We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
308
153
60
46
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
153
60
46
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews runswick bay premier room balcony room view of the bay cleveland way cliff top evening meal beer garden small hotel kippers hotel restaurant lovely hotel smoked salmon relaxing stay yorkshire breakfast open fire no lift
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 592 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Outside the entrance to the hotel was littered with cigarette ends so clearly no facilities had been provided for smokers.
The room itself was clean and tidy with a fantastic view of the bay, unfortunately that is where the positives end.
On the way down to breakfast at the foot of our staircase the ironing lady was set up. She had to stand and move her chair each time we passed. There were piles of laundry heaped behind glass doors clearly visible when entering the dinning room
Despite there being at least 3 members of staff nobody was there to greet us or seat us for breakfast, so we just chose a table that was set up and sat down, helping our selves to juice. After a good 10 minutes of watching the said staff help themselves to drinks from the coffee machine my wife asked if we could possibly place our order. Must say the waiter that came didn't appear too happy at having to do this. When the cooked breakfast arrived, which was only minutes after ordering (telling you it was all pre cooked and kept warm) there was no black pudding (table opposite obviously got the last piece) half a dried up mushroom each and a rather measly cocktail size sausage !! The only plus point was the toast. Definitely one of the most disappointing breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel. Not one we will be rushing back for despite the amazing views....shame

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HilltopGreenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Hotel in a prime cliff top location in very small village with lovely beach. Views from hotel over Runswick Bay were lovely. Good breakfast, pleasant staff. Great location for walking along the Cleveland Way. 8 miles from Whitby.
Our room felt like the one they rent out last. In the roof space, sloping ceilings - awkward over the bath. It was advertised as having a shower but actually had a plastic hose to taps attachment (like we had in the 70s). This only fitted the basin taps and leaked everywhere. Didn't expect to be washing my hair with a plastic cup in the bath for £110 a night!

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies overlooking the sea. Rooms on top floor have dormer windows with sloping ceilings - beware if you are tall.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights with our dog. Amazing, panoramic view of the bay from our room, which had a balcony with table and chairs so you could really take advantage.
Staff were all lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We had dinner on our second evening and as we were on the coast chose the catch of the day. Two lovely sea bass fillets with samphire and a delicious sauce. Pleasantly surprised that a small hotel could turn out such delicious food. No hesitation in recommending for a stay.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room to enjoy the fabulous view from your balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mazzaManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and found hotel to be very good our room had a beautiful view of the bay from our balcony, very spacious and comfortable , bathroom also much larger than average , maybe looking a little tired, but in no way detracts from lovely stay , breakfast was very good ,we ate in restaurant one night and had a lovely meal , all in all would recommend this hotel , would just say that if within your budget book a superior balcony room worth the extra price just for the view !!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank stewart1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2017

Sound couple of days over the weekend - service and staff very friendly,attentive and on the ball - room excellent with a massive view of the bay - great sunrise on both mornings,couldn't fault it - Food good and a tip if your eating in the restaurant - the most expensive is not the best ! Try the local pie or fish and the gammon is spot on !!
As per previous reviews hotel could do with a bit of updating in certain areas but nothing that disturbed our visit ! - Tip 2;- the beach is tops with a carpark just at the bottom of the beach road but be aware the road from the carpark is sloped and needs careful attention if you're anyway dodgy on your feet !!

Room Tip: Ask for a top balcony room - Jarvis being the best
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kayoleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews