We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
43
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old mill lovely garden two nights loches hosts
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2016

We visited la Follaine on our way south and were so impressed with the warmth of both our hosts and the 'vibe' of the mill that we booked in for our return journey ten days later.
We loved the authenticity of the working mill and all the nick-nacks. Danie and Christian established a great rapport and we left feeling we had acquired two new (and special) friends.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 833seanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015

An ideal location for a restful stay in the Loire, whilst being within easy day trips to places of interest, beautiful villages, a short drive to Loches, Tours and restaurants in the Azay-sur- Indre. Danie & Christian were most helpful ,and always ready to direct us, and help with any requests. The cottage was very comfortable, and amenities clean & roomy .
We enjoyed many evenings on the back terrace , and were able to stroll around the very private garden, ,or watch the birds ,insects and fish in the stream busily 'do their thing'. Thankyou Danie & Christian

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We stayed at Le Moulin for 4 nights at the start of a trip through France having driven straight from the ferry port at St Malo. It was so peaceful after the fairly lengthy drive. The ideal place to unwind.
Le Moulin is set in a lovely garden with a lake and a lot of trees which provide shade from the sun. There are also tables with sunshades in the garden where it is possible for guests to enjoy their own picnic supper in the evening. Danie provided china and cutlery and also a rubbish bag. The mill workings have been restored by Christian and we were able to see them working whist we were there.
We had lovely second floor accommodation which comprised a bedroom with a single and double bed and a separate bedroom with a single bed together with a bathroom - ideal for a family. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and furnished and had original beams.
The breakfasts were delicious. Various breads and home made jams. Breakfast was taken at a table shared with all Danie and Christian's guests and it was so nice speak with other nationalities.
Danie and Christian were very welcoming and give the impression that they enjoy the company of their guests very much.
From Le Moulin it is easy to reach Chenonceaux and other Chateaux on the Loire and also Loches which is a lovely little town and has a good market.
We would certainly recommend Le Moulin.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2015

We stayed with Danie and Christian for two nights on our way to the Dordogne and for one night on our way back. It is well placed to break this journey and after a long drive was a haven of restful tranquillity. The restored mill is an interesting building full of period furniture and Christian was kind enough to give us a demonstration of the mill machinery working. It was a delight to wander around the beautiful garden with its pond and waterways frequented by ducks and frogs. The room was comfortable and nicely colour co-ordinated and the breakfast included a generous range of bread and patisserie. Danie's English is good and she obviously takes pleasure and pride in sharing her lovely house with guests. We would recommend this bed and breakfast highly.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2014

When we arrived we couldn't have received a warmer welcome from Danie. This is the 3rd time that we have stayed at the Mill. We had BB for 7 nights and we stayed in the ground floor double room which was very spacious and clean with doors that opened facing the lake, couldn't have been better. The continental breakfast kept you going all day. The grounds are out of this world and in the evening if you didn't feel like going out you could just go out there and have a picnic beside the lake. There are picnic tables and relaxing sun chairs arranged all around the gardens. This is a wonderful base for visiting the Loire Valley. The nearest town is Loches which hosts many restaurants. A short walk from the Mill is a little restaurant called Le Relais D'Azay which is run by a young couple, highly recommended. Once again we like to thank Danie and Christian for their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raylaraine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews