We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
35
37
13
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
37
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsski hiredrying roomshuttle busski fieldsheated poolperisher valleygames roompool tablemin drivea great place to stayrooms are basicother guestslounge areafirst nightski shopopen firenon existent
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 95 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2017

We are a family of four (2 kids aged 5 & 7) and due to limited availability had booked a suite for our 3 night stay. Room was 2 bedrooms connected by a bathroom. Plenty of space, double bed + 4 singles, to spread out with a view of the snow covered mountain.

Dinner and breakfast were included. Breakfasts were really great, the usual continental fare plus a well cooked hot breakfast. Dinner was hit and miss. Our first night was a Saturday and the hotel was very busy. The chicken risotto was gluggy and chewy, the sirloin overcooked. Our low expectations were quickly dismissed the following night when we were served an amazing homemade fettucine with local trout, and a beef casserole. Amazing. Night 3 our meals were equally as good. The wonderful chef Rosario, mingled with the diners which made it feel very homely. Not sure what happened the first night but glad it was only 1 night.

The bus is super convenient to get you up to the mountain, less than a 10 min drive. Especially on the weekends when parking becomes an issue. We drove up at lunchtime Saturday but on finding the parking impossible drove back to Sponars and got the lunchtime bus. Bus does 3 runs in the morning from approx 7.45-9.15am and three afternoon returns from 3.45-5.15pm.

The hotel itself is a bit run down but everything works. Staff were really lovely. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

My first negative review. Found the food very average, the staff clearing plates so fast that you could loss your food or wear your wine (service should be about quality not speed), had to ask for the bathroom to be cleaned with two types of mould growing in the shower for a couple of weeks. Loved the idea of a swim and steam after skiing - the pool a little cool at the beginning of the week but warmer by the end - the steam room was great. Good to be close to the snow, we used our vehicle as the bus service from Sponars not to our timing. Lovely lounge area with a open fire on one side. Has a pool table, dart board. The staff were a little Fawlty Towers - when booking in we were informed that nothing had changed in 15 years; I was wished a mouldy day after requesting the bathroom be cleaned; was greeted by the leasee one afternoon "now before you complain" instead of how was your day. The electric switches all different, some old, some split/broken. The drying room does not work very well. Our family group had booked 3 rooms but felt that poor service, poor food, being accured of drinking our wine just before the bar opened and the poor communication from all the staff very disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank twyfordjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Perfect location close to Perisher with free parking onsite and also a shuttle bus available to Perisher mountain. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating especially as we have a 3 month old baby. Breakfast and dinner included, swimming pool onsite and a very cosy lounge area with a fire and a bar. Overall it was a great experience for the whole family.

Room Tip: Lower floor more suitable if you have a lot of luggage as there is no lift
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Blanche R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

The staff were all very friendly, the location was excellent- being not far from slops with convenient parking and snow at our doorstep. Having a heated pool and live music added value to our stay. The food was generously portioned and hearty, although some of the dishes had somewhat questionable combination of foods (Curried lasagna?! orange duck on creamy gnocchi!?... I guess its a matter of taste....)
Other than that beds were comfortable and rooms relatively clean -except for some dust that fell off window ledge and onto bedding...) All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return to this chalet without hesitation!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank joyisabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

Our family recently enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Sponars and were really impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. The meals were excellent and there was a good variety. While the room was cozy, the storage available provided enough space to put our gear out of the way. The beds were really nice and the linen was great. The common areas were comfortable and it felt like a home away from home. Our two boys had a ball in the indoor heated pool. We woke on our first morning to a beautiful view of snow covered hills after 25cm of fresh snowfall overnight, it was magical. We were also able to watch the snow fall during afternoon drinks out of the large lounge windows....a perfect way to end the day. A wonderful and memorable holiday...we hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: If you are a fan of a firm pillow, perhaps take your own from home.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JayHitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews