We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas made easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cartwright Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas made easy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

The team at the Cartwright Hotel in Aynho made Christmas 2011 an extremely relaxing, happy experience for me, my wife, her 80-year-old brother, our 40-year-old daughter, our son-in-law and his mother. Our rooms were warm, spacious, comfortable and quiet. The meals were excellent; and prepared when we wanted them rather than to a strict timetable. The staff were as friendly and helpful as they were efficient in all aspects. Apparently it's the done thing in some establishments for staff to specialise in a certain role: a receptionist never leaves reception; a chef remains hidden in the kitchen; bar staff are tied to the bar ... their workplace becomes a breeding ground for robots with fixed smiles and little chance of creating a genuine rapport with the guests. Not at the Cartwright: the manager has created a genuine team and is not averse to taking his turn in the kitchens or serving breakfast with a genuine smile; similarly, we spent part of one evening showing one of the young chefs how to play fives and threes. (He picked up the intricacies of this form of dominoes so quickly that we reckon he knew all about it already but he didn't let on; like all of his colleagues, he went along with the whims of the guests.) In the future when we feel the urge to visit the Cotswolds, we'll definitely base ourselves at the Cartwright at Aynho, knowing that it will be our perfect home from home again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the old stables are all well away from the village street, quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigeloddy, Manager at Cartwright Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2011
Thank you so much - some guests make it easy. You and your family helped to make our Christmas a pleasure as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Cartwright.


Paul Haverson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    103
    36
    19
    7
See reviews for
60
196
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you are travelling the English countryside and are south of Oxford or south west of Northampton then a stay at the Cartwright Hotel in Aynho is a must.
This beautiful dwelling was actually listed in the Doomsday Book.
.
This wonderful Hotel / Motel / Restaurant has a beautiful little Bar and a wonderful restaurant that you won't want to leave.
The decor is just superb.
The staff are falling over themselves to help you or get you anything you want.
The reception and manager go out of there way to assist you.
The food is just perfect.
The room is very spacious and luxurious with everything you need.
( ie: Shampoo / Hairdryer / Tea & Coffee / TV / Air Conditioner )
We only stayed for one day and one night, but we could have stayed over for a week as the pricing was very affordable.
.
Aynho is a very old English town with so much history and unexpected attractions, you will find that a day is not enough time to see everything. Some of the things to look for are Aynho Park with its outdoor sculptures, the Church of St.Michael which was built in the 14th century, the many little thatch cottages, and the brilliant views of the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room but any room will do as they are all brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cullodenmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We needed a hotel near to where our daughter was getting married for all the family and ushers to stay. We visited the hotel In January and the manager gave us an excellent package so we booked all 22 rooms. The reception staff managed the reservations very efficiently. On 17th November my husband, daughter and I arrived and we were made very welcome and had a superb, quiet meal together in the restaurant. On Friday all 44 guests arrived, all the rooms were ready and absolutely spotless. In the evening all the guests had a fantastic meal in the Apricot room, the food was superb and the service efficient and discrete. Breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were relaxing and the food again superb. All the rooms were cleaned each day with the staff working around us never inconveniencing anyone. Every member of staff was helpful and no matter what the request they were always helpful and smiling, for example, despite arriving back at the hotel at 1:30am without our keys the person on duty arrived at the desk smiling and welcoming! Everyone in our party enjoyed their stay and were full of praise. Thank you very much for making the wedding weekend so special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We arrived at this hotel needing accomodation for my husband, myself and our four year old the same day for a few nights. The lovely receptionist showed us a couple of rooms which she thought may be suitable & said she would have the one we chose ready in a couple of hours.
The room was very large with a huge, very comfortable bed and a z bed for our daugter.The bathroom was lovely too.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff be it the bar, restaurant, reception or housekeeping. The housekeeping staff even left us two wine glasses without being asked because she had seen the bottle of wine in our room!
We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Just talk to the receptionist for any specific requirements!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed a super package which included champagne tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. Wonderful food all served up with a smile. We were initially concerned we would be disturbed by road noise as our room was on the front but we had a peaceful and comfortable night. Have recommended this boutique style hotel to all our family and friends and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We found this hotel through an internet search, we had originally looked at the Cotswolds, but with requirements of three ground floor rooms (one for an 85 year old lady with limited mobility) friendly boutique style hotel, good food and real ale our options were limited.
If you are looking for some/all of the requirements we have described you could not do better than stay at the Cartwright. It's the staff that really make your stay memorable, Paul, Gary, Julie, Kim, irina and Stuart are all a credit to this hotel, a lot of establishments could learn from their commitment to total customer service.
Thank you all so much for making our weekend so special, we hope we can get the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, North Wales
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We had a short break 23rd 24th October would have love to stay longer but had to be home. The Hotel is small but friendly which made it so enjoyable. All the staff were exellent but the one that stud out was Gary our waiter, you could tell he enjoyed his job. Thanks to all of you we hope to see you again.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank malcolm449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aynho
5.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
4.7 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
18.1 km away
Villiers Hotel
Villiers Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buckingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
39.4 km away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
9.5 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartwright Hotel

Property: Cartwright Hotel
Address: 1-5 Croughton Road, Aynho OX17 3BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Aynho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aynho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cartwright Hotel has 21 fully re-furbished en-suite bedrooms - each individually designed, beautifully furnished, with flat screen digital TV, hospitality trays, and free WIFI. The restaurant is popular with local diners as well as hotel residents and offers a delightful a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. The Apricot Room is ideal for functions, hosting up to 60 people, fully air-conditioned and able to host wedding receptions, private dining, and conferencing. The Cartwright is ideally situated for visits to Bicester Village Designer Shopping Village, Silverstone, Blenheim Palace, many other Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing