We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms and location, very pleasant host”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Azay-sur-Indre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Moulin de la Follaine
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We recently had a short vacation on the Loire Valley and after searching over the internet for "chambres d'hotes" we decided to chose the Moulin de la Follaine.
First of all, I must say that the description including photos available on tourist websites is perfectly accurate. The house is a reconditioned old mill (still working) with very nice and comfortable rooms. The rooms have their own private bathroom with bath, are perfectly clean and stylished.
The breakfast is included in the reservation price and you will get anything you need.
The location is very good for visiting the valley and the castles, or for biking, or fishing or just relax. There is also a good restaurant at a few minutes of walking distance where you can serve dinner or you could go to Loches which is the nearest city where you can find plenty of restaurants and a nice medieval city to visit.
Finally, I can say that I would definitely recommend Moulin de la Follain to anyone travelling in this area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in the mill for bed and breakfast 11 years ago and enjoyed ourselves so much and were made so welcome by Danie and Christian that we decided to return and, as there were four of us this time, we rented their Gite.
The Gite is very roomy, well decorated , furnished to a high standard, clean and has its own large garden bordered by a river and stream.
There are plenty of restaurants within a short drive or one in the village only ten minutes stroll away.
We will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raylaraine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

For the last 5 years I have been looked after by Danie and her husband on my trips between Calais/Barcelona, and I look forward to many more. The mill is beautifully restored, and the rooms are very comfortable and private. It is situated in a beautiful part of the Loire, and an evening meal is easily achieved by driving to Loches.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keskom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We have been spending three days in one of the rooms in the moulin de la follaine. We have been enjoying the region of the Indre river, lots of options for cycling, hiking and sightseeing with Loches as most important town to visit for shops and restaurants.
The moulin is a lovely quiet resort to come back to after a day of adventures with a beautiful garden, and many small terraces/relaxing chairs to sit down and enjoy the evening sun. In addition the moulin is unique because it is not only renovated, but also still functional which was demonstrated on the day we left. Finally, since we're tall Dutch people it was nice to have an extra bed for a good night sleep.
We have experienced exceptional hospitality and helpfulness by Mme Lignelet which made the stay even more comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willemijn-Guido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Beautiful restoration and amazing attention to details. The interior design is very authentic and the experience is unique. The grounds of the Moulin are beautifully landscaped, offering many possibilities to just sit and relax, read a nice book or just gaze at the ducks in the pond.
The highlight of it all though was that we left having made 2 new friends in Dany and Christian. Merci et a bientot pour sur.
R&C

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nous avons choisi la chambre bleue spacieuse très calme et très confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Francis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Moulin de la Follaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin de la Follaine

Address: 2 Chemin du Moulin, 37310 Azay-sur-Indre, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Azay-sur-Indre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Azay-sur-Indre
Price Range: $107 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing