We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Useful stop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Riceys
Certificate of Excellence
saddleworth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Useful stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel late August. There is a small courtyard for parking at a charge - I wouldn't bother again as there is parking by the church and it is safe. The vendage was on so it was very interesting watching the tractors full of grapes, and itinerant workers calling at the hotel bar for a drink. The room was very clean, comfortable and spacious.The hotel was quiet at night. It's a useful stopping off place when travelling. The restaurant is in a cave- like building next door. The staff were friendly and service good. The meal was good - not exceptional but better than a lot of hotel meals we are getting in France at the moment, and prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucysaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    79
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
32
126
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

A beautiful ancient house, perfectly restored, spotlessly clean and evidently well run. Individual, comfortable rooms, although the traffic noise, as noted by other reviewers, prohibits the opening of windows. A fairly friendly welcome by local standards, but bring your school French with you (the helpful multilingual website suggests linguistic reserves which a short email contact proves to be absent - written questions in English were answered in French).

Why did I expect fresh food in the restaurant? Perhaps it was our very positive culinary experiences last year in "Le Magny" on the other side of town, a serious bourgeois restaurant with a not-quite-so-nice hotel attached, some service issues, but honest, market/butcher/river-fresh ingredients. Perhaps it was the last tatters of my romantic illusions about France as the bastion of home cooking. What neither of us were expecting - even given the moderate but by no means cheap prices - was a meal so comprehensively sourced from the deep freezer, restored to room temperature by Monsieur Microwave and prepared with such a limited repertoire of artless tricks (the sweetened balsamic goop from a squeeze bottle, the stale won-ton like deep-fried pastry sheets featured in most of the starters at surrounding tables, in our case used to imprison a slice of marinated salmon topped with avocado mousse). Things got off to a bad staff with frankly rancid puff pastry tidbits, which I would have sent back in a comparable restaurant back home. Unfortunately the harassed lady running the show was trying to keep up with taking all orders and serving all drinks herself, while the sole assistant was only permitted to run in and out of the kitchen bringing plates (and, dropping a huge stack of them on the tiled floor, which understandably slowed things up before we could order). The foie gras was almost inedibly salty (and served artlessly as a slab surrounded by more salt crystals and an unpleasantly vinegary onion relish straight out of a commercial jar). Our main courses (deep-frozen scallops and deep-frozen cod) were decently sauced but distinctly overcooked, adding to the general stringiness of the fish. The sorbets were mid-range commercial products; the cheese board big but (by French standards) simply not very good (neither the local Camembert-style round cheese nor the Époisses was remotely "comme il faut", despite the proclamations of the senior waitress).

Perhaps the biggest disappointment of all was the champagne list. This may sound snobby, but remember: Les Riceys is a village whose economy is solely based on champagne, and there are dozens of small producers; most tourists come expecting to drink inexpensive champagne or perhaps the unique, super-dry (and frankly not very nice) Rosé des Riceys. While there were at least 10 examples of the latter on offer, all champagnes came from one sole producer, and - judging by the two different kinds we tried as an apéritif - they are among the least inspiring we have yet tried from the region. This may be a sound commercial decision, but it confirmed our impression of Le Marius as a well-run business with no gastronomic depth. The owner's brand-new Porsche Cayenne, proudly parked opposite the front door, proves that his concept pleases the majority of his guests - his success and hard work obviously deserves and receives recognition and respect. Next year, however, we'll be back at Le Magny, where the only posh cars in sight belong to the hotel guests, and locals eat in the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzakhater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early September, 2011. The hotel is situated in Bas-Riceys in the middle of Champagne producing region. It has an air of quality and solidness. Parking was available in the hotel court yard for a fee of Euro 10 per day, however we parked in front of the hotel next to the church for free.
The area is very quiet with a lot of solid houses but with little sign of life. Champagne houses are dotted all around the area. For a little more excitement and choice the town of Troyes is situated to the north and easily accessible via local roads. There is also a good factory outlet to the north of Troyes.
We had a double reserve and a double comfort room which had a difference in size and price. The double reserve room in which my wife and I stayed was large and clean with a writing desk, bed side lamps, TV, telephone and free Wi-Fi connection. There was no safe, minibar or slippers and had only a few coat hangers. Linen was clean.
There was a WC to one side of the room with no hand wash basin or toilet hose or hooks to hang clothes on and a bathroom on the other side with a large semi-circular bath tub and a hand wash basin. Not having the WC in the bathroom was not very convenient. Bathroom was large and clean with a hairdryer and magnifying mirror. Towels were clean. However, supply of shampoo and shower gel was totally inadequate as only two sachets of 10 ml each were provided per day.
There was a restaurant in the renovated cave below. Food was very good but slightly on the expensive side. Breakfast cost Euro 10 per person per day and was very basic. Not even a boiled egg.
Staff/owners were polite but very busy doing most of the work themselves and at times seemed a bit distanced and overworked.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as the area is very laid back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahvazi028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night. The room was in pristine condition and we were not aware of the road noise that other reviewers have mentioned. The only downside is that the rooms do not have air-conditioning. We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. I will not recommend having breakfast at the hotel. There was no staff presence at breakfast at any time and I had to go down to reception to ask for somebody to serve coffee. Overall it was a very positive experience and I will strongly recommend staying at this hotel (and having dinner in its restaurant).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulie_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

I am writing this review with mixed feelings. The room we stayed in was exactly as it looked in the picture on the website. It was a large room which had real character with exposed beams, there was a nice bathroom including a jacuzzi style bath and a separate toilet. However as it was in the loft, and there was no air conditioning, it was uncomfortably hot during the night.

The hotel is located at a busy junction in the village and there were frequent large noisy lorries passing right next to the hotel and the tables and chairs outside - which were fastened to the ground by steel cables!

The restaurant food was also excellent quality but breakfast was poor for a hotel charging these prices and we noticed that the preserves were left out all day with no lids! The main problem was the unfriendly attitude of the owners. We have been travelling in France for over 20 years and this is the first time we have encountered language difficulties where the people we were speaking to seemed determined to be as unhelpful as they possibly could and determined not to meet us half way and help us to understand what they were trying to say by either slowing down or saying things in a different way. We do have some understanding of French and did not experience this attitude anywhere else. At dinner we felt most uncomfortable and were surprised to hear that English was spoken to a table of American guests who were also offered an English menu. Even when checking out there was no ‘Bon Voyage’ or any friendly comment from the owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

This was our first night stop-off driving down to the south, and it was ideal. There was a warm welcome, a large comfortable room, with large comfortable bed, and a spacious well appointed ensuite bathroom. The restaurant, in the former wine-cellar, was excellent, the food being imaginative and plentiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirehog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Les Riceys is a quiet unspoilt collection of small villages just south of Troyes. Le Marius is actually in Ricey Bas, just north of the main village.

The rooms are comfortable, but what makes it really special is the food. We had the Menu Tradition, 4 course for less than 30 euros, which also included a wonderful, mouthwatering appetiser. For this price the food was truly exceptional. We had a memorable stay and when we next head across France we'll make a detour to stay again at Le Marius.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducktees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Riceys
19.7 km away
Le Val Moret
Le Val Moret
#1 of 1 in Magnant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
29.1 km away
Le Chateau De Courban & Spa
40.1 km away
Kyriad Troyes Centre
Kyriad Troyes Centre
#5 of 23 in Troyes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Logis Aux Maisons
Logis Aux Maisons
#1 of 1 in Maisons les Chaource
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
34.7 km away
Hotel Restaurant Le Moulin du Landion
21.5 km away
Hotel Sylvia
Hotel Sylvia
#1 of 1 in Chatillon-sur-Seine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius

Property: Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius
Address: 2 Place de l Eglise, 10340 Les Riceys, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Aube > Les Riceys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Les Riceys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant Le Marius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing