We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peace and Tranquility”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and bedroom looking over the deck.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and bedroom looking over the deck.
Exterior of Cottage Kitchen with all facilities.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Lounge and bedroom looking over the deck.
Exterior of Cottage
Kitchen with all facilities.
Bathroom, shower room and laundry with clothes hanging area.
Dive equipment locker
David at the Dive Shop
A visit to the Blue Holes is a must.
Champagne Beach
Craft village nearby
Custom dance group
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Luganville, Espiritu Santo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Meesta_Be...
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed June 20, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The cottage is located roughly halfway between the town of Luganville and the airport. Million Dollar Point is well within walking distance although if you're carrying dive gear to explore the Coolidge, a vehicle would save a lot of effort. A short walk down to the garden gate allows access to the main road so it is easy to hail a bus or taxi. The garden itself is worthy of mention.
The cottage is very comfortable with a huge bed and three piece cane lounge suite. The outdoor setting is ideal for eating breakfast and viewing the ships and smaller craft navigating the channel, with a great view of Aore Island as a bonus.
The fridge is more than adequate and can accommodate all requirements - including a carton of Tusker (beer). The two burner cooktop is handy and the microwave oven worked well - we think it was a combination convection/microwave but we only used the microwave facility.
Tim and Yvonne were away during our stay but their house-sitters, John and Jenny were excellent. The Ni-Van staff were also great and gave me the chance to practice my Bislama.
The cottage was supplied with condiments, breakfast needs and some marvellous Santo fruit as well as excellent Aore coffee.
Were there any negatives?
Well due to the rain, one evening we had some small ants. We live in the country, are used to them coming in to escape the rain, so that's OK. I suppose city people might get upset.
After some fairly strong winds, some (not many) small pieces (smaller than a fingernail) fell from the Natungara roof. This can also be expected but to replace the Natungara would detract from the character of the cottage.
All in all, a very relaxing stay in a marvellous garden setting with friendly people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Thank you for your thoughtful and detailed review, it means a great deal to us to hear your kind comments. We shall pass on your review to John and Jenny and staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniebaby...
Cranebrook, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the Ants Pants”
Reviewed May 26, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I have to be truthful here,the original owners were away and as nice as the people minding the property were I feel they dropped the ball here. I stay at places that are rated highly on trip advisor but this was a little faulty towers to be honest. Let me explain; I emailed John and Jenny letting them know we didn’t need a transfer coming as we were staying at Barrier Beach and getting a transfer from them. They emailed me saying to go to the main gate at palms estate which is what we did. There was no-one waiting at the main gate, couldn’t reach anyone with the phone number we had so we circled palm estate for a while wondering where the hell to go. Our driver was looking a little frantic, luckily we came upon a neighbour that lived there who kindly told us where we had to go. We got to the back of the property rolled open the gate and knocked on the door when Jenny and John answered. Jenny said the system was a bit ridiculous and that they weren’t allowed to do anything which I thought was a bit strange but oh well. Anyway John showed us to the villa which is set in front of the house but very private through a cute little gate. We walked through a swarm of wasps that didn’t seem to phase John as he opened the sliding door for us. The villa is gorgeous and spacious, does look better than the photos. The view is also amazing. I noticed heaps of ants crawling on the wall killing a centipede and John said ‘yeah you get ants here in vanuatu’ and I was like ok, I’ll stay away from that wall then, no problem. John explained a few things and Showed us breakfast provisions which were not as described on previous reviews. A paw paw, 3 sour oranges, some bananas ok, a few eggs someone’s old left over jam and an old stale weetbix open box ahh no thanks. Anyway, I asked John if he could spray the wasps so we actually sit and marvel at the view, to which he did and left us the can. We’d booked a car for the next couple of days and asked John to take us to deco-stop which he kindly did. You really need a car when you stay here. We got the car and bought a few grocery’s to keep us going. We were disappointed to see there was no BBQ as promised as part of the facilities. That was originally a major draw card for me to sit on the deck having a wine and cooking a BBQ whilst taking in the view. I made sure to wash up everything as soon as we used it because I noticed how bad the ants were. We couldn’t leave our suitcases on the floor because the ants would get in. To my horror after having already made my hubby a coffee the night before and not noticing there was actually ants in the sugar canister, making an ant farm no less. I let John know this before we left so the next guests wouldn’t have to deal with that. Look I feel a bit awful with this review, John asked me to write one. I can’t lie and I need to be truthful good and bad. That’s what this website is all about after all. So improvements can be made. We didn’t get the internet which was really annoying till our last day and after My husband said something John rebooted it and then it worked well. It was annoying not to be able to look up where to go for dinner etc. on a brighter note John drove us to drop off the car at deco stop and dropped us into town when we had dinner there on our last night. We ran out of toilet paper and soap pretty quickly and it was annoying we had to ask when they were hardly ever there. The room doesn’t get made up unless you ask for it, which is awkward and fresh towels would of been nice, just saying.The transfer to the airport wasn’t without drama either, John organized a taxi which didn’t show up so he eventually drove us all of 5 minutes to the airport. The thing that really didn’t feel right though was the lady they call ‘Aunty’ on her hands and knees in the hot sun pruning the garden, who was elderly. Just didn’t sit well with me. Anyway I’m giving an average mark instead of poor mark for the lifts into town, villa and the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
It is hard to know where to begin with a response to your review, from other reviews you have left perhaps Santo was not the place for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renato C
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Santo”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Tim and Yvonne's cottage is nestled in a magnificent garden, right in front of the sea, with a stunning view on Aore island. The cottage is cleaned every third day and is self catered. The owners are extremely helpful and will help you organizing tours, divings and every other activity available on the island.
To be noted that there is no beach in the vicinity, the closest one is Million Dollar Point 3.5 km from the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phillipda...
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay on Santo!”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great location just minutes from the airport, Million Dollar Point, and the main town of Luganville. Yvonne and Tim were such lovely hosts - super friendly and extremely helpful when it came to helping us arrange tours and plan our time on Santo. They even gave us tips for Port Vila as well! The cottage itself was also lovely - spacious, comfortable, and clean. Waking up to the view of the ocean and outer islands was absolutely spectacular, and it was great having our meals on the deck overlooking the water. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Santo!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for your thoughtful review, we enjoyed meeting you and having the opportunity of sharing our small slice of paradise! Tim and Yvonne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
948Rebecc...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - Tim & Yvonne couldn't have been more helpful”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We spent nearly a week with Tim & Yvonne in July diving and exploring Santo and had a fantastic time. They made everything so easy, from being met at the airport and providing all the food basics (great coffee, muesli, fruit, milk, you name it) to driving us into town for dives & helping with all sorts of advice on Santo. The cottage is fully equipped, with a washing machine & drying area as well as all the basics, and the only hot showers we had during our trip. I can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed sharing time with you both during your recent visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivan2536
Batemans Bay, Australia
2 reviews
“So Luxurious”
Reviewed November 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our friendly hosts picked us up from the airport with a survival pack to get us settled into their most comfortable and beautifully presented cottage, Immaculately clean with quality inclusions. With a spectacular view over the Segond Chanel. Tim and Yvonne are experienced divers so many of our chats were about their love of the President Coolidge. One of the best rated dives wreck in the world. They have geared up especially for divers with a wash up and drying area under the cottage. Very convenient, if you bought your own equipment. Unfortunately our time was up but Tim And Yvonne returned us to the airport after showing us how lucky we were to be in this spectacular region of Vanuatu of which we will be back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: just being there
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2015
We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed staying at the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthernB...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Santo Vista Cottage in July this year. We had the most amazing experience..... We were met at the airport by our hosts, and were taken to our home away from home! The quality of the furnishings, the bedding, fresh flowers, fresh tropical fruit from the garden, the serenity of this beautiful cottage, add up to a truly wonderful experience. The outlook is breathtaking and with the covered deck (complete with more flowers and your very own Buddha), you can sit and relax and contemplate life!
Our hosts are very experienced divers and they shared their vast knowledge of the bountiful diving there is to be had on Santo. To have the enthusiasm of local divers, to be given the best dive company, best locations to dive, made our holiday so much more enjoyable! Cottage and location # 1; Hosts # 1; Wonderful holiday experience # 1 !!!!
Santo Vista Cottage - put it at the top of you list!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outlook, the cottage, the hosts
Liked least: Nothing to complain about - it is all very positive
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you for your wonderful comments on the cottage, we thoroughly enjoyed your company and are so pleased your stay was all you wished for.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing