We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great experience, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3rd street cafe & Guesthouse
Ranked #44 of 59 Kata Beach B&B and Inns
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at a nearby hotel and through advertising saw the Kata Thai Cooking class which is situated in the 3rd Street Cafe. Kelly the owner and chef picked us up from our hotel and took us to the cafe. At a cost of 1000 thb we were able to make 3 courses, which were all lovely. A great introduction to Thai cooking and the Thai style of cooking. There is also an assistant on hand to help with the process which is great. Very highly recommended, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmcw_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
27
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

No non-sense guesthouse in busy Kata. We have stayed here for three nights. Very comfortable lounge, airy feel, with a view of the hills on the background. Room #1 has an excellent bathroom!
Owner Kelly offers cooking classes for 1000THB; well worth it, as you get to eat the 3-4 dishes at the end.
Free internet, location is quiet, it is on a side street from the main road. Kelly organised the pick up from the airport for 400TBH, also organised the ferry trip to Phi Phi.
Among the beaches, we enjoyed Kata Noi the best; it costs 200THB with the local taxis (yes, they are very expensive, considering the very short ride; unfortunately, they have a local taxi mafia operating here) but it is worth it.
Recommended as a small guesthouse with character.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEX-MAX-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

This was our first visit to Thailand so we didn't know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised with our accomodation at 3rd Street Cafe and Guesthouse. We spent 4 nights in a large room on the 3rd floor. Our room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. Kelly, our host, made good suggestions about things to see in the region.

The hotel is perfectly located on a quiet street that is an easy walk to the Kata Beach. Beach towels are available for a small rental fee.

Breakfast is available for 120 Bhat. My favorite was fresh fruit (melon, mango, papaya, etc.), fresh squeezed orange juice, toast, and yogurt. My husband especially liked the banana pancakes or the hearty egg/ham/bacon option.

On our next visit, we will take one of the Thai cooking classes that Kelly offers.

We think that this is a good moderate-priced hotel near Kata Beach. Thank you Kelly!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We've stayed at 3rd street cafe for almost a week and we've really had a great time there. First of all, Kelly and Tom are incredibly nice and friendly and they really make a difference for your stay! It feels like staying at a friend's house rather than in a hotel. They were very helpful with everything, including giving tips where to go and what to see. Kelly gives cooking classes and her food is soo yummy, one should definitely try it. Rooms are spacious and clean. We would certainly go back to 3rd street cafe and we'd recommend it to all of our friends. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with some friends and enjoyed every minute!!! 3rd street cafe is clean, trendy and have an awesome staff. Kelly was extremely helpful with everything that we needed. She arranged trips, taxi rides and anything else we needed without any hesitation. I would definately recommend this place to anyone visiting Kata beach!!! The best part is that its walking distance of Kata (5 min) and Karon Beach (10 min)!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soultraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

I was in Kata for a few days to relax and enjoy the beach, I stayed at the 3rd Street Cafe Guesthouse and couldn't have found a better base, in fact I extended my stay by 2 nights.
The rooms were very spacious and modern and felt quite homely, the location was central and the owner and her family were all very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jj2044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Me and my friend went to Phuket only for the beaches and Similan Island. We booked and stay at "3rd Street" for 3 nights and I think it is good for us. Staffs are friendly, room is spacious, the rate is pretty good for accomodations in Phuket. It doesn't have any nice view from the room, but it is locate at the Kata Night Bazaar and walking distance to Kata Beach & Karon Beach. If you simply want a clean comfortable room in reasonable price to stay while you are in Phuket, I think it is a good choice!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_mui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 km away
Outdoor Inn & Restaurant
Outdoor Inn & Restaurant
#16 of 59 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 km away
U Ksenii
U Ksenii
#30 of 59 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 km away
Benimo
Benimo
#75 of 101 in Karon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sugar Inn Phuket
Sugar Inn Phuket
#9 of 44 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Breeze Guesthouse
Beach Breeze Guesthouse
#4 of 59 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
Kata Green Beach Hotel
#53 of 59 in Kata Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse

Property: 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse
Address: 100/3-4 Kata Road, Karon | Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to invite you to stay with us at the newest and most stylish guesthouse in Phuket, Thailand. The 3rd Street Café is located in the Kata Night Bazaar. We are ideally located just steps away from shopping, dining, nighttime entertainment, and only 200 meters from Kata Beach and 600 meters from Karon Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your 3rd street cafe & Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3rd Street Cafe & Guesthouse Hotel Kata Beach
3rd Street Cafe And Guesthouse
3rd Street Cafe & Guesthouse Phuket/Kata Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing