We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$68
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ace Motel Athee(Athee-sur-Cher)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
La Bihourderie(Azay-sur-Indre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Chateau de Reignac(Reignac-sur-Indre)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
42
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely gardentwo nightsold milllocheshosts
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 48 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2016

We stayed for 3 weeks in the gite at Le Moulin de la Follaine during part of September and October and are very glad we did so. The accommodation is comfortable and well equipped and is situated in a beautiful spot near the pretty village of Azay-sur-Indre. The owner’s house (the Moulin) is opposite the gite and the two buildings are surrounded by a lovely peaceful garden which is bounded by streams. This water has attracted ducks to the garden and a swan arrived during our stay. We opened the front door on several mornings to see the swan on the stream beside the house – a super start to the day! A ten minute walk will take you to the local restaurant in the village which also serves as a post office and boulangerie. It is only fifteen minutes by car to Loches, a very pretty small town well known for its Royal Castle which is worth a visit. The town centre has lots of restaurants, banks, and all the shops you might need. Tours, a much bigger city, is about 40 minutes away by car. The chateaux of Amboise and Chenonceau, to the east of Tours, are within easy reach and we also had day trips in the other direction to Villandry, Fontevraud and Chinon. (If visiting these go to Villandry first and keep your ticket. You can show that ticket at Fontevraud to get a reduction in the entry price.) There are walks you can do from the gite and others in the surrounding countryside.
We must not, however, fail to mention Danie and Christian, the owners, who are incredibly kind and helpful. Their knowledge of the area is immense and they are happy to advise on places to visit and give insights into the history of the region. Danie speaks English quite well but let us try out our French which is a bit rusty and needed the practice. We had to send some emails during the stay and whilst there is wifi at the Moulin the coverage is a bit patchy. However, Danie explained where best to pick up the signal and we were able to make the required communications quite easily. The mill wheel was set in motion one day and we were invited to go into the Moulin to see it working. We hope to be able to go back one day either to stay in the gite or in the Moulin’s chambres d’hote and enjoy their hospitality once more.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2016

We visited la Follaine on our way south and were so impressed with the warmth of both our hosts and the 'vibe' of the mill that we booked in for our return journey ten days later.
We loved the authenticity of the working mill and all the nick-nacks. Danie and Christian established a great rapport and we left feeling we had acquired two new (and special) friends.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 833seanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2015

An ideal location for a restful stay in the Loire, whilst being within easy day trips to places of interest, beautiful villages, a short drive to Loches, Tours and restaurants in the Azay-sur- Indre. Danie & Christian were most helpful ,and always ready to direct us, and help with any requests. The cottage was very comfortable, and amenities clean & roomy .
We enjoyed many evenings on the back terrace , and were able to stroll around the very private garden, ,or watch the birds ,insects and fish in the stream busily 'do their thing'. Thankyou Danie & Christian

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2015

We stayed at Le Moulin for 4 nights at the start of a trip through France having driven straight from the ferry port at St Malo. It was so peaceful after the fairly lengthy drive. The ideal place to unwind.
Le Moulin is set in a lovely garden with a lake and a lot of trees which provide shade from the sun. There are also tables with sunshades in the garden where it is possible for guests to enjoy their own picnic supper in the evening. Danie provided china and cutlery and also a rubbish bag. The mill workings have been restored by Christian and we were able to see them working whist we were there.
We had lovely second floor accommodation which comprised a bedroom with a single and double bed and a separate bedroom with a single bed together with a bathroom - ideal for a family. The bedrooms were beautifully decorated and furnished and had original beams.
The breakfasts were delicious. Various breads and home made jams. Breakfast was taken at a table shared with all Danie and Christian's guests and it was so nice speak with other nationalities.
Danie and Christian were very welcoming and give the impression that they enjoy the company of their guests very much.
From Le Moulin it is easy to reach Chenonceaux and other Chateaux on the Loire and also Loches which is a lovely little town and has a good market.
We would certainly recommend Le Moulin.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 28, 2015

We stayed with Danie and Christian for two nights on our way to the Dordogne and for one night on our way back. It is well placed to break this journey and after a long drive was a haven of restful tranquillity. The restored mill is an interesting building full of period furniture and Christian was kind enough to give us a demonstration of the mill machinery working. It was a delight to wander around the beautiful garden with its pond and waterways frequented by ducks and frogs. The room was comfortable and nicely colour co-ordinated and the breakfast included a generous range of bread and patisserie. Danie's English is good and she obviously takes pleasure and pride in sharing her lovely house with guests. We would recommend this bed and breakfast highly.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews