We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cartwright Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$153
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Adderbury)
US$107
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middle Aston House(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
285
121
40
22
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
121
40
22
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat barnbletchley parktravelzoo offerwarwick castlemain buildingchristmas breakboth nightsan excellent mealthe hotel managerapricot roommain courseold coaching innfamily weddingan evening mealroom was largesunday lunchcouple of nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
389 - 394 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

If you are travelling the English countryside and are south of Oxford or south west of Northampton then a stay at the Cartwright Hotel in Aynho is a must.
This beautiful dwelling was actually listed in the Doomsday Book.
.
This wonderful Hotel / Motel / Restaurant has a beautiful little Bar and a wonderful restaurant that you won't want to leave.
The decor is just superb.
The staff are falling over themselves to help you or get you anything you want.
The reception and manager go out of there way to assist you.
The food is just perfect.
The room is very spacious and luxurious with everything you need.
( ie: Shampoo / Hairdryer / Tea & Coffee / TV / Air Conditioner )
We only stayed for one day and one night, but we could have stayed over for a week as the pricing was very affordable.
.
Aynho is a very old English town with so much history and unexpected attractions, you will find that a day is not enough time to see everything. Some of the things to look for are Aynho Park with its outdoor sculptures, the Church of St.Michael which was built in the 14th century, the many little thatch cottages, and the brilliant views of the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room but any room will do as they are all brilliant.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cullodenmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We needed a hotel near to where our daughter was getting married for all the family and ushers to stay. We visited the hotel In January and the manager gave us an excellent package so we booked all 22 rooms. The reception staff managed the reservations very efficiently. On 17th November my husband, daughter and I arrived and we were made very welcome and had a superb, quiet meal together in the restaurant. On Friday all 44 guests arrived, all the rooms were ready and absolutely spotless. In the evening all the guests had a fantastic meal in the Apricot room, the food was superb and the service efficient and discrete. Breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were relaxing and the food again superb. All the rooms were cleaned each day with the staff working around us never inconveniencing anyone. Every member of staff was helpful and no matter what the request they were always helpful and smiling, for example, despite arriving back at the hotel at 1:30am without our keys the person on duty arrived at the desk smiling and welcoming! Everyone in our party enjoyed their stay and were full of praise. Thank you very much for making the wedding weekend so special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb and large
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We arrived at this hotel needing accomodation for my husband, myself and our four year old the same day for a few nights. The lovely receptionist showed us a couple of rooms which she thought may be suitable & said she would have the one we chose ready in a couple of hours.
The room was very large with a huge, very comfortable bed and a z bed for our daugter.The bathroom was lovely too.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff be it the bar, restaurant, reception or housekeeping. The housekeeping staff even left us two wine glasses without being asked because she had seen the bottle of wine in our room!
We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Just talk to the receptionist for any specific requirements!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed a super package which included champagne tea, dinner, bed and breakfast. Wonderful food all served up with a smile. We were initially concerned we would be disturbed by road noise as our room was on the front but we had a peaceful and comfortable night. Have recommended this boutique style hotel to all our family and friends and cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We found this hotel through an internet search, we had originally looked at the Cotswolds, but with requirements of three ground floor rooms (one for an 85 year old lady with limited mobility) friendly boutique style hotel, good food and real ale our options were limited.
If you are looking for some/all of the requirements we have described you could not do better than stay at the Cartwright. It's the staff that really make your stay memorable, Paul, Gary, Julie, Kim, irina and Stuart are all a credit to this hotel, a lot of establishments could learn from their commitment to total customer service.
Thank you all so much for making our weekend so special, we hope we can get the opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terriers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews