We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
67
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews each morning private beach chris sue tented pool villa beautiful reef bucket list self catering waters edge low tide horse riding champagne beach tree privacy hosts deck pill accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

I needed to get away for a while and found hidden cove, well it is the most welcoming, friendly relaxing and private hotel I've ever stayed in . The host, Sue Morris knows every part of the word " privacy " but is there when needed . This is not a place for everyone, it's a place for peace and tranquility and I would gather very romantic for couples ( young and old ) if there was a rating above the TripAdvisor rating I would well and truly put it above it . Thank you Sue for making my stay so memorable. I will be back

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Voyager760681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you for your review and kind words about Hidden Cove. Yes, the HC is designed as a retreat to give guests utmost privacy along with personalise service.. Once behind the walled gardens you are in your own private world. I am pleased that you appreciated the down time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

We chose hidden cove as an exclusive get away and that is what we got. Our first day we were collected by sue and taken for a shop into Luganville for a few supplies. The sun at this stage was glorious and we were so exited to get to our tree top tent!
On arrival to hidden cove and making our way across the suspension bridge, it was a real WOW moment, the coast line and hidden beaches were spectacular, our tent was a mix of five star meets French shabby sheek, all was perfect the sun glistening off the layers of colour within the beautiful reef at our back door, thank god we actually had a swim then, as to quote Gilligan island, “this is where the story ends” in the name of cyclone Hola !! Rain, thunder and lightning turned our perfect little place into something from a movie scene, The sea bashing against the coast line was viscous and so noisy, Internet and phones dropped out, but sue was fabulous in making sure we were safe and keeping us up to date with the cyclone, we were so grateful we had our supplies and duty free, and the tunes on the iPod!
We spent our three days amongst a cyclone and never once did we feel unsafe being in the tent! Not on my bucket list , but we can tick that one off.
We left hidden cove after three days and have moved to another hotel down the coast, if we had not already pre paid our deposit we would be back at hidden cove and perhaps book the other tent for the duration of our week here.
My husband and I have said several times “I wish we were back there “.
So do your self a favour and try out this perfect place! Thank you sue you are a Gem! Love louise and Michael
P. S breakfast was awesome!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tassiefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

Thank you so very much to Sue at Hidden Cove for our amazing experience. If u are looking to get away and of the grid in luxury then look no further. Having our very own private beach with an idealic view to wake up to every morning was what dreams are made of.
Dusty our driver was so very informative and showed us around Santos most beautiful beaches and destinations
We will definately be booking again
Thank you Sue
Steve and Fiona

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank fionacreed1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2018

Thanks Fiona and Steve for taking the time to review Hidden Cove and for your generous praise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018

My husband and I were not sure what to expect as we have never had this type of holiday before. We were delighted with the 'glamping' accomodation as it creates a closeness to nature that you wouldn't get in an ordinary resort room. The sound of the sea lapping into the cove as we feel asleep and woke each day was something that we had withdrawals from when we got home!
The amenities were very good, although the hot water in the showers was not always consistent.
My husband utilised the closeness to the reef and snorkelled almost every day straight out from the private cove - however there was not a nice stretch of beach for my preferred style of swimming close by.
The breakfasts that were prepared for us were always fresh and delicious, and made with locally sourced food. My dietary needs were catered for and Sue worked hard to create a variety of breakfasts despite being gluten free and dairy free.
One thing that we were not really prepared for was that the accomodation is mainly self catering with no restaurant or bar, and the shops are neither close nor do they stock the diverse range of foods that I needed for a restricted diet. However it was not difficult to eat and drink at other local resorts in their restaurants. There is no public transport either, so I recommend either hiring a car or if you are happy to, the host can arrange a local taxi driver to ferry you around to the various restaurants and experiences.
Our last meal that was prepared for us was a 6 course meal which was amazing, and I definitely recommend this offering during your stay.
This is a beautiful place, and if you are looking for privacy and solitude, then its comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hi Jeanette,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review and your recommendation and high praise for Hidden Cove meals. Thank you also for highlighting to future guests that we do not have a public restaurant or bar but rather provide a personalised chef service. We have chosen not to have a bar and restaurant to ensure that guests enjoy a level of privacy not available anywhere else. As you mentioned there are several bars and restaurants with a 5 kilometre radius.
The charm of Espiritu Santo is that it is an un commercialised island in the South Pacific but as such the supermarkets do not offer the variety that you find in Australia and shopping can be a challenge if you have serious food allergies. We do take our guests on a complimentary shopping trip and show then where to purchase their food supplies if they choose to use the BBQ and cook for themselves. Many guests enjoy the option of self catering rather than eating out every lunch and dinner.

The public transport on Espiritu Santo comprises of "utes" that you hail down on the road and jump in the back (which is not for everyone) or taxis so for convenience, a hire car is handy but not necessary. Guests are provided with a phone with pre programmed numbers for taxis and for the adventures and energetic, the electric bikes are available.

thanks again

Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 29, 2017

Chris & Sue have created a truly special vacation getaway on the wonderful island of Santo. We booked five nights at Hidden Cove in large part due to all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. It did not disappoint. Private, secluded, well appointed, relaxing, beautiful, it's all true. We had a fantastic time. What put our stay over the top was the help we received when we were in a jam. Due to a mix up at the airport in Sydney, our luggage did not arrive on Santo when we did. Chris was there to greet us at the airport and sprung into action immediately. He spoke to the Air Vanuatu customer service rep behind the counter and was very reassuring when they were unable to assist at that time. We needed to get United to release our luggage to Air Vanuatu in Sydney and then get it on a flight to Port Villa, and then onto Santo. It was a weekend AND a holiday. While we enjoyed Santo, Chris & Sue worked tirelessly to get us our bags. They even enlisted Dusty, a retired employee of Air Vanuatu to pull strings on our behalf. It worked! We came back from exploring Santo one afternoon and the bags were in our room. It felt like a miracle! Thank you Chris, Sue, and Dusty for saving our vacation!! You can't ask for anything more from your hosts. You'll always be remembered. Dan & Mike

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue N, Owner at Hidden Cove Eco Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2018

Thank you guys for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words about Hidden Cove and particularly for expressing the appreciation for our efforts to reunite you with your luggage. So glad it all worked out in the end and you went on, with luggage, to enjoy the rest of your holiday.
I hope we see you back in Vanuatu in the future.
cheers
ue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews