We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic homemade GF soups”
Review of The Maltings Cafe

The Maltings Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Clun
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open 10am-4pm seven days a week. Serving fairtrade tea & coffee, cold drinks, cakes and scones, breakfast, snacks & lunches.
Reviewed February 15, 2018

This was a lovely cafe with all homemade food. There were 5 choices of soup and lots of other choice of food. Service was prompt. We booked a table as there were 4 of us and it was school holidays. I would thoroughly recommend this cafe with such great food.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Sallyr1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 254 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food and lovely staff made us feel very welcome, thoroughly recommend the liver & bacon with mustard mash!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank sycook99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2018

This is a charming cafe. Good food all freshly prepared and the staff are oh so friendly and helpful. They deducted one pound from the bill because my sister didn't want salad. I've never experienced this before.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2018

We stopped in Clun on a whim to take a look around the castle and let the dog have a break from the car. The Maltings was open and looked inviting on a cold day and allows dogs so as we were ready for a coffee we went in. It's a small cafe in an old building with flagstone floors and rustic tables covered in cheerful red and white cloths. The coffee was very good and we both had a slice of "Hummingbird Cake" which was delicious and highly recommended! They even brought a bowl of water for my greyhound. The Maltings was a real find and we were only sorry that we wouldn't still be around for lunch.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Genny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit and we were equally impressed with the warmth, general ambience, choice and quality.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Phil and Maddy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maltings Cafe also viewed

 
Ludlow, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Maltings Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing