We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked a deluxe room which was lovely. The Reception check in is a very slow process. Once we got our keys we ended up taking our own bags to the room - didn't know how long the porter would be! We only used the pool once which was lovely and the pool bar made great cocktails but we tended to spend our time out and about. We also booked our transfers and day touing at local agencies as we found the tour desk to be expense when comparing elsewhere. If you want a "resort" style holiday where you stay put, go to Club Med. This property was clean, comfortable and and had a great pool area. We liked it for what it was.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherpa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    528
    210
    59
    42
See reviews for
323
532
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I can only assume that the people who have rated this place well have not compared it with some of the lovely hotels in Phuket or have different levels of acceptance.

We spent two weeks on holiday in Phuket and decided to spend three nights each at four different hotels on the island. This is my fourth trip here, so I already had several hotels both budget and luxury to compare with. The entrance was nice with a very warm and courteous welcome but that's the only bit that was nice. The pool area and the expanse of the hotel was quite huge for the Kata area. The first room had a terribly unclean bathroom so we were moved to another room a good 15 minutes walk away. That's when we noticed the decor and the musty smell. We spent 20 minutes in the room trying to decide whether we would stay or not. The room resembled a brothel but we were both quite tired and hungry after a long flight and ordered room service. Bad idea! The food was terrible. Enough was enough so we decided to check out. They insisted on charging us for the night for less than an hour of using the room. I wasn't in the mood to spoil my holiday so I paid and left in a hurry to the Courtyard in Kamala which was a much nicer experience.

Other points to note: While we were waiting for the car to pick us up, we strolled around. The beach was a long cumbersome walk away. The hotel would make sense if your a family who hangs around the pool a lot . It (the rate) wasn't as cheap as it looked and felt. There are far nicer, cleaner properties at better rates in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank skywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The strong point here is that it’s a value for money - you get what you pay for, no high expectations please. Don’t even try to compare it with 4* resorts of the Caribbean or alike it won’t match (guess star ratings also have local flavors). It’s good unless you are not planning to spend there too much time, using hotel amenities (because they really not that impressive so to say).

Design is authentic, nice open lobby. Not in mint condition, but still clean and quite well maintained. Helpful staff, taxi desk and tour desk (not cheap try to walk around and you’ll definitely find better deals up to 50% off depending on the season).

Beach is approximately 5-10 minutes walk, or you can get a free shuttle bus (never actually used it). Don’t forget to ask for a coupon for a free beach chair and umbrella (+ figure out how to find the exact place where you will be able to use this coupon). If you are planning to grab some stuff while walking to the beach do it at 7eleven, it’s a good money saver as compared to the shops right at the beach.

The real problem for me were mosquitoes.... Our room faced the pool, thus, due to humidity and of course wet season.... there were thousands of them! So watch the door and keep windows shut, use the repellent (it’s available in the room for around 5$). But, anyways it’s mother nature...

The problem with the hotel offerings was absolutely uneatable breakfast. It was included, so each morning we were giving them another try, hoping something will change for the better. Finally we understood that the safest way is to stick with the good-old toast with butter and cheese and rarely fruit salad (if it was not too watery and bland). All other samplings of wast varieties of meals available kept as all sick for the rest of the day. I guess it’s better cut the amount of exotic offerings and stick to the quality of simple breakfast meal. Please improve it!

Well, some may also be disappointed by noisy neighbours as far as all rooms are connected with the tiny doors. Sometimes people check-in late and first what they do - they fiercely try to open this tiny door (guess hoping they’ve got a free room upgrade...), well if you are sleeping that may be quite a surprise for you... Guys, respect your neighbours almost all hotels in Phuket got those doors, no room upgrades sorry.... :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My son and a friend stayed at the Kata Palm Resort in Nov 2010 for 10 nights (yes I am a bit late posting this) in a Pool Access room. Perfect choice especially for my son, who was in and out of the water at all times of the day. I was able to enjoy our lovely sun lounge on the veranda which looked straight onto the pool with 3 steps down into the water. Bliss. The resort was pleasant, 2 large pools (the lagoon pool from our room was fantastic), free internet computers in the lobby, good breakfasts and lovely lobby area. the kids club was very dissappointing and I wouldnt want to leave a child there for long, especially is they are older than 4. Location is on the main road through kata and a free shuttle runs to the beach which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. this is a good central area to stay with lots of shopping and dining options available.

Room Tip: Pool Access is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JindySuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've just come back from a 5 days stay at this resort. I would not rate it as a4* resort. The good thing about this place is that it's in a very good location. when you are at the reception checking in, there is no smile of welcome from the receptionist and they are not accomadating at all. They could not even understand english, making it very difficult to communicate. Breakfast was nothing to shout about and Wifi in the room is very flaky. Even the chambermaid cleaning the room 426 on the 27th and 28th dec had a very sour face. There were some guests in TA who mentioned mozzies, I did not get that, but was bitten by small insects in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor were quiet, there were no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phidelia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

This hotel is a classic case of buyer's beware. Kata Palm is a very Thai hotel - rooms are clean, lots of ornate carvings over your bed and touristy buffets 2 nights a week with local performances. It has a nice pool.

But, the service here is no where near a 4 star vote on tripadvisor.

"Free shuttles to the beach" - yep, about 6 times until 3pm. So if you're ready to sun burn at the peak of noon, this shuttle's for you.

"Free deck chairs" - the hotel is 10 mins walk from the beach so you're really dependent on these "free chairs". When u get to Kata Palm, they inform you that 30 chairs are available and are allocated first come first serve everyday at 8.30am. Normally I wouldn't bother with this, but I'm travelling with family. I went down as instructed and asked for coupons for 5 chairs. We had 2 double rooms booked, 3 of us checked in first the prior day and my parents were flying in today and staying in a 3rd room. The lady said only rooms registered could get coupons so I said fine, 4 chairs since I have 2 double rooms. She proceeded to argue with me and then called another even louder, can't-decipher-your-english lady to insist that I take only 3 chairs. I kept explaining that we had 3 rooms booked, she can check my registration. Nope. Her register also showed other guests with ONE room taking 4 chairs. Nope. They then called a duty manager who re-explained this dumb policy that made no sense. So yes, buyer's beware. This is Thai style "4 star" service.

"I would like to cancel an extra bunk bed" - we ordered a bunk bed for 2 of the 3 nights we were staying as my parents originally couldn't get a 3rd room. When they did, we immediately called up reception to cancel a bunk bed we ordered (this was within 2-3 hrs). We spoke clear, slow english. They passed the phone to 2 different people and both said ok. What happens at 9am the next day? Yes, a housekeeping lady shows up with a bunk bed *face palm*. I would expect this in an average Thai run hotel but seriously?

So other than all this service, the bathrooms are really dated (I estimate the property is at least 15 yrs old?). I'm sure others have written about that but basically whatever u see on the pictures, come expecting less and yes, a "king bed" is 2 singles pushed tog
ether.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acathla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed 9 days in November 2011. The hotel is big, clean and good overall. The staff is very polite and helpfull in any matter. We stayed in a Deluxe room - very big and cleaned on a daily basis. The hotel is very close to shops, restaurants etc. The hotel's pool is very big and you can swim long distances. I was a little worried if there wasnt any sunlight coming down to the pool as the hotel is build the way it is, and maybe one of the buildings gave too much shadow, but that was not a problem at all. I would suggest that the staff in the restaurant learned a little more English (!). Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
721 reviews
0.7 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,048 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
987 reviews
0.4 km away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#26 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,522 reviews
0.4 km away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Palm Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Palm Resort & Spa

Property: Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Address: 60 Kata Rd | Tambon Karon, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Palm Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kata Palm Resort & Spa is your perfect choice of your great and memorable holiday - provides high quality rooms, facilities, services, great and easy access to the beach with a short walking distance – 5 minutes, or get free shuttle service to the beach where we provide free sunbed & umbrella, close to shopping center, restaurant and bars. Our resort features 184 guest rooms, 2 large free-form swimming pools with swim-up bars, 3 restaurants and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kata Palm Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Palm Resort And Spa
Kata Palm Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Palm Resort & Spa Phuket/Kata Beach, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing