We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea with old friends”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Description: Family-owned by the Foley family for over 30 years; the Beehive is a traditional, local pub serving delicious home-cooked food and a wide selection of beer, wines and spirits Come and relax, enjoy a bite to eat, a drink with friends, watch the football, or enjoy our regular live music, quiz nights and special events. Join us for a friendly, warm welcome for all.
Restaurant details
Description: Family-owned by the Foley family for over 30 years; the Beehive is a traditional, local pub serving delicious home-cooked food and a wide selection of beer, wines and spirits Come and relax, enjoy a bite to eat, a drink with friends, watch the football, or enjoy our regular live music, quiz nights and special events. Join us for a friendly, warm welcome for all.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

We have been here lots of times and never been disappointed yet. The Afternoon Teas both traditional + Fish+Chip are delicious and extremely excellent value for money. Having said that I tend to favour savoury dishes the house Beef Curry with half chips + rice is my favourite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foleyfoley, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thanks so much first of all for being a regular customer that's the biggest compliment we can get. Our afternoon teas have become so popular but we are glad you have also tried and enjoyed our traditional home cooked pub food too. We really appreciate your custom it means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Afternoon tea here ,amazing value we opted for the fish and chip tea which came with scones and cakes trifle ,and a small cup of soup everything tasted fantastic ,well presented and stafff so kind ,endless tea .There is some refurbishment going on so a little bit noisy from upstairs.But the quality of the food distracted us from work going on .

1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foleyfoley, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you enjoyed our famous fish and chip afternoon tea, we are really proud of how popular it has become, thanks also for the comments on our staff we will be sure to pass it on.

Sorry about the noise, we have some exciting developments coming soon which we are sure you will be impressed with, glad it didn't distract too much from your experience at The Beehive. We really look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Such a lovely little pub , the staff are really welcoming, the afternoon tea was freshly made absolutely delicious and lots of it .

2  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foleyfoley, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us this lovely feedback it is very much appreciated and such nice comments about our pub, food and staff are all we can ask for, thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018 via mobile

Took grand-children for fish &chip afternoon tea all I can say amazing so much brought some home. As much tea as you like this was not my first visit and certainly won't be the last. Great staff can't do enough for you

2  Thank biltonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foleyfoley, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we are so glad you and your family enjoyed your afternoon tea, we love it when the whole family can come and enjoy their afternoon with us. Thanks for the comments on the food and the staff also - we can't ask for better than that. Thanks for visiting us and for visiting us previously and we very much look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

We had been meaning to try lunch here for some time after a friend recommended it and we were not disappointed. I opted for the beef curry served with rice (half rice & half chips an option) whilst my husband ordered the fish finger sandwich which consisted of 3 large cod pieces in a golden batter. The beef was tender and the curry sauce very nice, while the fish and home made chips were reported to be very tasty. We will definitely be returning, probably to try the afternoon teas as they looked lovely. The lady who seated us and then took our drinks order was particularly friendly.

2  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foleyfoley, Owner at The Beehive, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you decided to try us out for lunch and brilliant that you weren't disappointed. We are so glad you enjoyed your food and thank you for the comment on the service, it means a lot to us and our staff. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Beehive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Houghton-le-Spring, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing