We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a vidit”
Review of Provender - CLOSED

Provender
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Deli, Cafe, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: NOW CLOSED Somerset deli and cafe selling a wide range of local produce which includes; Somerset farmhouse cheeses, locally produced smoked meat and Dorset hams, loose and jarred olives, fantastic chocolates, local apple juices, renowned local beers, ciders & fabulous Somerset Cider Brandy along with crusty breads, baked fresh every day.In our bright and airy 30 seat cafe - part of which overlooks the picturesque village square - we serve a wide range of freshly cooked breakfast snacks ; individually prepared lunches [accompanied by our home-made, signature salads]; fantastic coffees (our beans are roasted by Origin in Cornwall); a range of single estate teas and a delicious selection of truly scrumptious cakes (made by the team, on the premises). We pride ourselves on being able to provide tasty alternatives for customers with special diets - including vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

Run by a friendly couple. Good food and service. We especially enjoyed the breakfast special.

We will be back.

Thank tedaaa69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Bishton, Owner at Provender, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you - we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Provender. See you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 107 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2017

Lovely deli shop and cafe. Well situated in centre of the village. Open for morning coffee, lunch and teas. Great place to buy gifts..

Thank carrie_trounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Bishton, Owner at Provender, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you - we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Provender. See you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Popped in for lunch having helped at a cake sale that morning, nice tea rooms, had wonderful soup and the most amazing garlic bread and my partner had the pate which he enjoyed also. Friendly atmosphere and was offered a taster of rhubarb vodka which was very nice.
Would definitely return again and the deli shop itself has some lovely tempting treats.

Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Bishton, Owner at Provender, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Thank you - we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Provender. We've passed on your compliments about the garlic bread to Chris, our chef. See you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Great cakes and coffee in this local deli, wide range of food on sale in lovely location in South Petherton Sq.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rms479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2017

Did not realise this delightful restaurant was there although we eat at times in the
local restaurant in the evenings. Had been to the hospital and we were in need of a quick snack and hot drinks. We sat in the very smart "Garden Room" which was spotless and comfortable with some pretty pictures round the walls. Nearly bought "Scruffy" the Robin in Winter, but he who must be obeyed put his foot down :-(
We both had a lovely fresh Hot X Bun & Butter, which was filled with juicy fruits. I had a Cappuccino and He had a pot of piping hot tea. Very enjoyable they were too. Had I not already done a weeks shopping that morning I would have bought some cheese from the Deli. Great to see a choice of unpasteurised cheeses. The shop is filled with lovely Deli choices of pickles and sauces and fruity jams and other delightful concoctions. He had a worried look on his face when we left as I said next time I had to go to the hospital I would make sure we had plenty of time (and money) to purchase some tasty delights for a weekend treat :-) The ladies were welcoming and friendly and more than willing to explain what some of the meals were on the "Specials Lunch Board" for that day. Having seen a bungalow for sale that we were interested in I can see us making Provender a weekly stop-off as it would not be too far to walk to in nice weather. Didn't think to ask if a well behaved dog would be welcome for canine owners.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ChompingEatingArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Provender also viewed

South Petherton, Somerset
 
South Petherton, Somerset
South Petherton, Somerset
 
South Petherton, Somerset
South Petherton, Somerset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing