) had a fantastic 10-day holiday in Ratua. Although not your typical children's holiday destination with no kids' club or swimming pool, this place was so wonderfully exciting and beautiful that our entire family was absolutely loving it. Not one time did our kids ask for TV or whine about the lack of pool - which is a massive compliment. A perfectly relaxing resort with all the facilities and activities you expect and more... The turtle watching and swimming with horses activities are definite highlights, but of course, there's excellent snorkelling and easy trips around the island with kayaks, paddle boards, etc. The food exceeded expectations too.
All in all, highly recommend this place for families who are after something a bit more different and special. Ratua is a truly unique island resort.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
5  Thank Kriszti_on_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018

This island really is rustic lux at its best. Our family had the most amazing 8 days on Ratua. From swimming with the horses, paddle boarding around the island, canoeing to the blue holes to fishing and exploring near by islands. You can do as little or as much as you want. I was concerned that 8 days would be too long on one island but the beautifully styled authentic huts nestled among this secluded island, the coral waters filled with sea life to the food and of course cocktail hour made for a magical relaxed holiday. The owners of this pristine island should be applauded for their management and continual support of the wider island community with the Ratua foundation. The staff were beautiful, friendly, attentive with a great sense of humour. As beautiful as the island is we would have been happy to spend the whole time in the spa, the treatments are the best I’ve ever had in a setting which is one of a kind.
Ratua really is a bucket list holiday. We will be back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Anotherjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2018

We stayed a week at Ratua recently and it was excellent. The island is perfectly located, and the waters around the island are amazing - full of diverse marine life, and great snorkelling right out front. The bay in front of the resort is well protected and even if it gets a bit windy the water stays calm. The grounds are very well maintained, and there are plenty of areas to sit and relax and watch the beautiful surroundings. We stayed in one of the marquees and it was great. The buildings are rustic and stylishly furnished. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the managers are very welcoming and accommodating. You have the option of doing as much or as little as you want without being pressured. Our favourite was just paddle boarding at sunset each day with the turtles.

If you're after a tropical holiday that is more secluded, authentic, pristine and private then this is the place to be.

But, be prepared to empty your wallet. The meal, drinks, and activities prices are incredibly high.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews