We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,046)
Filter reviews
1,046 results
Traveller rating
415
433
124
48
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
433
124
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool accesssteep hillrooftop bartv channelskata roadbreakfast staffthe main roadloved this hotelmin walklow seasonbig buddhabalconyelevatorpoolsbeachphuketbathtub
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,046 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2018

We stayed at this hotel for a week and had a great time. It was our first time in Phuket and this hotel for us was definitely a highlight. The hotel staff is really helpful and friendly and were always ready to take an extra step to make us comfortable (special thanks to Paul and Pop)

The hotel is at a very convenient location, close to shops and just a few minutes walk to the beach. Yet, while you are in the hotel its calm and peaceful away from hustle.

During our stay, my partner got sick and the staff really helped us out.

The breakfast was great and heaps of options to choose from with a different menu everyday. In saying this, it will be good if they add more options for lunch and dinner menu.

We chose to stay in their pool access room and I believe it was a great choice. Room was very comfortable and of good size. As far as cleanliness, the rooms are kept clean. In saying that there are a few minor inconsistencies like the bathroom could be a bit more cleaner.

Overall a great stay and value for money. We would definitely recommend it and we shall be booking it for our next holiday to Phuket again.

Best wishes and Regards
John and Priya

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank snovia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarPalmGrand2015, Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Dear John and Priya,

Greetings from Sugar Palm Grand Hillside!

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are
looking forward to having you again the next time you visit Phuket again.

A special greetings to you both from our Seniour GSA Mr. Paul Neri and our GSA Trainee Pop.

Best Regards,

On Behalf of The Management and Staff

Julie Romasanta Ferrer
Manager in charge
Front Office/Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one week and we really had a great time. Not considering that the place is beautiful, what we really appreciated was the service and the stuff. The cleanings were great, the stuff was very friendly in particular the girl that followed us mostly, Kannika and the breakfast was complete and very varied (for all needs). The price is so good compared to che quality. We hope to get back there in the future!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Rodolfo95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarPalmGrand2015, Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We will share your feedback with Ms. Kannika and the rest of our F & B staff.
Like you are we are also hoping to welcoming you again when you get an opportunity to come back to the Land of Smile!

Best Regards,

Julie Romasanta Ferrer
Manager in charge
Front Office/Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

I went to Thailand for a March break with my teenage daughter. Kata Beach/Phuket was our first destination. I booked this hotel few months ahead. It was fully booked when we got there and early check in was not available, but they did everything to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. We got room at noon after returning from the beach that is just 5 minutes walk down the hill. Our luggage was stored in the hotel while we enjoyed swimming in the warm sea, and the room was spacious with the balcony and an amazing ocean view. The corridor to the room was looking to the hill with the big buddha on the top of it. There was a bathtub on the balcony and I arranged with the hotel the bath with the rose petals, that was an unforgettable experience. We got some complimentary drinks every day in the fridge and fresh towels and bedding. We would definitely come again. It is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Branka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarPalmGrand2015, Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. We truly appreciate people visits us who understands and
appreciates the services we rendered in a daily basis. Hoping to welcoming you again on your next trip to Thailand and in Phuket.

Best Regards,

Julie Romasanta Ferrer
Manager in charge
Front Office/Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

Definitely a highlight of our trip to Phuket. Located on the hillside overlooking Kata beach, this is a such a lovely place to stay. Close enough to the beach to walk to it and many great restaurants, but nestled in the hill so when your there it feels secluded and peaceful. The pools are great with an amazing view of the mountains. You can clearly see the Big Buddha which is hike able from Sugar Grand (I did it in about 2 hours round trip.) But what truly makes this place incredible is the amazing staff who are so friendly and personable. I would stay here again just for them!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank johnnytsunami314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarPalmGrand2015, Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Dear Valued Guests,

Our sincerest gratitude to your very encouraging feedback. We have shared your review with our staff who attended and helped you
during your stay with us and we are grateful. We are looking forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to our hotel. Feel free to contact me at info@sugarpalmgrand.com should you need assistance on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Julie Romasanta Ferrer
Manager in charge
Front Office/Sales& Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We stayed four nights at Sugar Palm. Bottom line: look for another hotel.

Pros:
- Lots of pools
- View looking down Kata road and the beach.

Cons:
- Takes about ten minutes to get to the room - two elevators, stairs up a hill through what seems like a deserted area.
- Breakfast was terrible - flies all around (why can't they just cover the fruits and veggies?).
- Rooms are spacious but dirty - dust everywhere, cracks, spotted a big spider.
- Staff weren't helpful - they couldn't help with tickets to a show or recommending laundry services in the area (there are lots of them).
- They gave a coupon for one free cocktail (even though there were two of us) at Seventh Heaven, their rooftop bar which looks nice, but we were never able to redeem it or enjoy the bar. The two nights we tried they were closed or having a private party.
- They offer a "free" shuttle to Palm Square and 'force' you to eat at their own restaurant.
- This hotel is on a hillside, so you need to walk up/down a steep incline to reach the main road (and the beach).

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilthewiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SugarPalmGrand2015, Manager at Sugar Palm Grand Hillside, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2018

Dear Valued,

We thank you for your feedback for both pros and cons.
Our sincerest apologies for all the discomfort you have experienced.

Best Regards,

Julie Romasanta Ferrer
Manager in Charge
Front Office/Sales & Marketing Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews